Opening

90% Guardians of the Galaxy Aug 01
81% Get On Up Aug 01
88% Calvary Aug 01
0% Behaving Badly Aug 01
36% Child Of God Aug 01

Top Box Office

59% Lucy $43.9M
63% Hercules $29.8M
91% Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes $16.8M
57% The Purge: Anarchy $10.5M
44% Planes: Fire And Rescue $9.5M
18% Sex Tape $6.1M
17% Transformers: Age of Extinction $4.7M
16% And So It Goes $4.6M
24% Tammy $3.5M
90% A Most Wanted Man $2.7M

Coming Soon

—— Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Aug 08
88% Step Up: All In Aug 08
—— Into The Storm Aug 08
—— The Hundred-Foot Journey Aug 08
87% What If Aug 08

Premieres Tonight

90% The Honorable Woman: Season 1

New Episodes Tonight

100% Defiance: Season 2
40% Dominion: Season 1
41% Gang Related: Season 1
86% Maron: Season 2
56% Married: Season 1
94% Rectify: Season 2
—— Rookie Blue: Season 5
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
85% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
41% Working the Engels: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
50% Jennifer Falls: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
—— Rogue: Season 2
100% Suits: Season 4
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
—— Wilfred: Season 4
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

Videodrome Reviews

Page 2 of 131
July 31, 2014
Wierd but still affcting and haunting, with a creepy score to add too the sickening nature of the picture. It is ambigous, and represents something bigger than it appear too be. Even though it is hard to connect too and understand, it is still an entertaining gore fest.
March 3, 2014
Some of the greatest high concept science fiction I have seen complimented with bold, daring special effects.
July 7, 2014
Presented on Blu-ray by The Criterion Collection, David Cronenberg's Videodrome is one of the strangest films I have ever seen. The practical effects are fantastic, providing imagery that won't leave my head for a long time. The bizarre visuals and storyline, aided by the great James Woods in the lead role, make this a must-see film for fans of fantasy and horror.
No Name
July 6, 2014
Death too Videodrome. Long live the new flesh.
June 18, 2014
The movie has a Cronenberg feel from its beggining, and from that very first second it traps you in the bizzare world and situation that the main character encounters. As the movies plot unravels, so does the weirdness and the almosty total uncertainty regarding reality and the hallucinations, and it all makes for a very entretaining and bizzarre movie with all the political and social commentary as you would expect from the mind of David Cronenberg.
July 5, 2011
The epitome of psychological horror, Videodrome is part satire (on sensationalistic cable television of the early 1980s), part body horror (thank you, Rick Baker), part science fiction horror story (brain tumors have something to do with this), and part cyberpunk (intercepting the airwaves to show us how technology can ruin us). Most importantly, it's all good movie.

This is an absolutely bone-chilling movie. While I can barely remember the era of sensationalistic cable TV (my dad had a descrambler, if I recall correctly, so I used to watch Beavis and Butt-head and Aeon Flux late nights), I know how frightening it for somebody to go into the world and be confronted with all of these horrifying images.

As for the sexuality, I see it not as a warning against BDSM, but more or less a warning against sexualizing violence. We tend to sexualize it, unwillingly or willingly, so what ends up happening is that violence becomes erotic in a sense. Of course, when something is erotic, it sells, therefore violence sells as much as sex. You wonder why all the TV on news is dark? You wonder why people want death to Islam and not just have peaceful negotiations? Violence sells, dear boy. And at the heart of that greed sits a proto-Videodrome.

While Videodrome depicts a very surreal and extreme situation by which its entire existence is a conspiracy led by a glasses manufacturer and a satellite-TV phreak, the idea of turning TV from a cold medium (the passive medium) to a hot medium (the active medium) is needed in order to make TV important and to lessen the impact of this erotic violence. In a sense, switching TV's priorities from passiveness to activeness is taking on an entirely new flesh. It is, in a way, adopting a new religion. People want their TV to be passive - they don't want to feel guilty about the porn and violence they see on the screen. If you make TV active, you "take the fun and mystery out of the medium."

And here, David Cronenberg's saying "are fun and mystery worth the deaths of people? Are they worth heartbreak and psychological torment? To me, that's an important issue to bring up.

To think that this horror-film flop from 1983 could actually be this cerebral...
June 26, 2014
Videodrome is one of those movies that was not very succesful when it was first released and was panned by critics, but later gained a cult following especially among horror-fans, who see it as being one of the greatest horror-films ever made. So, do i share the same opinion? Well, yes and no.

James Woods plays Tv-programmer Max Renn(great preformance!) who one day discorvers a tv-signal which transmits a violent program called 'Videodrome'. Max sees potential in the program and becomes more obsessed with it. But it turns out that there is something else with this little program something which could turn out to be something that is much more disturbing and twisted than he would ever have imagined.

And then some weird stuff starts to happen.

It's a very clever and interesting premise, but unfortunately the film for me has some problems consirning it's story-structure, and the way it explores it's ideas can get a bit clunky. I also find the side-characters to be quite forgettable and one-dimentionel compared to James woods' character. But having said all that, where this movie really shines is within the subtext.

The film has a very frightning and thought-provoking messange on how the media has made us more desensitized towards violence and since the movie came out in the early 80's at the birth of the home-video market, it also ask some very interresting quenstions. Fx is technology going to make us even more desensitized, since it's making it easier for us to gain acces to violent materials? To me that makes Videodrome's message even more relevant today since we now have an easier way to gain acces to violence than we ever had before since the internet came along.

On the visual side the film is also quite stunning. The special effects are fantastic and very creative, especially for 1983, being all practicle, which is awesome.

You can tell that there is a lot that i found facenating about this movie and it is also a film that i can admire and appreciate as a horror-fan, but it's a film that is a bit hard for me to love, givin it's poor characters and story.

So even tough i found this movie to be a litlle over-appreciated by some people and a lot more stronger underneath than on the surface and is in my opinion far from David Cronenberg's best film, i do think it is a movie that is worth watching just for it's message alone. So 3.5/5 from me :)
June 21, 2014
Weird and campy...in the best possible way. Excellent surreal special effects as well.
June 7, 2014
Exploring the effects of reality television before it was really a thing, Videodrome looks at how the media uses violence to manipulate and control. Like the program it is named after, Videodrome holds a fascination, but falls apart a bit as it delves into conspiracy theories. There is some great body horror imagery, however, blurring the line between the biological and technological. It just needs a bit more cohesion.
June 6, 2014
The technology looks completely outdated for a modern day viewing, but the premise is interesting enough, although increasingly surreal as the techno-horror plot unfolds.
Cle S.
May 25, 2014
A very interesting science fiction horror movie by one of cinema's most innovative directors, David Cronenberg. At times it's a bit slow, but towards the end it develops into a traumatic nightmare with a dash of gore. It proves to be another great example for modern media criticism. "Death to Videodrome! Long live the new flesh!"
hipsterfilmreviews
May 3, 2014
Warning:
Misogyny
Sexualized violence
Violence
Rape culture
April 19, 2014
In many ways, Videodrome is Cronenberg's most audacious working of his characteristic themes, one that is very disturbing, provocative and thought provoking.
April 19, 2014
One of the best sci-fi films of all time, in my opinion. Deeply examines the repurcussions of hot and cold media, and pushes the philiosophy of techno genesis in a literal way that's haunting and creative.
April 12, 2014
Another great Cronenberg... body horror + media consumption= one of his best
April 12, 2014
I'm really not sure what to make of this film. A lot of it feels like a product of the times with a message and gratuity that is now lost or altogether underwhelming. It's weird and cynical, but does that make it good? Well, it certainly has some interesting effects that have stood the test of time in an interesting way, but its lack of a cohesive narrative (and lack of any real attempts to create one) make it a very unapproachable film. It tried to do things I haven't seen before, and held some moderate success, but not enough that I can really recommend it. If you want to know what David Cronenberg's all about, this might be a good place to start.
March 22, 2014
Intriguing concept - Woods is a video pirate who encounters a hidden snuff film broadcast, which turns out to have subliminal signals that mess with the mind - is an ominous warning of the dangers of video at a time video distribution was gaining popularity, and has some interesting prescient touches for modern viewers. However, the film is somewhat confusing (purposefully so), and is ultimately let down by dull pacing anyway (made worse by Howard Shore's turgid score). Very icky special effects are a highlight for fans of body horror, at which director Cronenberg excels.
January 30, 2010
Baffling, pretentious, body shock horror sci-fi from David Cronenberg.
October 14, 2010
It may be a product of its time, but it was also ahead of its time in many ways. It's a hell of an experience, that's for sure.
Page 2 of 131
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile