Truth or Die - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Truth or Die Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Super Reviewer
½ December 25, 2015
It doesn't forgo its share of laughable contrivances, but at least it is always entertaining to see this amusing horror movie defy common expectations by playing with typical genre clichés and coming up with a delicious twist in the end and Jennie Jacques as the bitchy bad girl.
Super Reviewer
½ October 18, 2015
It was a simple graduation party in the suburbs of London, that was starting to get boring. With nothing else to do, the drunk teenagers decide to play Truth or Dare. One of the popular kids decides to use the opportunity to embarrass one of the less popular kids with disastrous results. In order to make it up to him, the popular kids agree to go to his birthday party, at a lavish country house, but when they get there, Felix isn't there. Instead the group finds his older brother, who forces them to play a more extreme game. I love the horror site Bloody Disgusting, and I watch most of what they recommend. For some reason they occasionally choose these obscure British films, with actors I've never heard of, and they almost always turn out like this. Truth or Die is unbelievably slow moving, and as expected, nothing really happens until the last ten minutes, and even that didn't make this film worth watching. As for the cast, it's no wonder I never heard of them, because most of them were absolutely terrible. The story is somewhat unbelievable to begin with, but add to that a bad cast, with thick accents, bumbling lines, and you get a film that is nearly unwatchable. I respect the opinions of our friends at Bloody Disgusting, but in this case, I don't know how they could have made this a selected film, it really is a complete waste of time.
Super Reviewer
½ May 25, 2013
Decent low budget horror film, which doesn't cross the line to torture porn. The acting was alright. I thought the post card reveal was stupid, but the last twist was hilariously great.
August 5, 2013
Directing was great and story was awesome with a great ending twist. Reminded me of a mix between Carrie and Would You Rather.
½ June 2, 2013
Promising British film that despite its whodunit type plot (mixed with psycho killer, torture porn, and cabin in the woods) doesn't quite live up to it's promise. There were a few good performances, but most of the cast just blunders through churning out cliché performances.
May 11, 2013
Featuring a unoriginal premise, Truth or Die manages to deliver upon it in a decent fashion with brutality and absolute nihilism. While it never feels original or inventive, it does manage to surprise the audience somewhat with its decent into a kind of total nihilism in which values and decent people cease to exist.
December 7, 2015
Wasn't too bad of a movie.. A bunch of friends being tortured by one person after revenge while they try to get free for survival. It stayed pretty interesting, but the ending twist dragged out a bit but still was good.
October 5, 2015
Though it starts in familiar torture territory Truth or Dare/Die slowly elevates itself thanks to decent acting, twisted turns, and a surprising second half.
½ August 12, 2015
Thanks for the party.

A group of high school friends used to play truth or dare together at parties. Things have changed since graduation, but they decide to all get together one last time in a cabin in the woods for some partying. However, one of the old friends has different plans for the night. The friends find themselves tied up in
chairs playing truth or dare like they never have before.

"He's obsessed with a fucking postcard."

Robert Heath, director of Out on a Limb and Sus, delivers Truth or Die. The storyline for this picture is very average and a bit disappointing. The acting is below par even for the genre. The kill sequences are inconsistent.

"I just came for the free booze."

I came across this on Netflix and decided to add it to my wish list. I thought this was a lazy, corny, cheesy, campy horror flick. There isn't much to get excited about here and I would only recommend seeing this if you're diehard a fan of the genre.

"Truth or dare."

Grade: D
July 30, 2015
Not bad for low-budget indie. The brunette is hot.
January 6, 2015
This movie was cheesy but has some ok entertainment value. The casting was good overall. I found the actors to be believable. I guess what I don't like about a movie like this is being set up to like a bunch of characters that are hopelessly being led to slaughter. Maybe it's good movie making, but I can't stand seeing moments when a victim can turn the cards against a monster and they do nothing. This movie is not as scary as it is disturbing. In any case, this was entertaining but it's not gonna be a classic. I wouldn't watch it again.
½ November 25, 2014
Truth or Die Movie Review!

Well this was a strange concoction of the horror genre. The premise we start with is a party with alcohol, drugs, and sexual talk. Cliches of course, but whatever. We see this shy boy, as a next cliche, who likes one of the girls and obviously gets rejected.

One of the good things about the movie is also, strangely, one of the worst. The villain of the movie is pretty much the only good thing of the movie; and that's not saying much since the actors and actresses for this movie are questionable.

The action, what little there is, is slow and monotonous, the dialogue, not applying the fact that they are English, is sometimes silly, and the settings are just so bland and repetitive. A cabin in the woods. As if we haven't seen that in forever. Do all horny teenagers go party in the damned woods all the time?

The twist of the movie kind of saves it a bad from the worst possible score, but it doesn't help too much that even it falls flat on its track. I mean, it was a good set-up, more or less, and it wasn't taken by the horns.

I give it a 3 out of 10. (1.5 stars)
October 4, 2014
This movie , was AMAZING!
August 6, 2014
This movie is completely stupid and is a waste of time. There is no plot and the ending is confusing.
½ June 8, 2014
I'm not even watching it, its playing in the background. And its hysterical! Atrocious dialogue! Terrible movie!
February 19, 2014
The postcard was stupid but the ending totally made the film worth watching!
February 18, 2014
The reveal at the end is surprising but the director asks to be let off the hook throughout the movie and it boggs everything down......not the worst thriller but easily forgettable.
January 19, 2014
Pretty standard horror fare without any real stand out moments or acting, but a solid movie for some teen thriller fun.
½ October 30, 2013
Unappealing and boring
½ October 20, 2013
The plot gets too convoluted within the last five minutes of the movie.
Page 1 of 4