Troy

Troy

54%

Opening

—— Hercules Jul 25
—— Lucy Jul 25
—— And So It Goes Jul 25
—— The Fluffy Movie Jul 25
92% A Most Wanted Man Jul 25

Top Box Office

91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $36.3M
56% The Purge: Anarchy $29.8M
45% Planes: Fire And Rescue $17.5M
20% Sex Tape $14.6M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $9.8M
23% Tammy $7.4M
85% 22 Jump Street $4.7M
92% How to Train Your Dragon 2 $3.9M
48% Earth to Echo $3.3M
49% Maleficent $3.2M

Coming Soon

—— Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
—— Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Let's Be Cops Aug 13
—— The Expendables 3 Aug 15

New Episodes Tonight

73% Chasing Life: Season 1
—— Covert Affairs: Season 5
88% Finding Carter: Season 1
75% The Hotwives of Orlando: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
—— Perception: Season 3
—— Pretty Little Liars: Season 5
—— Rizzoli & Isles: Season 5
—— Royal Pains: Season 6
—— Sullivan & Son: Season 3
57% Tyrant: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

29% Backpackers: Season 1
—— The Fosters: Season 2
—— Hit the Floor: Season 2
—— Longmire: Season 3
—— Major Crimes: Season 3
—— Mistresses: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
—— Seed: Season 2
—— Switched at Birth: Season 3
67% Teen Wolf: Season 4
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

Certified Fresh TV

85% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
86% The Strain: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
76% You're the Worst: Season 1

Troy Reviews

Page 2 of 1884
June 22, 2014
liked it, it was a lot better than Noah, 10 years later, I felt a little bit more impressed with Troy than Noah, as they came out almost 10 years apart. Troy I could watch 100 times while Noah I probably will not ever own on DVD. It's just so much better of a movie. Just so much more spectacle and brilliance. This movie rocks, one of the biggest, baddest, sexiest movies ever made. Truly awesome and stunning to watch.
July 18, 2014
Not bad, although the film feels flat and emotionally distant at times. Good action sequences, though.
July 16, 2014
The film can often seem cliché and overdramatic, and Brad Pitt isn't especially great in the lead role; but due to an excellently choreographed duel, reliable performances from Peter O'Toole, Brian Cox, and Sean Bean, and a grand scale; it still succeeds in being thoroughly entertaining.
June 13, 2008
hmmmmm ..... I didn't really pay too much attention to the movie .... Brad!
June 25, 2007
a very poor version of a story that has been told countless times
June 23, 2014
Just re-watched this movie -- forgot how epic it was! Love love love the acting, the sets, the costumes, the story ... A+!
June 23, 2014
A nearly 3 hour movie that keeps you entertained the whole time.
June 19, 2014
Sweaty men in leather...whats not to love?
Linds with an e
June 9, 2014
One star plot. Five stars for Brad Pitt because he is just so ridiculously hot in this movie.
adam24911
June 10, 2007
They do all look rather well for a group of people fighting in a war but I always enjoy watching this. It is long, but I always find the story moves along without it dragging. Love the action scenes and not sure how anyone could not enjoy the story about the fall of Troy.
June 2, 2014
Troy demonstrates some well choreographed fight scenes, but the film is a witless and dull take of the epic Iliad. The Brad Pitt performance as a block of wood with hair is below average.
May 27, 2014
Eric Bana gives an admirable performance, and the fight scenes are impressive, but Troy completely ignores the historical tale in order to make a cliche filled happy ending.
jimoss23
December 24, 2013
Good movie, but the ending pissed me off, I know that was the story but c'mon man..
Monzurul A.
May 26, 2014
I wish if Achilles wasnt dead at the end......
M Z.
May 26, 2014
Extremely bad acting for Helen and Paris; several moments of lameness ( Achiles revenge for cousin's death, Hector's father), very epic style, in total it was still pretty entertaining.
May 22, 2014
Plain, thrill-less action movie with even plainer characters and excessive CGI. The only redeeming sequence is the sword-fight between Achilles & Hector; besides it, this is a huge-scale waste of talent & resources.
Paulo U.
May 16, 2014
This film uses the excuse of portraying the historical events of the war and adapting the work of Homer to convey a metaphor of the Iraq War, in which Brian Cox plays the role of Dick Cheney and Brad Pitt stands for some kind of a Colin Powell. None of these dimensions is successfully shown.
Phil H

Super Reviewer

May 13, 2011
Homer's The Iliad is the basis of this film and whether or not the actual Trojan War took place this film actually does the story/fable/myth great justice with its glorious lavish looks. For me the mystery behind this ancient Greek plot is all the more intriguing and boosts my favour for the film. From what I see and have read Petersen's film is quite accurate to what we know of the event, everything seems to play out as it should and there doesn't appear to be much Hollywood tomfoolery going on with the details, well not too much.

One Slight argument could be raised about a minor detail, Achilles relationship to Patroclus is not known for sure, where as here they are cousins. As for some other bigger issues...King Agamemnon wasn't killed in Troy but returned to Greece, Paris did actually die in Troy during the war and Helen of Troy was suppose to have been taken back to Sparta. So a little artistic license used it seems but not too bad, why it was done that way I don't know.

As for the film...well it looks gorgeous, the location work really sets this up beautifully as everything looks a soft sandy golden colour against the piercing blue Aegean Sea although not actually filmed against the Aegean Sea. The Walls of Troy are powerful and impressive looking as the Greeks attack them throughout, the battles are huge with vast channels of warriors facing off against the city walls and each other, some excellent battle sequences I assure you. The scope of the battles is probably the best aspect of the film really, a lot of historical films have good battles in them these days but you really get a sense of size here plus its all in broad daylight so its gotta look sharp.

The visuals, the costumes (LOVE that dark coloured Myrmidon armour, very striking, very cool), the sets and the battles can't be faulted but unfortunately one thing lets all this down badly and that's the casting. Pretty much every member of the cast is a bad choice and doesn't fit the bill at all, harsh but true. Brian Cox as Agamemnon is far too much of a villain in the film and hams it up atrociously...you'd think he was in the next ''Die Hard' flick! Gleeson looks the part but his Irishness keeps coming through, he's in the wrong time period and army. Pitt simply can't act too well I'm afraid, always his major downfall, plus he looks too buff and pretty for the part really which takes away any sense of realism. Yep Pitt looks too good, too super heroic for his own good.

Bana really puts in a poor show here for some reason, I just didn't feel the power he should have, the emotion just wasn't there plus his Aussie accent kept creeping in. The same for Bean with his Yorkshire accent which isn't covered at all!! so you have King Odysseus with a Sheffield South Yorkshire accent for Christ's sake! Then you have the very weak talented Bloom who somehow manages to keep getting cast in big films, yes he looks perfect for this role but he simply can't handle the weight of this type of epic film. Lastly we have the mighty Peter O' Toole who again like other cast members just doesn't seem to have the power or weight needed for the role, he came across as tired and almost reluctant to embrace the role, a stunning actor for sure but he didn't seem right here.

Its a damn fine film to take on Homers ancient poem but I just wish Petersen had used a cast that wasn't simply chosen for their big name status at the time. I would of thought he had more sense than that and as a result he lets down this film which could of been truly epic in every aspect. Its definitely a visually spectacular war movie that's for sure, very pretty looking ancient battle porn, but methinks that's all it really is.
April 28, 2014
I didn't like it. Cut the budget down, put in lesser known stars, and give the left-over money to homeless shelters. That would have been a much wiser, and far more noble, way to do this...

I do give Hollywood credit for one thing: At least they eviscerated the concept of religion in depicting Homer's epics just like they do with Christian-related stories...(if they bother to make anything that touches tangentially on Christianity).

What I mean is: The gods and goddesses are a vital part of what Homer wrote. To cut them out of this film is like making one about King Arthur and ditching Merlin. How the hell do you manage to do that???

With the level of computer technology back when this film was made, these guys could have done a much, much better job of capturing the essence of those classic epics. Instead, they spent a ton of money to make a barely generic Hollywood blockbuster. It was fairly boring to me. Lay this aside and watch 300 [2007] instead.
September 21, 2013
One of the funnest and most accessible ways of enjoying the legend.
Page 2 of 1884
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile