Opening

91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes Jul 11
100% Boyhood Jul 11
15% Rage Jul 11
21% A Long Way Down Jul 11
—— The Class Of '92 Jul 08

Top Box Office

17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $37.1M
23% Tammy $21.6M
85% 22 Jump Street $9.8M
31% Deliver Us from Evil $9.7M
92% How to Train Your Dragon 2 $9.0M
48% Earth to Echo $8.4M
49% Maleficent $6.2M
54% Jersey Boys $5.2M
24% Think Like a Man Too $4.9M
90% Edge of Tomorrow $3.7M

Coming Soon

—— The Purge: Anarchy Jul 18
—— Sex Tape Jul 18
36% Wish I Was Here Jul 18
—— Hercules Jul 25
—— Lucy Jul 25

New Episodes Tonight

90% Almost Royal: Season 1
56% The Assets: Season 1
58% Bad Teacher: Season 1
44% Power: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

—— The Almighty Johnsons: Season 3
61% Crossbones: Season 1
—— Hemlock Grove: Season 2
82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
—— The Legend of Korra: Season 3

Certified Fresh TV

—— 24: Live Another Day: Season 9
84% Extant: Season 1
79% Halt and Catch Fire: Season 1
73% Murder in the First: Season 1
97% Orange is the New Black: Season 2
97% Orphan Black: Season 2
79% Penny Dreadful: Season 1
84% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1

Undocumented Reviews

Page 2 of 2
Todd S

Super Reviewer

March 16, 2014
This film really surprised me, because I usually hate these found footage films. Aside from the nausea, caused by the constant movement of the camera, I find that these films not only lack a budget, but also a decent story and cast. Undocumented was different though, as it was a novel idea with some fairly stable camera work. The story focuses on a group of college kids, making a documentary about illegal aliens, and how they cross into the United States. The group join a coyote for a run across the boarder when they are unexpectedly capture. Unfortunately for them, their captors aren't the police, but rather a group of self-proclaimed patriots, who abuse the illegal immigrants for their sick pleasure. We see a lot of films about how and why people cross the boarder and even a lot about what the police and government are doing about it, but I can't ever remember seeing a film about these vigilante groups, that do exist, and pray on illegals. Prison Break's Pete Stormare stars as Z, the leader of the rebel group and he basically makes the movie. This guy usually plays a gangster or inmate in the background of some random film or TV show, but he's never really the star, and it's a shame because he makes this movie. Z is such a deep character, who is brilliant yet deranged at the same time, a man who is as compassionate as he is brutal, it was really something to see. He's paired with a young cast of teen actors, who have been around for years, and who do a terrific job in support of his performance. This film isn't listed as a horror film, but it is pretty brutal and bloody, meaning you shouldn't watch it if you have a weak stomach. For me, it was an interesting take on an aspect of immigration that is rarely seen or talked about. The performances were impressive, the characters were deep, and the film never stops moving. I enjoyed the fact that this unique film really didn't have any big named stars in it and even though it had a shoe-string budget, the producers really made it work.
March 10, 2014
"What in the world....What is wrong with people...OMG....Are you kidding me....WTH...This is crazy....Why..." These are some of the things I said throughout this entire movie over and over again!
October 20, 2013
Great performance by Stormare, hot topic. "'Give me your tired, your poor,
your huddled masses yearning to breathe free' and we'll give them back to you. In pieces."
May 13, 2013
Really loved this movie. My favorite sub-genre (trapped, tortured, etc.) - well done, really stylish directing too.
April 1, 2013
This was disappointing. Wish I had never saw it.
March 31, 2013
A propaganda film designed to discredit people who oppose illegal immigration.
March 1, 2013
Interesante pseudo-documental que a pesar de sus limitantes y fallas muestra de manera cruda el falso "patriotismo" que envuelve a la sociedad americana.
April 8, 2012
oh my this movie is so fucked up! worse than hostel!!!
May 26, 2012
this is one of those movies that scare me only because of the fact that it might happen. it would offend most people and to some like me become scared, its still worth the watch.some of these scenes are a bit ridiculous, ans other than the the three US filmmakers and the Mexican immigrants you don't really care about the others.however its the Radicals that keeps you a bit more interested.
August 2, 2012
Mediocre. The antagonist was pretty evil and all but he just didn't seem real... You don't really get too deep into his role. Also, some pretty lukewarm acting by some of the protagonists.
October 11, 2011
The best IFC Midnight movie ever. Brutal and sure to stir up lots of controversy. A must see if you like horror.
June 14, 2012
Undocumented tells the story of 5 film students wanting to make a documentary about the plight of illegal aliens crossing the Mexican border into the U.S. They decide to go to Mexico and travel with a group of illegals into the U.S. to film the process these desperate people go through to gain a better life. But, when they reach U.S. soil, they are intercepted by a vicious band of racists (claiming to be patriots) who will allow the film students to live as long as they document their heinous acts upon the captured illegals. It's an interesting premise for a horror film but, writer/director Chris Peckover fails to really make this work for a number of reasons. Most glaring is that we never get to know ANY of the characters enough to to either feel sorry for or hate them. The students are stereotypical obnoxious and pretentious college students. The villains, led by a man named "Z" (Peter Stormare who remains masked and unrecognizable) are cliche' racist rednecks. And, worst of all, the illegals are basically there for body count and to fill the sets with prisoners. Peckover misses the point of his own message. How can you take seriously a film speaking out against victimizing illegals when it uses it's illegals purely for the sake of being victimized? The film stops being a film with a moral and just becomes a nasty exploitation flick right under it's own nose. We see some horrifying acts portrayed but, since all the characters are generic, it is horror that we are never emotionally invested in. Violence for violence sake. Peckover is exploiting the very people he is trying to speak for and he doesn't even realize it. Even in a film like this, having a live human being inside a pinata is pure exploitation and kinda crass too. So how can I believe Peckover wants me to hear his message about the mistreatment of Mexican illegals, when he is so eager to gruesomely portray them as victims? Let's not forget that our vicious redneck bad guys appear to be so incompetent that it's hard to believe they haven't been caught (One man sent into a room of unsecured prisoners, doors left unlocked, keys left in vehicles... not to mention filming all their atrocities). And finally, the filmmaker is so worried that we won't get certain points, he has his characters often state the obvious just so we don't miss anything. Nobody likes a movie that implies we are all too stupid to understand it, especially a horror movie. Undocumented does have some effective moments just from the shear brutality of what you're watching but, the very fact that Chris Peckover grossly betrays his own message and exploits the very people whose exploitation he wants to make us aware of, leaves us with nothing but another gruesome yet generic flick about human depravity.
May 22, 2012
this was simply something i realy like the idea of it but its pretty messed up
April 29, 2012
An intelligent usage of the found-footage format, Undocumented concerns a group of documentary filmmakers (of course) who decide to document illegal immigrants crossing the border into the United States. Upon crossing the border, they immediately run afoul of a militarized group who captures and tortures illegal immigrants in an attempt to stop them from coming into the country. They decide to keep the documentary film crew alive to document the proceedings as a propaganda film. and thus the rest of the film unfolds. Part found-footage, part torture-porn, Undocumented is a brutal look at the xenophobia and nationalist zealotry that resides in the extreme opponents of immigration reform. A film about xenophobia, racism, prejudice, and petty-minded conservatism, Undocumented makes a brutal but valid statement about many Americans' "let-em'die" attitude towards the rest of the world.
Scace
May 3, 2012
Scott Mechlowicz's performance is the best aspect of this typical thriller.
April 30, 2012
What is scary about this movie is I believe this may be happening... Somewhere. Nice horror with a political bent. PLUS.... Peter Stormare. Nice.
April 17, 2012
When I initially read the synopsis of this film, I was very intrigued. Touchy social and political issues centered around immigration mixed with elements of horror? Wow, ok sign me up! I'll begin with the positives, the acting is very well done and for a cast of no name actors they did a decent job. The main bad guy was menacing and engaging and the story had some interesting ideas ( albeit not fully fleshed out) and the ending was deliberately unsettling. This is a mean movie and it moves fast. Most of the violence is done off screen but it does get very brutal at times and it is does get exciting towards the end of the movie. The movie has ideas, but they don't really amount to anything. The director gives us a hint at a deeper movie, but unfortunately at the end of the day we just get a regular torture/horror movie. The characters do make some very poor decisions that sometimes takes you out of the film experience and the stupidity of the main female lead is absolutely mind boggling, the movie would have gotten an extra star if she had half a brain. Yet if you like movies like The Hills Have Eyes, Hostel and Saw this may be worth watching although not better nor as good as those films. (2 1/2 Stars)
April 15, 2012
Wants to be a serious statement on immigration but it's really just another "kids in trouble" horror film. Good gore and suspense. 3.5
April 13, 2012
Reminded me how underrated the HOSTEL films are.
April 4, 2012
Solid enough acting and a pretty cool premise, but it just kind of stayed at the same level the entire time. A couple very suspenseful moments, but also a lot of frustrated viewing. I also think it might have been more effective as a found footage movie and it would have been so easy for it to be one.
Page 2 of 2
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile