La virgen de la lujuria (The Virgin of Lust) - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

La virgen de la lujuria (The Virgin of Lust) Reviews

Page 1 of 1
jimbotender
Super Reviewer
½ March 5, 2009
The profane example "de passion" at the eve of the new century.A showcasing performance for Gil,Ripstein's possibly final so far artistic masochism,damn,there are references to wrestling and Franco altogether!Crazy innuendos but the result is quite extraordinary.
June 4, 2007
The story itself had potential but the director draged it out so long that you start to lose interest in the movie. I personaly couldn't wait till it was over.

This is a classic example of why they have movie editors.
June 3, 2007
a very slow paced movie with decent themes and moments of surrealism great cinematography but the story itself does tend to carry on and linger
November 4, 2011
no esta muy buena que digamos
June 5, 2011
Very personal work from one of Mexico's finest director. Good production values and good performances from all the cast.
½ September 3, 2010
Hot whore has great legs but no heart. There is a lot of foot-licking, but things never get very steamy. Mostly revolutionaries talk and burst into odd musical interludes, The Mikado, mostly. The style seems a bit intriguing in the beginning, but the sex/politics allegory never really grabbed me.
jimbotender
Super Reviewer
½ March 5, 2009
The profane example "de passion" at the eve of the new century.A showcasing performance for Gil,Ripstein's possibly final so far artistic masochism,damn,there are references to wrestling and Franco altogether!Crazy innuendos but the result is quite extraordinary.
December 16, 2007
Amazing shots. The lighting was superb but the sets became a bit repetitive after 30 minutes. The story was interesting but the dialogues a bit too long to the point of having to fastforward a bit so I could still look at the picture without having to hear the sometimes boring dialogues. I didn't get the singing in the middle of the dialogues. It didn't strike me as a musical. Ripstein is a master of cinematography but his movies are sometimeas heavy.
August 10, 2007
A love story between a waiter and a prostitute. The context of the story is Mexico City during the Spanish exile. Great. The danzon at the end of the movie is the best.
July 17, 2007
Cinematography is fine, especially the choice of colors. Interestingly, secondary characters are more captivating than the protagonists. The logic linking the main themes: sex, communism, racism, power is unclear. And yee, it IS too long
June 17, 2007
ˇEsta cinta mexicana de Ripstein es formidable!
June 10, 2007
the fotography is awesome, the script is really good too. It's true.... it is way too long
June 4, 2007
The story itself had potential but the director draged it out so long that you start to lose interest in the movie. I personaly couldn't wait till it was over.

This is a classic example of why they have movie editors.
June 3, 2007
a very slow paced movie with decent themes and moments of surrealism great cinematography but the story itself does tend to carry on and linger
December 9, 2006
Yeah, i'd like to see this, i think!
September 20, 2006
hola k tal puez pazo a zaludarte y ezpero y te konectezjjkkhl
Page 1 of 1