Va, Vis et Deviens (Live and Become) (Go, See, and Become) Reviews

Page 1 of 16
Cynthia S
Super Reviewer
½ September 20, 2011
This movie is about a period in history of which I was unaware. Ethiopians claiming to be Jews were taken in by Israel, but not with the approval of all the Israelis, leading to bitterness, dissension, and overt hostility. This is a very moving story about one young man's journey to "Live and Become" -- an Ethiopian Christian forced by his mother to take the identity of a Jewish boy who died, so he can be rescued from their refugee camp in the Sudan, and be resettled in Israel. A rather long movie, but very well done. The final scene is one that I will probably remember forever. Kudos!
Harlequin68 Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
January 28, 2010
"Live and Become" starts in the 1980's as Ethiopian Jews are allowed to immigrate to Israel but first must complete a hazardous trek to Sudan, and many die along the way. Hana(Mimi Abonesh Kebede) survives to make it to a refugee camp, host to a mixture of religions, but her son does not. Wanting her son to live and thrive elsewhere, a Christian mother(Meskie Shibru Sivan) passes her son off as Jewish, giving him to Hana to take with her to Israel, where he is now known as Schlomo(Moshe Agazai). He is again abandoned in Israel when Hana succumbs to sickness. So, he acts out in school, even making a futile attempt to walk back to his home country and mother. In order to provide him stability, the authorities allow him to be adopted by Yael(Yael Abecassis) and Yoram(Roschdy Zem), a kind leftist couple.

"Live and Become" is an emotionally complex movie about identity that has a couple of false steps(literally) but otherwise smartly handles the material in epic style. And Israel, for better or for worse a country of immigrants and good intentions, is the perfect setting for such a thorough examination. Difficult as it is for immigrants to adjust to their new country, it does not help when there is resistance from those already there who might see them as either strange or invaders, not liking their skin color or language, even if they share the same religion.(Regardless, we are all the same.) Yael and Yoram handle this situation better than most, even if they may seem condescending at first, aiding Schlomo who is in a harder position than most. Their peaceful humanism contrasts with Israel's recent conflicted history.
Michael9636 Michael9636 December 26, 2006
Fascinating movie set against the backdrop of Israel's importation of large numbers of Ethiopian Jews. The resulting clash of cultures is not always easy to watch.
Srood T October 18, 2014
go, live and become! out of breath.
TheFeldster TheFeldster July 5, 2014
This French film manages to adequately tell a story of a young boy who has to pretend to be Jewish to immigrate to Israel, but the film is let down by an indifferent tone, a bloated runtime and a lack of focus.

The story begins when Shlomo is a 9 year old boy fleeing war-torn Ethiopia for the fabled "Promised Land" of Jerusalem, under the pretense of a Jewish orphan. As the story continues, we see him adjust to adoption, grow up, find love, find his identity, gain a doctors degree, get married, join the Army, nearly die, become a father and reunite with his birth mother. It's a lot of things, and even with a 2 hour 30 minute runtime, there's not enough time for the film to greatly flesh out many of these concepts, leaving the film episodic in nature.

But, on the other hand, the performances are top-notch, and the underlying themes of racism and acceptance are promoted and dissected satisfactorily.

A decent, but not spectacular, film.
Cheewai L January 20, 2014
This film has got every bit done right. Excellent!
Carlo R ½ December 11, 2013
Radu Mihaileanu intenta lograr una película asombrosa, densa y hasta épica, pero se queda en el camino.
En ocasiones resulta tediosa, pero en general, la película no se siente tan larga como su duración. Se intenta abarcar toda una vida en 2 horas y media y, sin embargo, se logra sólo parcialmente y de manera no tan adecuada, ya que a veces pareciera que algunas cosas fluyen muy rápido, que los saltos entre las etapas de la vida del personaje son demasiado amplios, y que hacen falta más explicaciones o detalles para lo que sucede.
En algunas escenas, se perciben ciertos aires de amateurismo, como por ejemplo, en la escena final, que pudiendo ser increíblemente sentimental, terminan siendo ligeramente patética.
Un punto que vale la pena destacar es la emocional banda sonora que encaja perefectamente con las aspiraciones e intenciones del director con esta cinta; en ocasiones, la música resulta ser mejor que las imágenes, y sin embargo, ésta última jamás le quita protagonismo a lo que sucede en pantalla, sino que la acompaña de una manera espléndida.
Las actuaciones y la fotografía son bastante regulares y no es algo que destaque en el filme.
En el aspecto que sí no falla es en mostrar las dificultades por las que tienen que pasar las personas para superar situaciones que están prácticamente fuera de sus manos, situaciones que la suerte les brindó y en adentrarnos a este importante periodo histórico entre Etiopía e Israel.
Si no te importa la duración de la película, es algo recomendable, pero aún así, no es una cinta espectacular.
Serena F ½ August 19, 2013
quando altra gente mi consiglia i film finisco sempre per odiarli a priori anche se sono belli perché odio me stessa per non averli scoperti prima (capito?): questo fa frignare e affronta un tema semi sconosciuto a penso tutta la popolazione mondiale (me compresa) tranne gli etiopi, ossia quello dei falascia (che sarebbero gli ebrei etiopi). quindi sì, my kind of movie.
Yoseph B January 3, 2013
For me it shows how Ethiopian Jews are handled to this day in Israel..he was basically sold like the Biblical Joseph by his mother, faced all sorts of racism and rejection but managed to assimilate himself through the help of others...most of the Black Jews who have been practicing the Old Judaism for centuries went from Ethiopia to Israel thinking that they will be treated equally and live peacefully in the land promised by God but what they found was that they have a long way to go before they can become accepted as a real Brother!! Go, See, and Come!!
Jonathan K December 17, 2012
It's not spectacular but has its moments. The characters are notably true to life. Although understated, what the film does manage to say is that religious and racial identities are never cleanly compartmentalized, and that while we can fight for those areas where we have crossover in hopes to feel a sense of belonging, we all share, always, that we are human and have the capacity to love.
Jerome R July 23, 2012
Beautiful tale a lesson in modern history and emotional turmoil in one.
David H. David H. February 24, 2011
Definitive one of My Favourite Movies!!! Hell of a Combination of a Racist Drama and Neo Realismo!!! The Tragic Story of a Ethiopian who pretend to be a Jew and get more Jewish than the Jews but never accepted by them!!! Bitter Critic on the Destinity of the Ethiopian Jews. Racism in Israel and the Gruesome of Humanity but also full of Hope!!! Bombastic Cinematography, Soundtrack and Acting!!! This is the Most Tear-Droping Movie i ever saw!!!
Daniel B February 17, 2011
Amazing movie - one of the best I have seen in a while
Richard C December 31, 2010
I enjoyed this coming of age film very much
Harlequin68 Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
January 28, 2010
"Live and Become" starts in the 1980's as Ethiopian Jews are allowed to immigrate to Israel but first must complete a hazardous trek to Sudan, and many die along the way. Hana(Mimi Abonesh Kebede) survives to make it to a refugee camp, host to a mixture of religions, but her son does not. Wanting her son to live and thrive elsewhere, a Christian mother(Meskie Shibru Sivan) passes her son off as Jewish, giving him to Hana to take with her to Israel, where he is now known as Schlomo(Moshe Agazai). He is again abandoned in Israel when Hana succumbs to sickness. So, he acts out in school, even making a futile attempt to walk back to his home country and mother. In order to provide him stability, the authorities allow him to be adopted by Yael(Yael Abecassis) and Yoram(Roschdy Zem), a kind leftist couple.

"Live and Become" is an emotionally complex movie about identity that has a couple of false steps(literally) but otherwise smartly handles the material in epic style. And Israel, for better or for worse a country of immigrants and good intentions, is the perfect setting for such a thorough examination. Difficult as it is for immigrants to adjust to their new country, it does not help when there is resistance from those already there who might see them as either strange or invaders, not liking their skin color or language, even if they share the same religion.(Regardless, we are all the same.) Yael and Yoram handle this situation better than most, even if they may seem condescending at first, aiding Schlomo who is in a harder position than most. Their peaceful humanism contrasts with Israel's recent conflicted history.
M E. M E. December 14, 2009
Live and Become by Radu Mihaileanu was released out in 2005.
I enjoyed this movie because it?s a human movie which deals Israël and Ethiopia.
The relationship between the mun and the son who is adopted is very moving. And it is a beautiful love story.
pierrejcd pierrejcd ½ January 14, 2008
What a movie! I have seen it 3 times! It has won many awards and for good reasons! Some Jews might not like it as it shows some Jews as racists and some Muslims might not like it, but that is the point of this movie! This Christian kid adapted! He cooperated! He made compromises!
Page 1 of 16