We Are What We Are - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Are What We Are Reviews

Top Critic
Bill Stamets
Chicago Sun-Times
December 16, 2013
A family implodes with a biting commentary on patriarchy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Bill Goodykoontz
Arizona Republic
October 17, 2013
"We Are What We Are" is such a patient, trusting film it may take you a while to figure out it's a horror film.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Tirdad Derakhshani
Philadelphia Inquirer
October 11, 2013
We Are What We Are doesn't waste time with cheap scares. Mickle keeps his story on a steady, slow simmer, transporting us minute by minute into the very heart of dread.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Michael O'Sullivan
Washington Post
October 10, 2013
There's some fun to be had, as long as your idea of fun includes being grossed out.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
October 10, 2013
The movie stays elegantly restrained just long enough for the true horror of what they're doing to sink in.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Peter Keough
Boston Globe
October 10, 2013
A campy and sometimes elegant American Gothic horror story.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Ben Sachs
Chicago Reader
October 10, 2013
The original was nothing special, but at least it had a sense of humor and a modicum of social insight.
Top Critic
Walter V. Addiego
San Francisco Chronicle
October 3, 2013
The movie saves most of its modest number of jolts for its last quarter or so, which makes them all the more intense. They stick in your craw - and be warned, they're not for the squeamish.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Sara Stewart
New York Post
September 27, 2013
"We Are What We Are" is a first-rate example of good storytelling and well-timed - while not excessive - gore.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Betsy Sharkey
Los Angeles Times
September 26, 2013
Mickle never seems in a hurry, so there is time to take note of the detail. "We Are" is rich in that regard.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Jeannette Catsoulis
New York Times
September 26, 2013
It's all a little silly, but Mr. Mickle's restrained gravity stifles the impulse to laugh.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
September 26, 2013
At 72, Parks turns in one of the most tender performances of his career - before reminding us, in the end, that he's still a guy who can sit across a table and make you tremble in fear with a stony gaze.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.5/10
Top Critic
Jordan Hoffman
New York Daily News
September 26, 2013
A [horror] film where ambiance, glossy imagery and performance are more effective than the splatter.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
September 26, 2013
Plays less like a contemporary horror film than an increasingly gruesome drama, building to a climax-completely original to this version-where the movie's core themes are expressed through grotesque imagery.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Top Critic
Andrew O'Hehir
Salon.com
September 25, 2013
It's a sinister, wistful and even sad portrait of one family that has followed the insanity and bloodthirstiness of American history into a dark corridor with no exit.
Top Critic
Joshua Rothkopf
Time Out
September 24, 2013
Outside of its cracked psychology (well conveyed by papa Bill Sage), We Are What We Are is horror leftovers, neither inedible nor piping hot.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Pete Vonder Haar
Village Voice
September 24, 2013
It isn't until the ending, which turns the squirm amplifier up to 11 and exceeded even my horrific expectations, that we finally see the story's potential realized.
Top Critic
William Goss
Film.com
September 24, 2013
One of the best American horror films of the year.
Top Critic
James Rocchi
MSN Movies
May 20, 2013
We Are What We Are is a re-make that succeeds superbly while remaining true to the strange and sad intimately grotesque spirit of the original.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Guy Lodge
Variety
May 20, 2013
Genre buffs will dig in with gusto.
Top Critic
David Rooney
Hollywood Reporter
May 20, 2013
A refreshingly mature genre entry that plants queasy dread and unleashes a good dose of scares, tempering its gruesome bloodshed by wrapping it in serious-mindedness.