Procès de Jeanne d'Arc (Trial of Joan of Arc) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Procès de Jeanne d'Arc (Trial of Joan of Arc) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Top Critic

TIME Magazine
March 5, 2013
Bresson's treatment of the Trial of Joan is characteristically ascetic; but it is also quintessential history, unique and timeless, graced with a master's touch.
Sean Axmaker
Parallax View
May 4, 2012
As much as I love Bresson's works, I'm rarely caught up in the sweep of his drama. The drama comes for me only at the conclusion - and then lingers for days after.
Dan Callahan
House Next Door
January 9, 2012
The Trial of Joan of Arc (1962) might be my favorite Robert Bresson film, and Florence Delay, who plays Joan and who went on to become a respected novelist in France, my favorite Bresson lead.
Top Critic
Variety Staff
July 6, 2010
Using non-actors, there are no false dramatics. This unveils another side of the oft-filmed tale, and the state and church politics of that century.
Fernando F. Croce
March 28, 2010
Suspended like the protagonist between sanctity and pride, undaunted yet utterly naked
Top Critic
Melissa Anderson
Village Voice
December 15, 2009
A new way to access and appreciate history's most remarkable adolescent visionary.

TV Guide's Movie Guide
August 28, 2006
The purpose of Bresson was not to destroy the myth of Joan of Arc; what he did was reveal the processes that helped to create a legend.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Michael E. Grost
Classic Film and Television
August 22, 2006
Powerful portrait of a saint - and the attacks on humans by a corrupt society.
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
July 22, 2006
Powerful and beautiful.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Sam Jordison
March 25, 2006
A film that is more rewarding to recall than to watch, but one with undeniable impact and power.
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
March 25, 2006
It warrants a look.
Top Critic
Gilbert Adair
Time Out
March 25, 2006
The tension generated by juxtaposing such humiliation with the serenely beautiful text (from the transcription of the trial) resolves itself in the unforgettable final image.
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
March 22, 2006
Austere and ritualistic version of the trial of Joan of Arc.
Full Review | Original Score: A+
Page 1 of 1