Tully - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tully Reviews

Page 2 of 3
½ May 31, 2014
A film I had lying around for ages. Never really got to it until now.
This is a farmer film that's both realistic and honest. We meet an older man with his two sons.
Their farm seem to be most of their lives, but there is room for some personal dramas as well.
It felt like I had seen it before. Nothing new here but not much wrong either. Maybe it hasn't aged well or maybe it never really interested me, because I was never really pleased with this film.
Quite flat, slow, few interesting turns and lack of charm.
It's pretty sad and heartbreaking, and it's not a poor film, but it never really comes alive and it failed to get me.

5 out of 10 tomato juice beers.
January 7, 2014
Family drama set in a small Midwestern American town and centering around a small town playboy who find himself in unfamiliar territory when he falls in love with a girl, and a more intimate plot development when their past and the future of the farm comes back to haunt his family. The screenplay is not any more interesting than many TV productions of the same kind, and often it is the photography of the landscape that is more touching than the plot itself.
½ September 15, 2013
A novelette with ambitions to be more than that.
½ June 20, 2013
Truly one of my favorite films. Tremendously moving and bittersweet.
July 13, 2012
guess it was interesting..in your novel-adaptation-art-film kind of way
½ November 24, 2011
Only heard of this because of Graymont. Not disappointed.
Super Reviewer
January 13, 2011
A quiet film, about a quiet man and his two sons, living on a farm in Nebraska. Tully (Anson Mount), is the elder son, and a twenty-something Lothario who believes himself irresistible to women. His younger brother, Earl (Glenn Fitzgerald), works hard and plays clean. A straight-arrow neighboring girl, Ella (Julianne Nicholson), is friends with Earl and becomes entangled with Tully. The father, also named Tully (Bob Burrus) just goes about his business, quietly and efficiently, without humor, until he gets notice that his farm is being foreclosed. It is in this scenario, that lies that have been told for years and secrets left unspoken begin to come to light. The scenery evokes the prairie life, and the characters are people it becomes easy to sympathize with. The pleasures of hard work and simple recreations enhance the filmā(TM)s easy pace. Not a lot happens, but what does happen is significant. This was a good story about good people making hard choices.
½ October 1, 2010
Beautiful, sad, poignant America cinema.
September 9, 2009
Modest and tender (and loooonnnnngggg), just not sure if it's my kind of movie...
½ August 30, 2009
Wasn't quite sure what to expect from this but I was pleasantly surprised. It's a very sweet and realistic story. Considering that I'm really not fond of Julianne Nicholson on Law & Order: Criminal Intent, it was nice to see her play a different role, and one that was actually likable.
½ April 4, 2009
a bit boring at times
½ January 17, 2009
It's one of the best films of 2002 that nobody every saw. The film is a tragedy about a farm family that still haunted by the terrible secrets of their past. The film deals with plenty of simple themes: life, death, love, and grief. And the story is told so delicately that it really allows the characters to earn a deeper sense of stark reality. And there are many heartbreaking scenes. One of most powerful scenes is when the eldest son realizes how their father has died. It's done without words, and just actions, and it's very moving. This is truly a great film about small town people with painful, moral obstacles.
January 13, 2009
Tully Jr.'s discoveries at the end of this quietly emotional film are profoundly sad but make for a satisfying finale. Instead of things being wrapped-up before the credits, possibilities are left as wide open as the Nebraska farm setting.
November 25, 2008
Good movie even if it seemed to not have an actual ending... it just sort of stopped.
½ February 20, 2008
Was hoping to be more wowed by this picture after reading such praise in reviews. Surely a fine piece of work but does not step forward as a standout feature. A simple, small town flick with kind hearted characters and a couple hidden skeletons revealed... with impact falling short of impressive.
July 29, 2008
I liked this movie. Simple, predictable story with an interesting female lead--casting was good all around; I liked the father's character especially.
½ July 5, 2008
I found this movie good, but dull. The big family secret that is unearthed during the film's midpoint is really not all that salacious, devious, surprising or alarming.

Slow-moving indie with great actors, but a plot that more belongs in a made-for-TV flick.
½ May 8, 2008
A decent drama about life in the middle of nowhere parts of the U.S. Could have used a bit more original touch.
June 30, 2008
One of my favourite films.
½ May 13, 2008
Tully is a slow movie, but a touching story.
Page 2 of 3