Turn Me On, Dammit! - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Turn Me On, Dammit! Reviews

Top Critic
Calvin Wilson
St. Louis Post-Dispatch
July 6, 2012
True, the film deals with sex. But at heart, it's really about romance.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Robert Abele
Los Angeles Times
June 29, 2012
The movie treats a girl's burgeoning sexuality as neither epic nor problematic, or mutually exclusive of feelings of love, but rather simply, refreshingly, as one part of maturing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
San Francisco Chronicle
June 14, 2012
Teenage boys aren't alone in exploring their confused and unruly libidos. Girls go there, too. And when they do, it's no small thing.
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
June 14, 2012
"Turn Me On, Dammit!" is a rarity: a comedy about a teenage girl's budding sexuality, treated with wit and kindness.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
June 1, 2012
A wry if saucily subversive charmer, based on a novel by Olaug Nilssen.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Rene Rodriguez
Miami Herald
May 24, 2012
For a genre dominated by American movies in which girls are usually prizes or objects of lust, Turn Me On, Dammit! practically feels revolutionary.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Alexandra Molotkow
Globe and Mail
May 18, 2012
Turn Me On, Dammit! is that rare thing: an honest coming-of-age story from the female perspective.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
May 17, 2012
Here's a clever, refreshingly real twist on the teenage sex farce.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Linda Barnard
Toronto Star
May 17, 2012
[It] never lags, from the first shocking scene to a sweetly amusing John Hughes-inspired finale.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Bill Goodykoontz
Arizona Republic
May 10, 2012
"Turn Me On, Dammit!" is a movie as odd as its title, just as straightforward and considerably more endearing.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
April 26, 2012
It may be a slight comedy but Turn Me On, Dammit! is enormously entertaining.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Wesley Morris
Boston Globe
April 26, 2012
I can't think of another movie whose finale uses a reference to genitalia to warm your heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
April 12, 2012
You'll be gladder to have seen this beguiling little film if you can find it.
Top Critic
Sara Stewart
New York Post
March 30, 2012
Jacobsen's clever, compassionate treatment of Alma's romantic predicament involving Artur, her exhibitionist crush, comes from a perspective you virtually never see in American films.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Jeannette Catsoulis
New York Times
March 30, 2012
[It] has a gentle oddness as unforced as its performances and as inoffensive as its dialogue.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
March 29, 2012
Jacobsen's frank, funny but nonexploitative approach to teen libido has the feel of honest memoir, a look back at those years that recognizes,with the benefit of distance, that there's plenty of humor to be found in even the most arduous of growing pains.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Top Critic
Matt Singer
Time Out
March 27, 2012
The ladies deserve equal time, and they finally get some [Ahem] in this charmingly blunt Norwegian teen sex comedy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Melissa Anderson
Village Voice
March 27, 2012
Like its title, Turn Me On, Dammit! is a jokey pseudo-provocation.
Top Critic
Jon Frosch
The Atlantic
March 7, 2012
A minor, feather-light film, but a vivid and often funny one.
Top Critic
V.A. Musetto
New York Post
April 28, 2011
Despite the movie's subject, the director, Jannicke Systad Jacobsen, avoids exploitation. She uses sweet, deadpan humor to take the sting out of the sexual frankness.
Top Critic
Andrew O'Hehir
Salon.com
April 28, 2011
This yarn about an innocent-looking but desperately horny teenage girl might not have that much commercial upside, but its bittersweet, faintly depressed brand of Nordic humor is definitely enjoyable.