Vamps - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Vamps Reviews

Page 1 of 1
Jason Best
Movie Talk
September 21, 2014
Evidently made on the cheap, notwithstanding the surprisingly classy cast, Vamps is a bit of a mess, but there's sweetness and wit here, too, making this a movie worth sinking your teeth into.
Todd Jorgenson
Cinemalogue.com
November 22, 2012
At times, Heckerling's script feels as though it's been sitting in a coffin, as the film takes on a campy tone with its endless array of anachronistic sight gags and one-liners.
Frederic and Mary Ann Brussat
Spirituality and Practice
November 13, 2012
A playful flick about two female vampires, city life and the huge role of screens in our lives.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Ben Kenigsberg
Time Out Chicago
November 9, 2012
A satire with much of the wit of her [Heckerling's] 1995 Clueless.
Top Critic
John DeFore
Hollywood Reporter
November 7, 2012
Cheesy but chipper vampire comedy has modest charms.
Sandie Angulo Chen
Common Sense Media
November 6, 2012
Vampire comedy has cute moments but lacks bite.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
John Anderson
Variety
November 6, 2012
In an era transfixed by zombies and assorted other ghouls, Vamps is a refreshing change of pace.
Staci Layne Wilson
Horror.com
November 6, 2012
While it did feel more like an extended sitcom to me than an actual film, I must say I found it fun.
Steve Biodrowski
Cinefantastique
November 5, 2012
In Amy Herckerling's film, being a vampire is ordinary rather than remarkable - which pretty much describes VAMPS.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Mark Olsen
Los Angeles Times
November 1, 2012
"Vamps" is mostly a misfire, but Heckerling still shows enough flashes of wit and wisdom that she remains hard to entirely dismiss.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Top Critic
Melissa Anderson
Village Voice
November 1, 2012
Vamps sends up our pop cultural fascination with bloodsucking but is itself a bit stiff with rigor mortis.
Top Critic
Rachel Saltz
New York Times
November 1, 2012
Aging is probably the real theme here, but it's approached sidelong and has no punch. Still, only the nostalgia has any real conviction.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Eric Kohn
indieWIRE
November 1, 2012
"Vamps" teeters on the brink of not quite working and yet still routinely lands its laughs.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Brian Orndorf
Blu-ray.com
November 1, 2012
Bold, ambitious, but it's rarely funny. Heckerling works to squeeze out a few laughs along the way, but the punchlines are soggy and the situations a little too cartoonish at times, resembling a sketch comedy show about vampires.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Scott Tobias
AV Club
November 1, 2012
[This] shambling little comedy never finds a consistent groove, but it's eager to please, and has the ancient gags to do it.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Eric Hynes
Time Out New York
October 31, 2012
The film's comedic potential is defanged by a pervading tone of embittered nostalgia. Goody doesn't mock our smartphone-loving society with barbed affection-she just wants it to go away.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Andrew Schenker
Slant Magazine
October 28, 2012
A sense of anachronism is what provides the film with its melancholy heart.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Page 1 of 1