Transformers Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Tony Delgado
Digital Spy
July 14, 2011
hat was delivered will no doubt send merchandising sales spiralling into orbit, but sadly at the cost of countless brain cells popping through after nearly two and a half hours of tedium.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Joshua Starnes
ComingSoon.net
March 21, 2011
Transformers delivers on its promise of stunning visuals and well-crafted action sequences, but it's not remotely worth the slog it takes to get there. Once the novelty of the robots wears off it's hopelessly insipid.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/10
Josh Bell
Las Vegas Weekly
July 2, 2007
Only those undemanding inner 8-year-olds are likely to find anything here to appreciate.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Adam Tobias
Watertown Daily Times
July 23, 2008
Director Michael Bay's bigger than life version of the cartoon I grew up loving pretty much ruined one of my favorite childhood memories.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
July 22, 2007
Michael Bay can build a universe in a bottle. He can install a pump in the tin man's chest.And he can call it a heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 78/100
Tyler Hanley
Palo Alto Weekly
July 6, 2007
As a fan of the 1980s Saturday morning cartoon and Hasbro toys the film is based on, I was saddened to see characters I grew up with transformed into a corporate ad tool.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
July 2, 2007
For Transformers fans, I suppose this is a dream motion picture. For everyone else, it's a nightmare.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
July 2, 2007
In Bay's world, which is more about metal than people, every action sequence must be edited like a cinematic seizure and every extreme-telephoto image must be jammed headlong into the next.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Rossiter Drake
San Francisco Examiner
April 9, 2008
'Transformers' is a loud, unsophisticated testament to the visceral thrills of effects-driven mayhem.
| Original Score: 2/4
Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
August 27, 2009
Morphs from Army-enlisting ad to toy ad (on its way passing through a panoply of car ads, computer ads, beer ads) without ever becoming a movie
James Rocchi
Cinematical
July 3, 2007
Transformers is supposedly about robots who turn into cars and back again; what it's really about is big Hollywood turning money into stupid and back again
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Scott Weinberg
Cinematical
July 3, 2007
Flat, loud, flashy spectacle that's been fine-tuned and sanded down to appeal to the widest global audience possible. All in all, pretty generic.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
July 2, 2007
Director Michael Bay appears to have neither a sense of timing nor an awareness that, as a movie draws to its conclusion, simple logic suggests it's time to put a move on.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Anton Bitel
Eye for Film
July 4, 2007
...high-octane nonsense for those who suffer from permanently arrested development. The fact that it is a big-budget blockbuster based on a toy really says it all.
Nick Schager
Slant Magazine
July 1, 2007
Transformers is so hot and bothered over its reassembling robots that it can barely muster the energy to develop even an up-front text that makes sense.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
July 2, 2007
It's like spending a day at the state fair: a little bit of actual entertainment, a lot of embarrassingly cheesy attempts at entertainment, and the faint whiff of bull crap everywhere.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Victoria Alexander
Movie Reviews in Croatian
June 29, 2007
Hated the robots and their funny voices, hated the humans, and the cereal box story.
Bob Grimm
Reno News and Review
July 4, 2007
Okay, I've been reminded that I don't like Michael Bay's directing style. That's the last reminder I will need for the next ten years or so.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Sean Gandert
Paste Magazine
July 31, 2008
Come to think of it, I was pretty stupid when I was six years old. So is this film.
Top Critic
Bob Mondello
NPR.org
October 18, 2008
For the bot-neutral rest of us, two-and-a-half hours of mostly incoherent special effects may be a bit much.
James O'Ehley
Sci-Fi Movie Page
July 5, 2012
Page 1 of 11