We Need to Talk About Kevin - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Need to Talk About Kevin Reviews

Page 3 of 10
Rob Thomas
Capital Times (Madison, WI)
March 2, 2012
I realize that, in praising the film, I've probably talked most readers out of seeing it. But it's an undeniably powerful piece of art that engages fully with its disturbing subject matter.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Jonathan W. Hickman
Daily Film Fix
March 2, 2012
Director Ramsay seems intent on scaring parents everywhere, but she also wants this cautionary tale to make us think too.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Top Critic
Rafer Guzman
Newsday
March 2, 2012
Ramsay may be aiming for a character study of Kevin, but she ends up merely listing the ingredients needed to make a murderer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Ann Hornaday
Washington Post
March 2, 2012
Lynne Ramsay's thoughtful, unnerving film works its strange power over viewers who are likely to find themselves as compelled as repelled by its fatally flawed key players.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
March 1, 2012
The narrative strategy amounts to little more than film-school strenuousness, and in the end it can't conceal the movie's essential crudeness - its coarse, artless dialogue, blank character writing and intellectual vacuity.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Aaron Yap
Flicks.co.nz
March 1, 2012
Imagine The Good Son re-dreamt by Nicolas Roeg, and you might have something close to Lynne Ramsay's We Need To Talk About Kevin...
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
March 1, 2012
Ramsay, filming in lurid reds and unblinking close-ups, lets no one off the hook here; this is truly a domestic horror story, with no easy answers and nobody blameless.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Top Critic
Rene Rodriguez
Miami Herald
March 1, 2012
Tilda Swinton is the star of We Need to Talk About Kevin, and her performance is so complex and volcanic and transfixing that all of the film's flaws melt away.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Laura Clifford
Reeling Reviews
February 29, 2012
...leans a little too far into the self consciously arty and the horror aspects of the tale at the expense of the psychological.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Liz Braun
Jam! Movies
February 10, 2012
The film investigates the world of parenting in a fashion far removed from the usual candy-coated vision of mommies-and-babies-in-love.
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
February 9, 2012
There's no equivocating ... over the excellence of the acting by Swinton and casting find Ezra Miller
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Marc Savlov
Austin Chronicle
February 3, 2012
We Need To Talk About Kevin is a modern American horror story, and one that in the wake of Columbine and other apparently random teen atrocities, strikes me as tremendously brave.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
February 2, 2012
I would be more willing to suspend my disbelief if the movie didn't drag me through this stupid psychological deterministic slime. While I do admire the filmmaking craft that went into it, the experience of watching it is less than satisfying.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Josh Larsen
LarsenOnFilm
January 31, 2012
The use of red is so overdone that you assume the color must be paying for some sort of product placement.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Richard Roeper.com
January 27, 2012
Nothing seared my consciousness like the stunning work from Tilda Swinton in "We Need to Talk About Kevin."
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Jeanne Kaplan
Kaplan vs. Kaplan
January 27, 2012
I am simply stupefied that Swinton was not given an Academy nomination. She is marvelous and heartbreakingly realistic.
David Kaplan
Kaplan vs. Kaplan
January 27, 2012
Commendable for an outstanding performance by Swinton and a chillingly robotic turn from Miller
Mark Dujsik
Mark Reviews Movies
January 27, 2012
Refuses to take the easy route and simply condemn Kevin as evil incarnate ... or pin the blame on whatever Eva may have done to help create him.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Peter Sobczynski
eFilmCritic.com
January 26, 2012
You will emerge from the theater with a need for a drink and a shower, a possible recalibration on your views regarding birth control and a burning desire to never see it again for as long as you live
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
J. R. Jones
Chicago Reader
January 26, 2012
The boy (played by a trio of child actors) is so unremittingly evil that the movie begins to feel like a grotesque remake of that old John Ritter comedy Problem Child.
Page 3 of 10