• R, 1 hr. 46 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Jonathan Gershfield
    In Theaters:
    Apr 25, 2008 Wide
    On DVD:
    Nov 9, 2010
  • Worldwide Bonus Entertainment PLC

Opening

63% Hercules Jul 25
60% Lucy Jul 25
16% And So It Goes Jul 25
90% A Most Wanted Man Jul 25
56% The Fluffy Movie Jul 25

Top Box Office

91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $36.3M
56% The Purge: Anarchy $29.8M
44% Planes: Fire And Rescue $17.5M
18% Sex Tape $14.6M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $9.8M
23% Tammy $7.4M
85% 22 Jump Street $4.7M
92% How to Train Your Dragon 2 $3.9M
49% Earth to Echo $3.3M
49% Maleficent $3.2M

Coming Soon

100% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
—— Get On Up Aug 01
93% Calvary Aug 01
—— Behaving Badly Aug 01
46% Child Of God Aug 01

New Episodes Tonight

—— The Almighty Johnsons: Season 1
61% Crossbones: Season 1
82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
—— The Legend of Korra: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

25% Black Box: Season 1
100% Defiance: Season 2
40% Dominion: Season 1
41% Gang Related: Season 1
86% Maron: Season 2
56% Married: Season 1
94% Rectify: Season 2
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

85% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Three and Out Reviews

Page 2 of 12
February 21, 2013
Odd, not really a comedy, more a depressing film about suicide - on the upside, there were 2, Gemma Arterton
December 19, 2012
Three and Out really isn't a comedy, even a dark one, but I found it an interesting and well acted film, none-the -less.
September 29, 2012
I actually didn't mind this one. A fairly light and breezy British comedy with Mackenzie Crook(The Office - UK) and Colm Meany and with Gemma Arterton whom I love. Give it a try if you can find it!
June 10, 2012
Hey! It's the guy from "The Office". That's all.
teddybearantichrist
September 28, 2011
If you like anything that has to do with the U.K., you'll probably like this. It's a bit sad until they get home to the family, then it picks up a little. Still, not quite the comedic romp it could've been.
JackieeCx
July 10, 2011
Enjoyable drama/comedy with sweet MacKenzie Crook and young Gemma Arterton.
April 25, 2011
The music was very, very annoying throughout the film. Great concept, let down by poor planning and process.
April 15, 2011
A great unsung small British film. A super little cast deliver a super little idea. It is a nice easy watch, laced with humour and effortless playfulness. Yes it is silly and goofy, but it is a good find for Brit film fans.

A train driver suffers 2 suicides in a week. He realises a third death and he can retire on a loophole pay-out, all he needs is a third train death. He stumbles across a suicidal man and the pair strike a deal. But, will they go through with it?

The film stars MacKenzie Crook (Office and Pirates) and Colm Meaney, co-starring Gemma Arteton, and also has a cameo from Kerry Katona.

Arteton fans will be glad to see glimpses of her naked, even if with MacKenzie Crook. There is also a lot of swearing too.
January 18, 2009
There's no light at the end of the tunnel in this misguided romp whose solitary redeeming feature is its quality cast. Too gauche, too derivative and merely sporadically amusing.
November 30, 2010
this is the best movie
SB
August 2, 2010
Gives a whole new meaning to "let's hit the tracks".

Some three years ago we were stood in a queue at a tickets office of Liverpool St Station. We were next in line. There was a girl at the window directly in front of us; having missed her train she was arguing with a Network Rail employee: "No, you don't understand ... [something, something] ... connection ... [something] .... delayed. Please check with ... [something, something]. Some FUCKING IDIOT jumped under MY FUCKING TRAIN! The TRAIN was DELAYED! I MISSED THE CONNECTION!" Oh dear, not again, eh?

So that was the subject of a good half hour's conversation on the way to Cambridge ? we don't care how shite you think your life is, yadda yadda, but throwing yourself in front of a train just isn't cricket. First of all, you're inconveniencing and potentially traumatizing the train's passengers, and then of course there is the train diver who surely has not signed a no objection notice to being forced to kill you.

Except that the train driver in Three and Out indeed has no objections. Having accidentally killed two people who, within a fortnight -- in one way or another -- found themselves under his train, London Tube driver Paul (Mackenzie Crook) learns of a little-spoken-of Tube drivers' union rule: if you hit three people in a month, the railway has to pay you a handsome sum as a compensation, and you get to go on early retirement with a full pension. Now all that Paul needs to do is find somebody willing to jump in front of his train by the end of the week to make it three.

Three and Out is funny, well-acted, and reasonably paced. Granted, there are a couple of slow bits, and the writing could be improved upon, still, I found it well worth 2.29 for a DVD.
NightmareSummer
June 6, 2010
A weird film that you don't ever really get into..
James N.
April 4, 2010
An amazing and unique funny story line ... with a great cast .... a really good add to all the black comedy films out there
NicoleiloveRoss
August 10, 2009
Quite good actually x
TheSlowJoker
TheSlowJoker

Super Reviewer

August 4, 2009
at first i didnt thinkit was up to much and thought it was going to be pretty simple and not up to much

but the more i watched it and the more i got into it the better it becamse

the acting wasnt the best ive ever seen and the story wasnt up to much either but it was pretty original and in the end it was kinda good

i would deffinetly see it again
July 15, 2009
Girlfriend has it but someone lost the disc :(
Adam M

Super Reviewer

June 16, 2009
Decent comedy drama with Mackenzie Crook as a man who, already bored with his job as a London tube driver, becomes even more depressed when two people throw themselves under his train in as many weeks. But later our man finds out if he hits three people iin a month he gets early retirement and 10 years salary. Spurred on by this he attempts to find a third victim/accident so he can finish his job, claim the ten years salary and move to his dream house, in the middle of nowhere in Scotland, and get on with his dream job as a writer. This is a well written, effective comedy drama with good performances from Crook, Colm Meaney, Imelda Staunton and the lovely Gemman Arterton.
nigelmoors
March 31, 2009
Recommended to me by a trusted viewer nonetheless I was not too keen once I read the synopsis. But it's actually a damn good film with a damn good look at differing human characters. Meaney is the usual gruff hard old man seemingly down on his luck but in fact where he put himself when he buggered off and left his family, Crook gives his best performance since The Office and Arterton (as well as being beautiful) is actually very good
January 22, 2009
Pretty sad, a good story and stuff...but real sad..
ThisIsBareCody
November 9, 2008
i expected a comedy but what i got was a touching and meaningfull drama which kinda rocked.
Page 2 of 12
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile