• Unrated, 1 hr. 26 min.
  • Drama
  • Directed By:
    Lucy Mulloy
    In Theaters:
    Aug 23, 2013 Limited
    On DVD:
    Dec 23, 2013
  • IFC Films
  • Una Noche
    2 minutes 51 seconds
    Added: Jul 26, 2013

Opening

63% Hercules Jul 25
60% Lucy Jul 25
16% And So It Goes Jul 25
90% A Most Wanted Man Jul 25
56% The Fluffy Movie Jul 25

Top Box Office

91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $36.3M
56% The Purge: Anarchy $29.8M
44% Planes: Fire And Rescue $17.5M
18% Sex Tape $14.6M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $9.8M
23% Tammy $7.4M
85% 22 Jump Street $4.7M
92% How to Train Your Dragon 2 $3.9M
49% Earth to Echo $3.3M
49% Maleficent $3.2M

Coming Soon

100% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
—— Get On Up Aug 01
93% Calvary Aug 01
—— Behaving Badly Aug 01
46% Child Of God Aug 01

New Episodes Tonight

—— The Almighty Johnsons: Season 1
61% Crossbones: Season 1
82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
—— The Legend of Korra: Season 3

Discuss Last Night's Shows

25% Black Box: Season 1
100% Defiance: Season 2
40% Dominion: Season 1
41% Gang Related: Season 1
86% Maron: Season 2
56% Married: Season 1
94% Rectify: Season 2
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

85% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
83% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
100% Masters of Sex: Season 2
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Una noche (One Night) Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Cynthia S

Super Reviewer

May 5, 2014
Gritty is the fitting word here. Not a happy ending for all....
Carlos M

Super Reviewer

February 20, 2014
An honest, vigorous portrait of a troubled city, focusing on three youngsters (played by excellent non-professional actors) who struggle to find a way out of their ungrateful lives as they discover their own sexuality - and the last act surprises for its tension and strong ending.
Harlequin68
Harlequin68

Super Reviewer

September 9, 2013
In "Una Noche," Lila(Analin de la Rua de la Torre) has always been very close to her twin brother Elio(Javier Nunez Florian) in Havana. That is until very recently when Elio went to work for a restaurant where he befriends Raul(Dariel Arrechaga). Unbeknowst to her, they are preparing to float their way to Miami, collecting supplies as they can before their departure. In the process, Elio ends up very surprised when one of the drugs turns out to be for treating HIV.

As much as it looks like it was filmed on the fly on location(if so, out of necessity), "Una Noche" still comes together for a lyrical and compelling narrative that is also a little rough around the edges which is probably to be expected in its depictions of the underground economy of Cuba. At the same time, the movie is just as interested in the local sights, with some excellent shots in and around the city. Somewhere in between is Lila who takes notice of the constant motion all around her while bemoaning the fact that nobody is going anywhere, a condition which especially affects the country's youth. In fact, the only people going anywhere in Cuba are the tourists and their money.
December 29, 2013
"Havana...never change". Those words are the true reality mention in this movie. But the entire movie is truthful. One night replicated the exact reality of the Cuban living in the island. Never gets wrong. Black market, prostitution, poverty level, alcoholism and must of all, the survival instinct. It's have been almost four years since I say good-bye forever and still I feel the pain who lives most of the Cuban citizen still trapped of the island. I know there are few who are still capture in this mad reality and return to try to find closure. Others thinks there not capable to be success in the first world and keep struggling with the misery or try to impress with false achievements . But many like me never will forget the true psychological genocide. Cuba is the living hell.
August 25, 2013
I needed a day to process it, as it took my by surprise in a number of ways. It's a great movie, with a balanced look at the desperation of youth, both in general and in a modern Cuban context. It's not what I expected, and it is essentially a tale of modern urban survival, particularly about living in poverty. The soundtrack is great, the cast was great, and I need to continue to meditate on it a bit more.
Jordan S.
May 14, 2014
A simple and beautiful story.
April 1, 2014
It's as much about the colorful lead up to the escape as it is about the escape itself.
August 25, 2013
I really enjoyed this film. I found the story gripping, the actors convincing (especially considering they were previously untrained)and the overall film kept me hooked. In particular i felt the film showed a great balance between following the story while also managing to include a lot of street shots showing regular people doing regular things. I liked the way this was blended into the story, but didn't detract from it at all. Something else i think deserves a mention is the music and sound engineering. For a low budget film i found it superb. Not only was the music well chosen, and fitting for the scenes changes, but the overall audio presentation was great.
January 4, 2014
Imagine City of Men, Cuba style.
Harlequin68
Harlequin68

Super Reviewer

September 9, 2013
In "Una Noche," Lila(Analin de la Rua de la Torre) has always been very close to her twin brother Elio(Javier Nunez Florian) in Havana. That is until very recently when Elio went to work for a restaurant where he befriends Raul(Dariel Arrechaga). Unbeknowst to her, they are preparing to float their way to Miami, collecting supplies as they can before their departure. In the process, Elio ends up very surprised when one of the drugs turns out to be for treating HIV.

As much as it looks like it was filmed on the fly on location(if so, out of necessity), "Una Noche" still comes together for a lyrical and compelling narrative that is also a little rough around the edges which is probably to be expected in its depictions of the underground economy of Cuba. At the same time, the movie is just as interested in the local sights, with some excellent shots in and around the city. Somewhere in between is Lila who takes notice of the constant motion all around her while bemoaning the fact that nobody is going anywhere, a condition which especially affects the country's youth. In fact, the only people going anywhere in Cuba are the tourists and their money.
Michael H.
February 12, 2013
An accomplished first movie. First for both the director and the actors. Creates a good sense of Havana and of the planning, obstacles, and sacrifices made to attempt a crossing to the U.S. - and then the dangers, discomfort, fear, and conflict of the journey. An exceptional cast of young first time actors bring us completely into their world.
Page 1 of 2
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile