The Vikings - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Vikings Reviews

Page 1 of 13
michael e.
Super Reviewer
½ December 31, 2010
Not bad
Super Reviewer
September 5, 2010
This is a cool movie about Vikings as played by Douglas and Curtis. The movie is really exciting and the story is great, it's pretty accurate, and very dramatic as well. I enjoyed this movie.
Super Reviewer
June 1, 2010
Just a great epic that never lost it's sense of fun and imagination. A lot of that goes to Kirk Douglas who is the epitome of the legendary Viking, he's a brutal drunken savage. However, he's also a great character and full of emotion rather than being just a stereotype. What also makes it great is the amazing set design, costumes and score. On top of that, the story is so well done and not typical of just another love & war story. The castle invasion is probably one of the greatest battle scenes, you don't get better action than that.
rubystevens
Super Reviewer
½ November 22, 2009
i'm not a fan of 50s historical epics at all but this has to be one of the best out there. i'm sure it's utter nonsense but it IS fun. ernest borgnine as a viking king sounded ridiculous to me before i saw it but i have to say his performance is one of the highlights. why aren't there more films about vikings?
Super Reviewer
May 27, 2008
A recipe for two hours of marvellous entertainment:-
1) Take two feuding half-brothers (Kirk Douglas and Tony Curtis) plus one falcon. Remove one eye. Add two ripe melons (Janet Leigh) and simmer for about one hour.
2) Then, combine one 'Fatso' Judson (Ernest Borgnine) with a pit of ravenous wolves and stir vigorously with a sword. Leave to enter Valhalla.
3) Bellow "Odin!!!" and serve.

Joking aside, "The Vikings" is just about the best of its kind and, as a Douglas/Curtis historical epic, nine times out of ten I would rather watch this than "Spartacus"! Curtis is a bit too surly and taciturn to elicit much audience sympathy, but Douglas makes the most of one of his best villainous roles and Janet Leigh rarely looked lovelier. Photographed on location in Norway by Powell and Pressburger's ace cameraman, Jack Cardiff, the movie is often breathtakingly beautiful to look at. If you like this, try Chuck Heston and Franklin Schaffner's "The War Lord" ("The Warlord" on Flixster).
Super Reviewer
August 13, 2007
the "spartacus" pairing of douglas and curtis together for some sword and sandal, sackcloth costume wearing, teeth gritting action all the way...solid entertainment any way you look at it!
Super Reviewer
July 28, 2007
MUCH better than I expected it to be. This story of a Viking warrior (Kirk Douglas) who loves a captive Welsh princess (Janet Leigh) who loves another warrior (Tony Curtis) is much grittier and dirtier than most period films made in Hollywood in the 1950's, which were all clean clothes, beautful sets and shiny teeth. More 13th Warrior than Three Musketeers. Ernest Borgnine was born to play the Viking king. Definitely worth a look.
Super Reviewer
½ February 19, 2010
Well made but very forgettable.
jimbotender
Super Reviewer
½ March 1, 2009
The craft of Fleischer's adventures is the exploitation he slams in each and every film of his.Historical allusions often make ingenious appearances,aha!The difference however of the current production of "swords and sandals" is the cheesiness of it.Gladiator in front of Vikings is like a child sucking from its mother's breast!!!!
constanzaboutter
Super Reviewer
½ February 27, 2009
Spectacular epic. Ernest Borgnine, at the mercy of wicked monarch Frank Thring, defiantly throws himself into a pit of ravenous wolves.
DrLappos
Super Reviewer
September 18, 2007
OMG What a brillaint film........
May 17, 2015
As the film began it seemed to me that it was a typical 50's epic without any of the directorial wit of Curtiz, Wyler, DemIlle, etc. While the directing isn't sharp, it at least has plenty of verve. The rest of of the production makes up for the weak directing with glorious Technicolor, beautiful location shots, and the obviously big budget costumes and props. It's a 50's spectacle film for sure, but Kirk Douglas's performance makes it something more. As great as Leigh, Curtis, and Borgnine are; they're mostly ho-hum characters with little interest. It's Douglas's performance as the womanizing brawny man that gives the picture serious spice. Douglas is so complex and brilliant that by the end you're rooting for HIM to beat Curtis's good character! It's partly the writing that ensures Douglas is not stereotyped like his co-stars, but its mainly his spirited personality that makes us love him. It's the same genius of his that one can see on display in other films like Wilder's "Ace in the Hole" or Kubrick's "Paths of Glory."
December 29, 2014
Protect us Oh Lord from the wrath of the north men.

Einar and Eric are secretly brothers separated at birth due to tragic events in history. They are strong Viking men, but one brother is from nobility and one is a slave. When a seat of power becomes available, they both are eager to claim the crown. There is an added bonus for the winner, the hand of Princess Morgana. The two brothers will do everything in their power to obtain these prizes.

"Is this the way slaves talk to Vikings?"

Richard Fleischer, director of Tora Tora Tora, Conan the Destroyer, 20,000 Leagues under the Sea, Red Sonja, Mr. Majestyk, See No Evil, and Doctor Dolittle (1967), delivers The Vikings. The storyline for this picture is just okay and seemed like a poor man's version of the Greek mythology movies from this time (Jason and the Argonauts, Clash of the Titans, etc). The acting was solid and the cast is an impressive list of names including Kirk Douglas, Henry Fonda, Tony Curtis, Janet Leigh, and James Donald.

"His words cannot hurt you."

I came across this film on Turner Classic Movies (TCM) and saw the cast and had to DVR it. Unfortunately, this was just relatively interesting and worth following. I was hoping for more from this film and thought the cast would deliver an epic darkage picture; unfortunately, this was kind of bland. Overall, this may be worth watching once but I wouldn't go too far out of my way to see this.

Grade: C+
June 18, 2013
Pretty solid but i was hoping for a little more epicness. Its hard to believe pretty boy tony curtus can hang in a fight with the strapping kurk douglas. Janet Leigh looks great in this movie and i want to nominate earnest borgnine for the greatest laugh in film history. Its the story is oedipus with a few tweaks.
½ March 13, 2013
a cult classic for certain. It has the same level of brotherly comradeship found in Errol Flynn's Robin Hood. The acting is good and the soundtrack is unusually good for a film of that era. The cinematography is pretty good as well. Really, I think that the major things holding this film back are weak direction and a rather lacking script. I find Tony Curtis to be very boring in general and this film was another manifestation of that.

I would like to put in a good word for the woolly boots that the Vikings wear. The costume department did a superb job with those. All of the costumes were very good come to think of it.

Possibly the biggest selling point for this film is that it FELT like Vikings all the way through. They kept talking about Odin and other cultural things which gave the film a ton of charm.
½ July 27, 2011
Here is a fun film that is easy to digest yet features some worthwhile action and two-fisted acting from the likes of Ernest Borgnine, Tony Curtis and Janet Leigh. But it's Kirk Douglas himself that steals the show as an over-the-top viking with one good eye. He practically eats the scenery up with a knife and fork while all others are helpless but to surrender to the power of Kirk Douglas. It's a ripping yarn through and through.
May 17, 2010
What a great movie. The RT ratings are baffling, as this is precisely how you make a good movie. Sweeping epic, big battle scenes (knights vs vikings!), great characters and performances. In some points it slows down a bit too much, but it is still an extremely fun and engaging ride.

8 or 8.5
December 5, 2007
What a great movie. Drinkin', killin', fuckin', Janet Leigh's spectacular rack, Borgnine, Douglas, amazing scenery, a wolf pit?

Let me put it this way. If you don't like this movie you are a dick and I hate you.
½ August 16, 2007
One of the many many many movies Kirk Douglas did that had more homoerotic overtones than anything else.
Super Reviewer
½ February 19, 2010
Well made but very forgettable.
Page 1 of 13