Opening

18% Transcendence Apr 18
—— A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
54% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
87% Bears Apr 18
53% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
48% Rio 2 $39.3M
71% Oculus $12.0M
63% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
40% Divergent $7.4M
13% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

44% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
73% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

New Episodes Tonight

—— Anger Management: Season 2
92% Community: Season 5
55% The Crazy Ones: Season 1
100% Grey's Anatomy: Season 10
90% Parenthood: Season 5
100% Parks and Recreation: Season 6
100% Portlandia: Season 4
55% Reign: Season 1
0% Saint George: Season 1
100% Scandal: Season 3
73% Sirens: Season 1
68% Surviving Jack: Season 1
92% Vikings: Season 2

Discuss Last Night's Shows

72% The 100: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
100% Arrow: Season 2
—— Baby Daddy: Season 3
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
100% Legit: Season 2
—— Melissa & Joey: Season 3
36% Mixology: Season 1
—— The Soul Man: Season 3
—— Workaholics: Season 4

Certified Fresh TV

77% About a Boy: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
88% Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1
85% Enlisted: Season 1
98% Fargo: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% Hannibal: Season 2
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1

Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen Reviews

Page 1 of 4390
Nikhil N.
Nikhil N.

Super Reviewer

May 23, 2011
Multiple plot flaws and when you think about it very similar story flow to the first. Shaky and predictable and not the breath of fresh air the first was, the second installment in the Transformers series offers a hot actress, a good actor, and hours of head banging madness. Sheer disappointment is the only thing that can be said of this movie. I will go back to watching the first, and pretend this never happened. Hopefully the third can try to revive the series.
Adam K

Super Reviewer

August 19, 2011
Doesn't deserve a review. The first Transformers was quite good, but this is truly one of the worst films ever. It seems you either like it or hate it, but this is awful! Michael Bay had a really big budget and used too much of it, non-stop explosion, no storyline, just explosions and fights over and over again. Glad it got the Razzie. AWFUL!
0 Star
Daniel P

Super Reviewer

November 24, 2007
Not only is it among the worst sequels I've ever seen, the second Transformers is among the worst films I've ever seen, and is near the top when it comes to the biggest drop-offs between consecutive films in a series. I'm not sure exactly what the first Transformers had that Revenge of the Fallen didn't, but in hindsight, it seems to be entirely this: novelty. And while the human story - Sam's wacky parents and his unlikely romance with Mikaela - added charm in the first film, here it just bogged things down. So did all the explaining that took place in the film's latter half. Now throw in an ill-advised "mom's on pot brownies" sequence and some racist-as-the-crows-in-Dumbo additions to the toy collection - er, I mean, cast - and what you get is a real clunker: it's as dizzying and explody as anything else Michael Bay's done, but there's just too much CGI battling in this one, and next to no organic energy from the plot. By my count, I was only interested in what was going on for about 25 minutes, around the hour mark. I'll still watch the third installment, and I'll hold on to my good memories of the first one (i.e., I'll not risk watching it again), but yikes: the magic in this series blew up with the All Spark.
Wildaly M

Super Reviewer

April 7, 2009
Way too long blockbuster film. Cool special effects.
LWOODS04
LWOODS04

Super Reviewer

March 15, 2009
"Yes this film was not as good as the first, but I still really enjoyed it. I thought it was funny. Being funny is important to me with movies. I loved all the humor and the action. I had a lot fun watching this one. Julie White as the mother cracks me up. She has some of the funnier lines and she really knows how to deliver them. Everyone was just as good in this one as they were in the first. I was happy to see there was more screen time for the Transformers. This one probably wasn't to everyones liking, but I still think it's a great watch."
paul o.
paul o.

Super Reviewer

December 11, 2011
Watching this in korea and coming out, I look around and see everyone's expression. They were all like "awww sweet can't wait for the next one". I think and say softly "what the f@#k are people thinking".

This film is just blockbuster trash. Hey, lets make a machine that can magically teleport to Egypt. Now lets have a Shia Laboeuf have a fantasy relationship with Megan Fox.

This film is in the end, GARBAGE!
Eugene B

Super Reviewer

January 22, 2009
Though the special effects and action reign supreme once more, it was the damaged plot that wounded the sequel. A misdirected script as well as overly attempted performances did no help to succeed the first film. 3.5/5
Brian D

Super Reviewer

April 13, 2009
Ok part 2 , lots of robots battle the shit out of each other. got a bit boring after 2 hrs. with michael bay doing he's trade mark stuff it felt like it was a sequal to pearl harbour!
Tyler R

Super Reviewer

March 9, 2012
This film is one of the worst movie I've ever seen. I almost don't know what to say...wait a minute, I know exactly what I'm going to say. Michael Bay is the scum of movie directors. He doesn't even know how to tell a story. All he knows is special effects every 5 seconds. Seriously, he couldn't make a porno without adding a series of explosions. This film lacks pretty much everything. Shia LaBeouf is so damn annoying in this movie. All he does is just scream right at the camera. What's worse is you can't even understand him most of the time. Megan Fox has no purpose except to get the horny teenagers off their computers for once and into the theater seats. Her character is as pointless as possible. It's also safe to say that she can't act at all. The dialogue in the film is just dull and most of the time serves no purpose to the plot. Even though the script is laughably bad, the acting is pathetic and the action scenes are incredibly forced, the real pain in the ass award (Ha, imagine if that was an award handed out to certian students at high school graduation) goes to the two racist robots in the movie. If you've seen the movie, you'll know what I'm talking about. If you haven't seen the movie (lucky you) then you should know that there are two characters named Mudflap and Skids who are very offensive stereotypes. Michael Bay said that he wanted for the robots to have "more personality." So you'll give a bunch of CGI animatronics that aren't even visible while you're fliming personality, but you won't give the characters personality despite they're played by real actors (scratch that, "actors") and character driven stories can help boost a movie. I hear a lot of people saying that action movies don't need character driven plots, but look at this: Star Wars, The Dark Knight and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 are character driven action movies and those three movies are some of the greatest I've ever seen. But no, Michael Bay basically tore up a script for a movie with a real plot and said "Ha! What moron came up with this?! I know I think I'll add explosions during the pointless dialogue scenes and then a big eighteen-wheeler will come and blow up and then this giant skyscraper will collapse and make another building flip in the air and I'll add more explosions and I'll add a bunch of effects that look like post-converted 3-D! This film will be amazing. I'm in charge! I run the movie! I'm the director! I always do what's right! Oh , I forgot to add a couple of racist robots in the mix! This film should win an Oscar!" SHUT UP MICHAEL BAY! YOU SUCK! YOU WOULDN'T KNOW A STORY IF IT CRAWLED UP YOUR ASS, CAME OUT YOUR NOSE, LAY ITSELF IN YOUR ARMS AND CALL YOU MOMMY! YOU SUCK! EVERY MOVIE YOU MADE SUCKS! PEARL HARBOR, ARMAGEDDON, THE FIRST TRANSFORMERS MOVIE, THE THIRD ONE WAS ONE OF THE WORST FILMS OF 2011! MICHAEL BAY NEEDS TO JUST QUIT. HE MAKES ME NOT WANT TO BE A MOVIE DIRECTOR WHEN I GROW UP IN FEAR THAT I'LL BECOME HIM! HE SUCKS AT LIFE, HE SUCKS AT DIRECTING, HE'S AN IDIOT! HE MAKES ME WANNA.....VOHFUGZHUGHUDFHYHGFG;HYQQkVKIZVUSOGHuj(. I think I just lost my mind there...see what Michael Bay does to people?
Albert K

Super Reviewer

April 5, 2011
Tranformers: Revenge of the Fallen.... I've had so many arguments with countless people about how this movie is not a good movie. First off, the action may be entertaining but it is extremely forgettable. No emotional attachment, no good dialogue, no content... period. Megan Fox is not there for the merits of good acting but simply eye candy. The two twin robots are borderline racist. The comedy was inappropriate and not funny. There was word (this is true btw) that Shia LaBeouf and Michael Bay (Gay) himself have said that this movie was awful. The script was written in 3 weeks... This movie was garbage.
Directors Cat
Directors Cat

Super Reviewer

December 2, 2011
Whoever gave a fresh rating to this abomination needs a slap in the face and their right to name good films taken away from them. This is not a movie. This abomination has taken a wild shit on what was once a brilliant childrens toy and turned it into, in the words of one film critic; "a softcore porno with giant robots". This movie is complete, absolute drivel. There's just a big gap, the whole movie is just nothing. There is no attempt to create an atmosphere, tension, even an actual story. Easily put, there is nothing cinematic about it whatsoever. The CGI in Transformers 2 is undeniably impressive. That is if you haven't seen the first Transformers anyway! It digs further and further into it's hole because of it's reliability on fight scenes that go on for what seems like hours. Which are utterly, completely, one hundred percent. Boring.
cosmo313
cosmo313

Super Reviewer

June 21, 2009
This wasn't nearly as bad as I was thinking it was going to be, but it's clsoe, and definitely a big few steps down from the first one (that one was really flawed, but still exciting and fun enough to overlook the flaws, mostly). Part of the problem is that this movie is just excessive: it's loud, it's long, and it's one big ass explosion after the other. There's no room to breathe, so by the end, you are exhausted, but not exhilirated. I liked the story, technobabble and somewhat incoherentness and all, but the script needed some work. I like humor in my action movies as well, but most of the jokes weren't that funny, the characters were annoying, and then there's the whole racist thing with the twin Autobots. They're not the most racist thing I've ever seen, but they do cross a line. The human actors do what they can given the circumstances, but they barely hold things together. I enjoyed this movie somewhat (in very small doeses), don't think I didn't, but I don't want to see this one again. My brain and my senses need a break.
EightThirty .

Super Reviewer

January 16, 2010
01/08/2011 (DVD)

THE ACTION IS CRAZY! I must admit though I had seen this once before and initially would of gave it a lessor score because I was so confused and lost. The second watch however was so much better because now I just had to fill in the gaps which sealed a less-frustrating experience in my sitting.

I decided to be 10 years old and not go to serial-land for this trip so I could see this the way I wished when I was a kid. I remember conversing with family and friends about Transformers and how it would be cool to see it in live action. Well this. Was. Crazy.

I was absolutely entertained, well maybe not the first time round but adjusting my mentality the second time round definitely transformed my opinion. An A-grade action phenomonon.
Josh L

Super Reviewer

May 18, 2008
Worse than the original in every way imaginable, except maybe special effects. It's way too long, the plot has too many unexplainable moments, the comedy isn't funny like it was in the first, and the action isn't exciting anymore. As a matter of fact, there's so much less action in this movie than the original and that's exactly what we see these movies for: robots kicking the crap out of each other. They run around pointlessly for most of the movie trying to make sense of the plot and it get's tedious after awhile. I just wanted to see Optimus shoot something in the face. It's not terrible, but they failed to realize what made the original such a phenomenon.
Matt G

Super Reviewer

January 21, 2011
Despite an array of gorgeous effects, 'Transformers 2' is a nice try. Parts were good, parts weren't. At least it's good enough to justify the admission price.
DreamExtractor
DreamExtractor

Super Reviewer

February 28, 2011
Transformers Revenge of the Fallen is a complete failure of a film, and one of the worst sequels of all time. The plot is so ridiculous and idiotic that I canot even comprehend what these dumbass writers were thinking when making the film. The cast is boring, and Micheal Bay only worries about making Megan Fox a sex magnet, if I wanted that I will watch Jennifers Body. The special effects are ok I guess, but that really all Micheal bay can do anymore, he has never made one film where he doesn't use special effects for everything. Transformers 2 is a complete failure, and I cannot understand why people are so stupid that the audience rating is 76%, well at least the critics got this one right.
Eric A

Super Reviewer

July 31, 2011
Ehhhh, continued action from the first but even worse plot.
Zach B

Super Reviewer

July 24, 2011
Okay, I will be honest and say this: Transformers Revenge of the Fallen is the most idiotic, poor, stupid film that my eyes have ever seen. And considering the chunks of crap that I have seen (The Room, Troll 2), that is saying something. There is nothing redeemable about this film and the fact that it even made the money it made is not only a complete shock to me, but it breaks my heart due to that reveling the pure stupidity behind our society and what we consider to be good. Now, if you have read my review for the previous film, I did not like that one at all. With the exception of the visual aspect. Other then that, this film is literally anus scum. Okay, other then feeling insulted watching this film, lets get down to what details there are. First direction. Michael Bay, please do me a favor: stop directing films! The first one in this trilogy I can tolerate on one level. But, you made this film beyond immature. Everything from random scenes at the beginning of dogs having sex to two of the most offensive robots I have ever seen, this film has lowered you to no extent on a list of worst directors ever. For this film, I hope you enjoy your award for Worst Director. You earned it. Next the acting. I never thought I would see more tasteless acting then what I have seen in this film. The main characters are not even trying anymore and the supporting cast can not stay in one emotion. One moment they are in tears, the next they are laughing, then they are sad again in little under a minute. WHAT?!?!?!?!?!?! I am disappointed in this film. Next is the script. Okay, may I ask you decided to give the robots the dialogue they have? Not only is it tasteless, but it makes these beings that are suppose to be ancient and wise sound like twelve year old kids that have ADHD (no offense to anyone that has ADHD). It is beyond repulsive. The idea of the Autobots being part of a government operation to help the American Government, that idea I liked. But, the way it was executed plus the gaping plot holes (like destroying most of a city, and no one even noticing) just make this film unbearable to watch. Finally the score. There is not that much of a score to go by with this film. I mean, there are a few pieces here and there, but it is just background noise. None of it even really matters. At all. Now, I know that from a lot of teenagers, I am going to be hated due to me bashing and hating this movie. But, let me ask you this: put aside the special effects (which look like a giant pile of crap), is this film even worth it? The answer is no. Okay, I want to tell you all one thing: Special effects never make a good film. It only creates a foundation that all other factors can or will not support. In the case of this film, it does not. Overall, this is a terrible film that I can never recommend. Now, this film is the middle part of a trilogy I hear. If so, then I have next to no hopes for part three.
Kase V

Super Reviewer

April 20, 2011
Yeah, it doesn't make any sense at all. There are so many plot holes, it's insane. But somehow it's fun, when you look past it's many flaws and try to enjoy. By the way Bay, how about letting is watch the fight scenes instead of just pieces of metal flying. Because we all know the action is nonstop in this movie. It would be a good idea to make those scenes visible. Thanks.
michael e.
michael e.

Super Reviewer

October 30, 2010
This to me is the worst of the Transformers films. Mainly for one lone reason, the first film explained everything aside from a few things, but this film NEVER explains anything, characters either vanish, plotholes are all over the place, ill try to explain to the best of my knowledge. By the way i am spoiling this if you haven't seen the film. The fallen, this age old robot that can only be beaten by a Prime, resurrects Megatron, and Megatron ends up killing Optimus, the thing I don't understand is that, Why is Megatron taking orders from this guy when clearly he is more powerful? Another thing is how characters in this movie vanish, the two annoying Gangster robots are in the whole film up until the fight with Devastator, you see the green one nearly get sucked into his mouth, he smashes his face against a wall and says "My Eye," And then the two droids vanish, never mentioned again and never shown again. Or the little obnoxious droid that follows the two main characters, they find the old decepticon and they teleport to the desert, apparently the little droid was hanging onto the things leg, he falls off, and they never show him again or mention him again, but he somehow reappears and is somewhat of a main character in the Dark of the Moon. The biggest thing i think they should've explained is that, at the end of the first transformers movie, Bumblebee starts talking again, but they just randomly in this film he stops talking for no reason. I know ive been ranting on this whole time about how they don't explain anything but that is one of two reasons why this movie sucks so bad. But the biggest reason why I dislike this movie is because of how it seems much more like a parody of the first film than it does a sequel. It is much more like a comedy film than an action movie, and the comedy isn't even funny. The only good thing I can say about this movie is that the action is really good, but thats all the good I can say about this movie. So Revenge of the Fallen I can do without.
Page 1 of 4390
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile