Procès de Jeanne d'Arc (Trial of Joan of Arc) Reviews

Page 1 of 1

TIME Magazine
Top Critic
March 5, 2013

Bresson's treatment of the Trial of Joan is characteristically ascetic; but it is also quintessential history, unique and timeless, graced with a master's touch.

Sean Axmaker
Parallax View
May 4, 2012

As much as I love Bresson's works, I'm rarely caught up in the sweep of his drama. The drama comes for me only at the conclusion - and then lingers for days after.

Dan Callahan
House Next Door
January 9, 2012

The Trial of Joan of Arc (1962) might be my favorite Robert Bresson film, and Florence Delay, who plays Joan and who went on to become a respected novelist in France, my favorite Bresson lead.

Variety Staff
Variety
Top Critic
July 6, 2010

Using non-actors, there are no false dramatics. This unveils another side of the oft-filmed tale, and the state and church politics of that century.

Fernando F. Croce
CinePassion
March 28, 2010

Suspended like the protagonist between sanctity and pride, undaunted yet utterly naked

Melissa Anderson
Village Voice
Top Critic
December 15, 2009

A new way to access and appreciate history's most remarkable adolescent visionary.


TV Guide's Movie Guide
August 28, 2006

The purpose of Bresson was not to destroy the myth of Joan of Arc; what he did was reveal the processes that helped to create a legend.

Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Michael E. Grost
Classic Film and Television
August 22, 2006

Powerful portrait of a saint - and the attacks on humans by a corrupt society.

Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
July 22, 2006

Powerful and beautiful.

Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Gilbert Adair
Time Out
Top Critic
March 25, 2006

The tension generated by juxtaposing such humiliation with the serenely beautiful text (from the transcription of the trial) resolves itself in the unforgettable final image.

Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
Top Critic
March 25, 2006

It warrants a look.

Sam Jordison
Film4
March 25, 2006

A film that is more rewarding to recall than to watch, but one with undeniable impact and power.

Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
March 22, 2006

Austere and ritualistic version of the trial of Joan of Arc.

Full Review | Original Score: A+
Page 1 of 1