Tombstone Reviews

Page 2 of 551
May 5, 2010
Uneven Western that is great for the first 2/3's but falls apart at the end. The cast is excellent for the most part, with Kurt Russell giving one of his best performances as Wyatt Earp, playing him as someone who can believably stare down a man with a gun and gets great support from the rest of the cast, though there are so many some don't get the screen time they deserve. The highlight is Val Kilmer as Doc Holiday, giving the performance of his career in not only physically looking like a man stricken with tuberculous but also capturing his intelligence & sadistic demeanor. He's a man looking to die but wants to take a few with him along the way. Behind the camera, George Cosmatos does a solid job and the film gets credit for being more historically accurate than previous ones (Earp is depicting as a man more interested in making money with a vicious streak, while it's his brother Virgil that accurately leads as town marshal). There are some nice gunfights to, with the O.K. Corral shoot-out being one of the best ever filmed. Unfortunately, the final third falls apart at the end, turning into an action montage with little plot (though a few more nice scenes for Earp & Holiday). Overall, a very fun film to watch, despite it's flaws.
½ May 19, 2015
The audience score has it right... This film is damn near perfect
½ May 11, 2015
This movie has a lot of critical acclaim, but for all the wrong reasons. I mean the movie had an extremely huge amount of action, but at the same time had some cheesy thing's that made me laugh out loud. All in All it was a pretty fun movie to watch. 7/10
½ April 20, 2015
An epically casted and vastly entertaining western flick.
½ April 8, 2015
Could have used more Wyatt and Doc and that romantic last ten minutes dragged on but the fight scenes and Kilmer were great.
June 8, 2006
150321: This film is fairing well with time. Still a decent western after multiple viewings and 22 years.
½ February 21, 2011
Rollicking, entertaining western. Focuses on Wyatt Earp and his brothers and Doc Holliday and their time in Tombstone, Arizona in the 1880s. For most people that story starts and ends with the gunfight at the OK Corral, but that event is only one scene in this movie. This shows how that was actually part of a much bigger picture, and wasn't anywhere near the end of it.

Decent plot that keeps moving along at a brisk pace. Some attempts at character development, but it is mostly superficial. Dialogue can be a bit gung ho at times but is generally fine.

Star-studded cast, even among the minor roles. Just about everyone involved is a known actor now. Some may have been unknowns at the time, but are stars today, eg Billy Bob Thornton who has a handful of lines, Thomas Haden Church. Charlton Heston makes an appearance, for about a minute!

Good fun.
March 2, 2015
Hands down the best Western film I've ever seen and will probably ever see.
February 28, 2015
Possibly the best modern western aside from Unforgiven. Great cast highlighted by Val Kilmer as Doc Holliday.
February 26, 2015
A fantastic film. Guaranteed rewatch!
½ February 7, 2015
Fairly good movie with believable acting which had both sympathetic heroes and despicable villains. It has a good balance between dramatic dialog and gun fighting with all around interesting characters. The sets, styles, and wardrobe also stayed more faithful to the 1880s than many Westerns.
January 29, 2015
83%
Saw this on 28/1/14
Tombstone deserves praise for not sacrificing the story or true incidents for any particular character or for any stars. Tombstone has wonderful performances from Kurt Russel(his finest I have ever seen) and Val Kilmer( who mostly seldom disappoint). Since it does not alter it's original story for cliched thrills, it provides much much entertainment and quirky twists. Though, I believe that the film could have had a more power packed ending. Other than the lead characters, none of the others in the film have much to do here and all the supporting characters have poor character development, especially the women here. Tombstone leaves me craving for more and I must have to watch Kevin Costner's Wyatt Earp.
January 19, 2015
One of the better modern westerns!
January 17, 2015
Great movie although there were quite a bit of creative liberties taken. Still, a great performance by Russell and Kilmer. This has got to be one of the best Wyatt Earp movie I have ever watched. Truth be told, Johnny Ringo wasn't the jerk hes portrayed as in the movie. He was found dead under a tree but his boots were hitched to his horse so its thought that someone came up on him while he was snoozin under a tree and put one in his temple. Earp was never associated with Ringos death.
November 30, 2014
With excellent acting, amazing Western cinema scenery, tense moments, & a gripping story based on (mostly) true events, "Tombstone" serves to be one of the greatest modern Western films & one of the best of the 1990s! A great film to watch!
November 20, 2014
Nathalie: j'ai aime le jeu d'acteur de Val Kilmer. A l'aube de mes 30 ans j'ai bien du voir ce film une 20ene de fois....
November 12, 2014
A fantastic film with a strong cast (including Val Kilmer, Kurt Russell, Sam Elliot, Bill Paxton, Michael Biehn, Charlton Heston, Stephen Lang, Powers Boothe, Thomas Haden Church, Michael Rooker, Billy Bob Thornton, Billy Zane, Robert Mitchum, and Terry O' Quinn), and a classic plot. A must-see
November 2, 2014
The characters were engaging and captured your attention from the beginning. Wyatt was engaging and easy to relate too.
November 10, 2010
I'll be your Huckleberry !!! Val Kilmer is excellent as Doc Holiday !!!!!!
October 25, 2014
bad writing, bad lighting - looks like 50's, missing plot lines, too many characters, don't waste your time, its just bad
Page 2 of 551