Vanity Fair - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Vanity Fair Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 29, 2010
Lovely literary adaptation with class issues, battle scenes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
April 18, 2009
From the ostentatious costumes by designer Beatrix Aruna Pasztor ("Wonder Boys") to the annoying male hairstyles that permeate every scene, "Vanity Fair" is a movie that depends on its overall visual effect to hypnotize audiences into overlooking the film
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Rob Gonsalves
eFilmCritic.com
July 25, 2007
Yay! England sucks and India is cool! Well, except for that troublesome caste system, of course.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Prairie Miller
Long Island Press
May 15, 2007
In Vanity Fair's universe without heroes, shameless central character Becky Sharp would have surely felt supremely at home stuck on Temptation Island, or in the boardroom of The Apprentice.
Full Review
Camerin Courtney
Christianity Today
November 10, 2006
To our utter delight, these stories and messages are told with superb acting, amazing costumes that burst with color and texture, and dazzling locales.
| Original Score: 3/4
November 27, 2005
Es una sólida adaptación de la novela de Thackeray por la que bien vale la pena pagar el boleto.
| Original Score: 3/4
Mark Pfeiffer
Reel Times: Reflections on Cinema
April 14, 2005
Becky's adept maneuvering through upper society's pitfalls is sometimes muddled from too many characters and too little explanation, but Witherspoon remains fun to watch...
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
February 4, 2005
Not at all the stiff costume drama bore I thought this movie was going to be.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Staci Layne Wilson
Fantastica Daily
February 2, 2005
Witherspoon is the only thing that kept me watching Vanity Fair even as my eyelids morphed into anvils.
Jeffrey Overstreet
Looking Closer
December 31, 2004
Lacking a character we really care about, we're left floundering in a mud puddle of human misbehavior. [But] the performances are all impressive.
| Original Score: B-
Mark Palermo
Coast (Halifax, Nova Scotia)
November 25, 2004
As Vanity Fair rests unsteadily between floral elegance and grim satire, Mira Nair's auteurist touches keep it engaging as it fails to get a grip on Thackeray's scope.
Full Review
Jordan Hiller
Bangitout.com
November 23, 2004
In Vanity Fair, Witherspoon presents a complex character beautifully, even when her character's choices vastly depart from her own values.
Full Review | Original Score: 3
Emanuel Levy
EmanuelLevy.Com
November 14, 2004
Reese Witherspoon is miscast in this poor adaptation of the popular novel.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
October 19, 2004
Even though the central stories are compelling, dividing the film between them means we never have anyone to grab hold of.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Jules Brenner
Cinema Signals
October 6, 2004
It has all the feel of a clone.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
Jackie K. Cooper
jackiekcooper.com
October 4, 2004
I knew Scarlett O'Hara and you, Ms Witherspoon, are no Scarlett O'Hara
Full Review| Original Score: 5/10
Mark Collette
Tyler Morning Telegraph (Texas)
September 26, 2004
The director's vision seems as obstructed by affectation as the vision of the classist characters in her film.
| Original Score: 2/4
David N. Butterworth
Movie Boeuf
September 20, 2004
Reese's piece certainly looks good, it's just not terribly engaging.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Tony Medley
tonymedley.com
September 18, 2004
Although long and disjointed, with characters...from Gone With the Wind, and burdened by (terrible) audio..., Vanity Fair is an entertaining film that held my interest.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
September 17, 2004
Nair... revels in Thackeray's lampooning of genteel class warfare...
Page 1 of 9