• R, 1 hr. 52 min.
  • Comedy
  • Directed By:
    Woody Allen
    In Theaters:
    Jun 22, 2012 Limited
    On DVD:
    Jan 15, 2013
  • Sony Pictures Classics

Opening

69% Hercules Jul 25
67% Lucy Jul 25
25% And So It Goes Jul 25
—— The Fluffy Movie Jul 25
89% A Most Wanted Man Jul 25

Top Box Office

91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $36.3M
56% The Purge: Anarchy $29.8M
45% Planes: Fire And Rescue $17.5M
20% Sex Tape $14.6M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $9.8M
23% Tammy $7.4M
85% 22 Jump Street $4.7M
92% How to Train Your Dragon 2 $3.9M
49% Earth to Echo $3.3M
49% Maleficent $3.2M

Coming Soon

—— Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
—— Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Let's Be Cops Aug 13
—— The Expendables 3 Aug 15

New Episodes Tonight

25% Black Box: Season 1
100% Defiance: Season 2
40% Dominion: Season 1
41% Gang Related: Season 1
86% Maron: Season 2
94% Rectify: Season 2
39% Rush: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
76% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

85% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
90% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
50% Jennifer Falls: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
—— Rogue: Season 2
100% Suits: Season 4
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
—— Wilfred: Season 4
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

85% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
86% The Strain: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
76% You're the Worst: Season 1

To Rome with Love Reviews

Page 2 of 69
July 16, 2014
As great of a writer as Woody Allen is, his movies are often hit and miss. "To Rome with Love" is a miss. A very bland miss.
July 6, 2014
There's a real sense that Woody was trying to stretch back more to his prose/early cinema absurdist humour but it doesn't quite come off. The Italian/crossover stories are the best ones, except the Cruz one although she's not as annoying and cliché as she was in Vicky Christina Barcelona. There were a few too many moments though where I thought the joke was hammered through rather than subtly dropped. And it was way too predictable. All in all, it's not utterly charmless apart from the crappy predictable American love story one (except for Alex Baldwin who is fun), but it feels a bit first-draft-y, like it needed more work, and there are a lot of problems with continuity and plot, along the way. Still, as the old cliché goes- mediocre Allen is still better than a lot of what passes for films these days. Don't rush out and seek it but if it crosses your path and you're an Allen fan, take a punt.
January 11, 2013
Some nice little stories told with Woody Allens unmistakable dialogue by some great actors. Well worth a watch.
Lucas A.
June 21, 2014
Funny, charming and a little romancing, 'To Rome with Love' is simply hilarious, but, weak characters, clichéd script, the new film by Woody Allen can be quite funny and a part you can reach your audience with innovative conquer jokes, but this time, his new film was not as attractive as its predecessor, "Midnight in Paris "
kjhuang17
June 25, 2014
This is one of those movies that's just pure entertainment but isn't anything deeper - like Transformers for Europhilic cultural elitists. There's not really much of a plot or focus. It's split among four separate storylines that feel either dull or extremely contrived. In a way, it reminds me of Woody Allen's previous overrated baloney, Midnight in Paris. Once again, there's lots of drama and fighting between young people and their parents. Once again, people are having stupid drama and quarrels in the backdrop of an overromanticized European city with charming locals with sexy accents.

The Hayley plot (with Hayley's opera director dad trying to get Hayley's future father-in-law to sing opera in the shower) is stupid; it's just a series of annoying fights between Hayley and her father, Hayley's father and Hayley's boyfriend, Hayley and her boyfriend, and Hayley's boyfriend's father and Hayley's father.

The Antonio and Milly plot (with the newlyweds) is the most interesting of the four, as it features a bodacious Penélope Cruz as an alluring prostitute who helps Antonio engage in some educational adultery.

The Leopoldo plot (the ordinary guy becoming famous for being famous) is the worst; it's stupid, annoying, and pointless.

The John/Jack plot (with Alec Baldwin and Jesse Eisenberg playing two architects) is fairly stupid and lame, but it's also kinda interesting in a juicy gossip sort of way. I also liked John's meticulous deconstruction of Monica's faux intellectualism.

I did like the main song, The Starlite Orchestra's rendition of "Amada Mia, Amore Mio". That's probably a good thing considering the movie plays it constantly.
June 25, 2014
This is one of those movies that's just pure entertainment but isn't anything deeper - like Transformers for Europhilic cultural elitists. There's not really much of a plot or focus. It's split among four separate storylines that feel either dull or extremely contrived. In a way, it reminds me of Woody Allen's previous overrated baloney, Midnight in Paris. Once again, there's lots of drama and fighting between young people and their parents. Once again, people are having stupid drama and quarrels in the backdrop of an overromanticized European city with charming locals with sexy accents.

The Hayley plot (with Hayley's opera director dad trying to get Hayley's future father-in-law to sing opera in the shower) is stupid; it's just a series of annoying fights between Hayley and her father, Hayley's father and Hayley's boyfriend, Hayley and her boyfriend, and Hayley's boyfriend's father and Hayley's father.

The Antonio and Milly plot (with the newlyweds) is the most interesting of the four, as it features a bodacious Penélope Cruz as an alluring prostitute who helps Antonio engage in some educational adultery.

The Leopoldo plot (the ordinary guy becoming famous for being famous) is the worst; it's stupid, annoying, and pointless.

The John/Jack plot (with Alec Baldwin and Jesse Eisenberg playing two architects) is fairly stupid and lame, but it's also kinda interesting in a juicy gossip sort of way. I also liked John's meticulous deconstruction of Monica's faux intellectualism.

I did like the main song, The Starlite Orchestra's rendition of "Amada Mia, Amore Mio". That's probably a good thing considering the movie plays it constantly.
June 8, 2014
I enjoyed Woody Allen and Jesse Eisenberg, but I couldn`t sit through this horribly unfunny, predictable movie especially when there were no subtitles during the Roman segments.
Harlequin68
Harlequin68

Super Reviewer

June 4, 2014
"To Rome with Love" starts with American tourist Hayley(Alison Pill) meeting cute Michelangelo(Flavio Parenti) in Rome. Following which they fall in love. Soon after, her parents(Judy Davis and Woody Allen) come to visit.

Meanwhile, Leopoldo(Roberto Benigni) becomes famous.

Jack(Jesse Eisenberg) recognizes John(Alec Baldwin) as a notable architect on the streets of Rome. Jack lives with Sally(Greta Gerwig) whose friend Monica(Ellen Page), an underemployed actor, is set to visit them.

Antonio(Alessandro Tiberi) and Milly(Alessandra Mastronardi), a couple of newlyweds come to Rome. While looking for a hairdresser, Milly gets hopelessly lost while Antonio gets an unexpected visit from Anna(Penelope Cruz), a prostitute.

Like a lot of Woody Allen's recent movies, "To Rome with Love" is a near miss, almost frustratingly so. On the plus side, the movie is a valuable reminder as to how much a valuable treasure Judy Davis is and if any actors were born to be in a Woody Allen film, it would be Jesse Eisenberg and Greta Gerwig.(To be honest, that segment would have been better if Gerwig and Page had swapped roles.) Plus, this movie is actually kind of deep at times, not to mention wistful, as it has more than a few things to say on the subject of fame which Woody Allen might know a thing or two about.

But apparently he has forgotten how to do farce as well as he used to, much less as well as "Orphan Black." That's not to mention the unwieldy structure, as the uneven segments should have run back to back instead of crosscutting between them, due to the different time frames involved in each. Even worse, no segment is as fully developed as it should have been. And then there is the one with the shower which should have sounded even too ludicrous on paper which is where it should have been left.
May 30, 2014
This movie was okay. It is very unique and the acting performances were pretty good.I bought it because I'm a fan of Ellen Page and Jessie Eisenberg. They both did a good job in it, and it's kind of a cute movie. It's different from the same ol' movies you see everyday. However, it's not one I loved.
July 10, 2012
I haven't seen a ton of Woody Allen, but I've really enjoyed what I have seen, and this has a great cast, so I was really looking forward to this. But honestly, I wasn't really into this at all. It kind of came off like a New York I Love You/Valentine's Day type thing, but in Rome. The acting was fine, some of the storylines were interesting, but there were honestly some lines that I was rolling my eyes at. The storylines didn't mesh at all. Some seemed like they took place in one day, others over a span of a few weeks, and they just never really meshed together. Some were realistic, and others just did not make sense at all/had no rules. (Who could actually see Alec Baldwin? What was he doing? Could they all hear him? What was going on that entire time?) I will say, it didn't help that my version didn't have subtitles for the Italian parts, which was about half of the movie. So, I had a vague idea of what was going on, but I never really knew for sure. So, of all of Woody Allen's movies, skip this one.
June 24, 2012
Despite the lukewarm reception, I'm still very much interested in this year's Woody Allen film.
May 25, 2014
Otra postal de Allen a ciudades europeas que lamentablemente recicla ideas de anteriores filmes del realizador neoyorquino, como la revisión de las experiencias juveniles en plan tercera persona (Alec Baldwin) y la prostituta fuera de lugar en altos circulos intelectuales (Penélope Cruz). Me gusto volver a ver a Judy Davis (Habitual de W.A) representando el polo a tierra a la neurosis de Woody. Bueno, finalmente Woody Allen mantiene diciendo que por cada filme existoso y alabado que hace, hay 2 o 3 en el medio que dividen las opiniones de todos. Creo que a Roma Con Amor pertenece a esta ultima categoria.
May 10, 2014
Jerry (Woody Allen): I see New York. I see Vienna Opera House. I see Paris. Phyllis (Judy Davis): All in the shower? Jerry (Woody Allen): Yes. They love it that he sings in the shower. They identify. You know, he's going to be the most popular opera singer in the world. Phyllis (Judy Davis): Certainly the cleanest.

This was one of the better Woody Allen films that I've seen recently. The ensemble had very good chemistry and their interaction felt very organic; everyone performed their part so believably. Although, I must point out that Woody Allen's acting was uncharacteristically drab, he's normally more entertaining in his films but in this one, his performance felt a little phoned in. The storylines were intertwined well enough (granted, still not as well put together as "Love Actually" but then again, what is?). Nonetheless, the stories were cute and clever, especially the Alec Baldwin / Jesse Eisenberg storyline which was conceptually brilliant and executed wonderfully. ***SPOILERS*** The idea isn't new but the way John re-lived his memories of Rome was cool. I really dug it and I really enjoyed watching this film.
May 7, 2014
It may be out of Woody Allen's comfort zone, but 'To Rome With Love' is a very funny movie.
April 13, 2014
I wanted to like it, but Woody Allen failed to meet the high standard he has set for himself. This was not as good as Midnight in Paris or Blue Jasmine in terms of writing and acting, but it was strangely kind of enjoyable even when it made no sense. Allen wrote the best parts for himself, Roberto Benigni, and Ellen Page. Page was the most complex, while Benigni's storyline was the most bizarre, while being quite a statement on society's obsession with faux-celebrities. That was rather clever in theory but very oddly executed. The storyline about the Italian couple, I would say, was the most thought-provoking. Overall, there were moments of clever writing scattered throughout the movie, but it could have been a tighter and some characters should have been more developed in order to reach the level of his other films. The idea was good, but almost sloppily executed.
April 9, 2014
It is a very funny movie
March 24, 2014
lets' pay a tribute to Rome, and to all the absurdity in/about life!
June 18, 2012
Oh fuck. Anybody that knows me even moderately well knows how I feel about Woody Allen. He's my hero, he's my life-- before it's closing, whenever I saw the Russian Tea Room (used in Manhattan) I would experience a strange combination of admiration and arousal-- Woody Allen and I are essentially one and the same (alongside thousands of other Jews). But this was inane, and bland for a very specific reason-- Woody did not put any craftsmanship into the characters. It's happened before (i.e. You Will Meet A Tall Dark Stranger). He becomes enamored with greater, more grandiose themes, and gives himself an excessive amount of story lines with which to convey them. But in using such a sprawling cast to convey these themes, they become nothing but stand ins for these themes, and Woody "The Puppetmaster" Allen himself. And without distinct characters, his movies, particularly these newer "travel films" become nothing but life porn with maybe a little, mild, safe, optimistic philosophy sprinkled in there. There's no reality here, there's no substance-- if this were the Woody Allen I idolize he would have tried to go beyond the veil that the beauty of Rome represents and tried to dig into something deeper. Into the psychosis, into the flaw-- INTO SOMETHING INTERESTING. I don't expect a vacation from Woody Allen, I expect to walk out having experienced a piece of reality that I might not have experienced before. I hated this movie. SO FUCKING MUCH.

(Penelope Cruz was hot though.)
sleepyhead16
July 12, 2011
Not Woody Allen's best, but he still has his own way to tell a story, making it not boring at all. A great cast as usual and the beautiful city of Rome !
October 20, 2013
Weak, and quite silly. Probably Woody Allen's worst movie (it's either this or Vicki Cristina Barcelona).

The stories were mostly incoherent, and farcical. The only one which was meaningful was the Roberto Benigni one, with its examination of everyone having their 15 minutes of fame plus stardom, it's perks, downsides, superficiality and fleetingness. Others are mostly quite dull and meaningless, though they all have their moments.

All-star cast does the best it can with the rambling script. Penelope Cruz was the stand-out, and not necessarily for her performance (that red dress...).

Setting is amazing, of course. However, this is possibly a smokescreen on Woody Allen's part. His last few movies have all involved stunning European locations, as if the movie is more a travel guide than a drama. (Midnight in Paris wasn't bad though).
Page 2 of 69
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile