Thor (2011) - Rotten Tomatoes

Thor (2011)



Critic Consensus: A dazzling blockbuster that tempers its sweeping scope with wit, humor, and human drama, Thor is mighty Marvel entertainment.

Movie Info

The epic adventure Thor spans the Marvel Universe from present day Earth to the mystical realm of Asgard. At the center of the story is The Mighty Thor, a powerful but arrogant warrior whose reckless actions reignite an ancient war. As a result, Thor is banished to Earth where he is forced to live among humans. When the most dangerous villain of his world sends its darkest forces to invade Earth, Thor learns what it takes to be a true hero.-- (C) Paramount Picturesmore
Rating: PG-13 (for sequences of intense sci-fi action and violence)
Genre: Drama, Action & Adventure, Science Fiction & Fantasy
Directed By:
Written By: Zack Stentz, Ashley Edward Miller, Mark Protosevich, Don Payne
In Theaters:
On DVD: Sep 13, 2011
Box Office: $181.0M
Paramount Pictures - Official Site


Natalie Portman
as Jane Foster
Stellan Skarsgard
as Professor Andrews
Clark Gregg
as Agent Coulson
Colm Feore
as Laufey
Idris Elba
as Heimdall
Ray Stevenson
as Volstagg
Rene Russo
as Frigga
Adriana Barraza
as Isabela Alvarez
Richard Cetrone
as Frost Giant Captain
Darren Kendrick
as Frost Giant Sentry
Josh Coxx
as Frost Giant Hallstru...
Justice Jesse Smith
as Frost Giant Brute
Justice Smith
as Frost Giant Brute
Joseph Gatt
as Frost Giant Grundrot...
Luke Massy
as Frost Giant Raze
Matthew Ducey
as Einherjar Guard
Jason Camp
as Einherjar Guard
Buddy Sosthand
as Agent Delancey
Jamie McShane
as Agent Jackson
Dale Godboldo
as Agent Garrett
Jim Palmer
as Sheild Guard
Dakota Goyo
as Young Thor
Stan Lee
as Stan the Man
Joel McCrary
as Drunk Townie
Isaac Kappy
as Pet Store Clerk
Juliet Lopez
as Admission Nurse
Rob Mars
as Orderly
Carrie Lazar
as Viking Mother
Graham Harley
as Viking Child
Alexander Wright
as Viking Elder
Ted Allpress
as Young Loki
Show More Cast

News & Interviews for Thor

Critic Reviews for Thor

All Critics (266) | Top Critics (46)

Let's hope Branagh was well-compensated, at least. To quote his favorite author: No profit grows where is no pleasure taken.

Full Review… | April 12, 2013
Top Critic

Thor is on much safer ground here on Earth. The tone is immediately different: more relaxed; comic, not cosmic.

Full Review… | April 12, 2013
Top Critic

Thor is a really good popcorn flick -- just a little too bloated in places to hit the mark as well as it could have.

Full Review… | July 13, 2015

The mildly amusing midsection plays like a Viking take on Crocodile Dundee.

Full Review… | May 3, 2015
Philadelphia Weekly

Strikes a mighty blow to the summer blockbuster season and will charge up audiences just like the first 'Iron Man.'

Full Review… | November 6, 2013
Lyles' Movie Files

Drab, bloated and stuck together with special effects that look like high-end Microsoft screensavers.

Full Review… | October 29, 2013

Audience Reviews for Thor


Easily one of the best looking Marvel movies so far. I was never a big Thor fan in the comics but this movie had me locked in. Overall i think this movie shines thanks to Hemsworh, Hiddleston the supportin cast. It takes its place among the top super hero films Marvel has done now that they are in control.

John Manard

Super Reviewer

So we have the next big Marvel hero adaptation on the long highway to 'The Avengers' with 'Iron Man' so far being a surprise decent film, this time its Thor's turn to roll the dice. Again I am pleasantly surprised at how reasonably competent this film is, I thought this would be a hideous mess but actually its not too bad. I'm not gonna get carried away and say its a brilliant film as it isn't, in my opinion 'Iron Man' is better but this is OK despite the silly material. Branagh has done well in his attempt and done half the work in the casting, all players add good realism and gravitas to the cheesy plot allowing the film to just about get by. Hopkins, Hemsworth and Hiddleston are the best contributors of course and were great choices for the roles, they looked right and didn't come across camp in any way.

The effects are decent and not too obvious, a very colourful and vivid film and some good stand out moments like the Rancor type creature on Jotunheim showcasing decent CGI. The Frost Giants looked reasonable but slightly childish for me whilst the giant metallic Destroyer looked rather B-movie-ish and tacky to be honest, a bit like Gort from 'The Day the Earth Stood Still' (1951). Asgard was impressive and colourful looking neat n sharp harking back to cityscape's of the new Star Wars trilogy and just as good.

I'm not up on the whole Thor comicbook plot to be honest but I admit I still found faults with things in the film, obviously Thor and his homeworld are aliens, an alien race (which are exactly the same as humans? hmm) but also somehow manage to have horses ale roast beef pork their realm too? kinda silly methinks, oh and everyone speaks English it seems.

There is nice humour throughout which is good, Thor getting accustomed to earth has good moments, but The Warriors Three felt way too farcical and lame frankly, they just came across as inept posh talking sidekicks much like C3PO from 'Star Wars', they also looked like characters from a kids cartoon which let down the rest of the quite good costumes.

You never find out about the other realms, there is no real reason for why Odin goes into a coma or sleep and the Frost Giants did seem kinda lame, uninspired and unoriginal (if they were made for the film?) with a silly name. Of course if you know the comicbook all this might be common knowledge but for myself it isn't.

Overall I liked this but lets face it it was pretty hokey really, a modern day Flash Gordon if we're being honest here, it wasn't camp but it was very very gentle and cartoony which I did suspect as Thor is a hard character to put on film I think. Its a valiant attempt but I just think it could of been better or a bit more serious and less like an action figure promotion.

Phil Hubbs

Super Reviewer


Superhero movies are aplenty and mythology films are well-known, "Thor" a combination of both genres directed by respected actor/director Kenneth Branagh walks that fine line well but not greatly.

Thor is one of Marvel's most revered creations - a fallen God who is banished from his kingdom of Asgard to Earth by his father Odin due to his arrogance - and "Thor" the film does a valiant job in ensuring that they do not make any major mistakes. The problem with "Thor" lies in its scale: while the battles taking place in Thor's home realm are grand and epic, on Earth he eventually has to save a small town in ... New Mexico.

Thor is inspired by Norse mythology, known as the God of Thunder, his signature being a powerful Hammer of which he is stripped of until he learns humility (very Excalibur-like down to the Hammer being stuck in a stone) - scale and grandness is implied just with his backstory, so the film is a bit of a snooze the moment he lands on Earth.

It doesn't help that the Earthlings are pretty bland, Natalie Portman, Stellan Skarsgård and Kat Dennings can't do much with the generic material they are given and the whole Government-conspiracy storyline is a bit tired. The film also has to squeeze "Avenger" references into its story with presence of S.H.I.E.L.D. and a glimpse of Hawkeye (Jeremy Renner) - so while the film works hard, it doesn't move much.

As for Chris Hemsworth and Tom Hiddleston who play central characters Thor and Loki respectively. Let's say that while Hemsworth has got the look and plays blustering blowhard really well, his line delivery and blank eyes are flat. Hiddleston, on the other hand, plays tormented Loki brilliantly. It's no surprise he'll get to reprise his performance as the central villain in "Avengers". Hiddleston doesn't take Loki over the top instead really showing the pain and torment behind his eyes.

While "Thor" doesn't soar, it does have moments in which it scores - making it a solid but forgettable entry into the comic book pantheon.

The Gandiman
Tony Gandía

Super Reviewer

Thor Quotes

– Submitted by Jenna L (2 years ago)
– Submitted by Randy K (2 years ago)
– Submitted by Randy K (2 years ago)
– Submitted by Kyler C (2 years ago)

Discussion Forum

Discuss Thor on our Movie forum!