The Village - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Village Reviews

Page 1 of 11
Kevin Carr
Fat Guys at the Movies
January 17, 2016
different than anything else that's playing at the moment
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Nell Minow
Common Sense Media
December 29, 2010
Thought-provoking thriller too intense for some.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Felix Vasquez Jr.
Cinema Crazed
April 29, 2009
Gripping, creepy, and very well acted with a great breakout performance from Bryce Dallas Howard...
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
October 18, 2008
M. Night Shyamalan keeps the story vague enough to work up to his plot twist, and while I won't reveal it here, I will say that I don't think the payoff is worth it.
Jim Lane
Sacramento News & Review
August 7, 2008
Shyamalan remains ever the master of mood and of unseen, inchoate menace; he can give depth and gravity to scenes that in other hands would be either boring or ridiculous.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Steve Biodrowski
ESplatter
July 4, 2008
The Village is not completely awful, but it comes closer than one would like to admit.
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound
December 27, 2007
The would-be surprise only makes you rethink the reason you went to see the movie in the first place.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Christopher Smith
Bangor Daily News (Maine)
August 5, 2007
Village idiot.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Lisa Ann Cockrel
Christianity Today
November 10, 2006
In a time when Hollywood is more interested in remakes and sequels than in original movies, Shyamalan continues to tell new stories. And he's really good at it.
| Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Anthony Lane
New Yorker
July 22, 2006
Dangerously dour.
David Medsker
Bullz-Eye.com
July 5, 2005
I'm not sure exactly why I'm protecting the Shocking Twist, because it certainly doesn't deserve to be protected.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/5
Nick Schager
Lessons of Darkness
May 4, 2005
It's hard to care about situations that have been designed only to obscure the ultimate twist.
Full Review | Original Score: F
Garth Franklin
Dark Horizons
April 2, 2005
Picturesque, slightly haunting but silly in a frustrating way.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Brian Juergens
Freeze Dried Movies
April 1, 2005
A timely mention of the ways that violence begets violence, and in how effective terror can be in keeping people under control.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Ethan Alter
NYC Film Critic
March 5, 2005
Shyamalan can't brings himself to abandon the familiar. Until he does, however, he's just going to keep coming back with diminishing returns.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
February 5, 2005
It is not a bad film, despite its goofy plot, thanks to top-flight acting.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Alan Dale
Blogcritics.org
January 13, 2005
[The love story] between the two young, uncorrupted stars suffuses the entire movie and has made me forgive, if not forget, the movie's flaws.
Jeffrey Overstreet
Looking Closer
December 31, 2004
... a Sleepy Hollow-like folk tale that is light on character development and heavy on symbolism and suggestion.
| Original Score: B
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
December 27, 2004
...an enigma to which each viewer must bring something and from which each viewer will most likely take something away. In my case, I brought a lot more than I took away.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/10
John W. Bowen
Rue Morgue Magazine
November 9, 2004
Still one inventive, scary and heartfelt movie.
Full Review
Page 1 of 11