Toast - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Toast Reviews

Page 2 of 7
September 22, 2014
The story of a boy's hunger.
Nigel est un jeune garçon dont la maman ne sait rien cuisiner d'autre que la tarte de Noël. Elle trouve que les aliments frais sont sales, et ne jure que par les conserves. Nigel lui, est fasciné par la « vraie » nourriture, notamment grâce à leur jardinier qui lui fait découvrir les légumes. Plus tard, sa mère décède et il se retrouve avec un père distant dont il essaye d'attirer un regard bienveillant. La tâche se révèle encore plus ardue avec l'arrivée de la femme de ménage qui deviendra sa belle-mère. Cette dernière est une grande cuisinière, et Nigel et elle vont se livrer une bataille pour l'amour du papa à coup de bons petits plats.
Ce film est basé sur l'autobiographie du chef anglais Nigel Slater, et reste concentré sur sa jeunesse. Ce que je trouve dommage car quand ça devient intéressant, le film se termine ! Le côté retro dans les plats cuisinés est bien fait et plaisant, mais à part cela, je n'ai pas été passionnée par son histoire. Aucun des personnages n'est réellement sympathique, même pas Nigel. Le père passe son temps à menacer Nigel mais il n'est pas montré comme violent. Par contre quel égoïste ! La belle-mère fait aussi quelques menaces, mais elle ne semble vraiment pas méchante, elle cherche juste se place au milieu de ces 2 hommes. J'ai trouvé étrange que Nigel ne semble pas un peu traumatisé ni même culpabilisé d'avoir souhaité la mort de sa mère et que cette dernière meure la même nuit.
Vraiment bof.
August 21, 2014
I like the conversation between Nigel and his little friend. Very easy, very relaxing, much touched ;)
August 8, 2014
By turns sweet and tart, airy and rich and, above all, a thoroughly irresistible confection. An entertaining period piece that Brits excel at with its wistful Dusty Springfield soundtrack and a script by Lee Hall who has also penned 'Billy Elliot', this was a joy to watch. Young Nigel is played by two actors, the older one was Freddie Highmore who seems to corner the market on teen roles right now, but it is Oscar Kennedy in his screen debut playing the young Nigel who really steals the spotlight with his wonderful grieving. Ms. Bonham Carter's hearty performance makes Mrs. Potter almost lovable. You may laugh at her garishness, but you applaud her pluck and stamina. The film is beautifully done - poignant and sad, but with lightness and humour. Utterly charming, witty and visually splendid nostalgic trip through the '60s by way of the memoir penned by celebrated Brit food writer and cook Nigel Slater and seasoned with some Dusty Springfield pop hits. It has a few contrived moments and several lines better suited to greeting cards than film, but the sentiment remains honest. A gem of a feature directorial debut.

VERDICT: "High-Quality Stuff" - [Positive Reaction] This is a rating to a movie I view as very entertaining and well made, and definitely worth paying the full price at a theatre to see or own on DVD. It is not perfect, but it is definitely excellent. (Films that are rated 3.5 or 4 stars)
June 16, 2014
It has interesting moments, but drags on in a tremendously slow fashion. Ugh.
February 9, 2014
I dont like this story at all.
November 3, 2013
Not at all the light foodie film I was expecting, but rather a far more depressing tale of a boy's journey to find himself.
½ August 16, 2013
The first half has some surprisingly funny moments, enough so that I still liked the film by the end. The downside though, is that the film gets stuck in the second half - slowing to a painful crawl and spending too much time on the main character's nemesis, Mrs. Potter, rather than focusing on Nigel's love of food.
July 7, 2013
Absolutamente encantador. Me apaixonei por Nigel Slater depois do filme. Grandes atuações e trilha sonora.
½ July 20, 2011
Moving film, very good interpretation Oscar Kennedy as young Nigel Slater.
May 7, 2013
a story about toast (nice)
April 14, 2013
I saw the movie last night (Sat. 14 April) in Rosh Pina, Israel and it proved to be a fab, acutely accurate piece of good ol' British 60s nostalgia and very, very funny. I read the book a good number of years ago so can't remember how faithful the movie is to the original. But never mind: It's not the world's great piece of art but nonetheless very entertaining. I enjoyed it especially as an ex-Brummie and considered Helena Bonham-Carter's Black Country accent to be nigh well perfect.
½ March 6, 2013
Wait this is based on a true story? I thought it was way too petty to be real.
Super Reviewer
½ March 2, 2013
While young Nigel(Oscar Kennedy) may love his parents(Victoria Hamilton & Ken Stott), he is nowhere near that fond of his mother's cooking, even though she can rock a slice of toast. Inspired to do better, Nigel cooks them spaghetti bolognese for dinner, a dish they are puzzled by. That all turns to be a moot point when Nigel's mother falls ill, a condition he initially thinks might be caused by her being pregnant.

"Toast" is an oddly engaging movie that is aided by some great moments, including one where Nigel's friend points out that growing up in a dysfunctional household can only make him interesting as an adult, a sentiment I would like to agree with despite the lack of scientific studies. And that's not to mention a controlled gonzo turn from Helena Bonham Carter that turns Mrs. Potter from monstrous to I think something approaching a tragic figure.

All of this is in the service of learning not to take anything for granted. But then "Toast" is set in the dreary back end of England(at first I thought this might be the 50's until a random group of hippies are shown on a pier and the great use of Dusty Springfield songs) which is quite possibly hell for any aspiring foodie, if the reported awfulness of English food is/was anything to go by. On the other hand, the fact that we get both ends of the spectrum of dishes admittedly does go a long way to disprove that whole line of thought.
September 28, 2012
Slow and too full of unpleasant people to be interesting.
November 22, 2012
It's a bit weird on the part of relations husband and wife, former and later, and uneasy to understand why is it so hard for them to get along, they are your family for god's sake! But the whole idea is warm and comfortable.
½ December 8, 2012
Love the film, nice and quiet but not boring, I cannot stop thinking of the pie and Mrs Potter after ,,, you could feel the hearts & souls of the characters ,,,
½ December 5, 2012
I loved the style of it.
I almost cried.
November 25, 2012
Remember, Freddie Highmore as Peter (Pan) in Johnny Depp's movie about the playwright J. M. Barrie? Here he plays a teen in this biopic about the chef Nigel Slater. This 2010 film couldn't compete with Meryl Streep in Julie and Julia, but it doesn't need to. With Helena Bonham Carter as Mrs. Potter, this film is immensely entertaining. Perfect for small screen or large. I streamed it on Netflix.
November 17, 2012
Charming and touching....the young man who plays Nigel (Oscar Kennedy) is a superstar. A real paradigm for fortitude and grace. Lovely (no sex, no violence...h'mmmm, I guess its still possible to have a great movie without).
Super Reviewer
September 24, 2011
What a wonderful little movie! Nice BBC film based on the early life of UK food critic Nigel Slater. Good performances by Oscar Kennedy as the young Nigel, and Freddie Highmore as the teenaged Nigel. In addition to providing food porn in dessert form, the set design is also awesome with lots of yellows and greens. Very 60s! For the sharp-eyed, Nigel Slater makes a cameo near the end as a chef at the Savoy. A truly nice surprise, because I wasn't expecting too much from this movie. I love when I am treated to a true delight!
Page 2 of 7