We Were Here - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

We Were Here Reviews

Page 2 of 5
½ February 24, 2015
Moving, heartfelt documentary that reflects on first hand accounts of the early days of the AIDS epidemic in San Francisco. This is an important piece of history that should never be forgotten and should be viewed for generations to come.
February 17, 2015
Survivors of the early days of the HIV/AIDS crisis tell their stories of survival. With a new more aggressive form of HIV spreading in Cuba, stories we can't afford to forget. CDW
February 7, 2015
Moral of the story? Politicians never get things right. Ever!
October 8, 2014
A moving portrait of five survivors of the devastation that was caused by AIDS in (mainly) the eighties and nineties in San Francisco. Recommended!
½ August 17, 2014
nothing particularly stood out about this doc. it was well-made enough, the subjects interesting enough, but nothing we haven't seen before, and no fresh perspective on an issue that frankly has had a lot of coverage. i think if the film had employed a few different efforts (rather than just talking heads for the whole thing) or at least tried to bring some fresh perspectives, or sense of personal urgency to the story, it would have fared better. as it stands, it's just reminiscing.
½ July 2, 2014
A historical documentary that chronicles the lives and times of some wonderful people who helped the gay community by not turning their backs during the early 80's when the "Gay Plague" hit. A very emotional ride but you will gain a stronger respect for those who helped hold the community together. Great Film.
½ April 9, 2014
We Were Here reveals a beautiful, horrible holocaust that has receded all too easily from memory. It's a revelation to recall that a majority of Americans now support gay marriage, and it's a tragedy to imagine that acceptance might not have come without such public suffering.

One of the harshest quotes in this movie full of love came from the mouth of a father of an AIDS victims in San Francisco: "It's harder for me to find out that my son is a fag than to find out that he's going to be dying soon"
½ January 5, 2014
It has the power to break your heart, and it earns your tears.
November 30, 2013
Fantastic documentary... and heartbreaking
Super Reviewer
November 27, 2013
An important and engaging documentary about the unimaginable horrors of the early years of AIDS. Although I had head some of this before from older friends, it provided a much better, more complete account of a harrowing time. It is easy to forget the pain and fears of others, or just to know them in a detached academic way. We should never forget that an entire community dying was reality for some people.
September 21, 2013
A very powerful documentary detailing how the AIDS epidemic affected San Francisco. This is a MUST viewing for anyone studying the history of the AIDS epidemic. Very powerful, moving, and emotional.
June 30, 2013
WE WERE HERE is a wonderful testament to what everyday people can achieve when their government, social programs, and medical establishment fail them. CONTAGION makes us believe the govt will step up and save us but anyone who lived through the peak of the AIDS crisis knows just how poorly the govt and most citizens behaved. Instead of fighting for a cure, bigotry and hatred reigned. WE WERE HERE shows us how a city, San Francisco, and it's citizens stood up and supported the ill in the most quotidian and extraordinary way. It may not be a great doc but it is a must-see that shows the sad reality and the amazing human spirit without pandering or sentimentality. Watch Weissman's THE COCKETTES, then TIMES OF HARVEY MILK, then WE WERE HERE and you will get an in-depth history of San Fran during a tumultuous time, the 60s-90s, that made San Fran great!
½ June 23, 2013
Quiet, thoughtful, positive, reverent.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
May 14, 2013
"We Were Here" is a simple, yet powerfully effective documentary history of the AIDS epidemic in San Francisco that creates a clear timeline of events, running from first rumors through effective treatment. This is told by a handful of survivors and eyewitnesses in their own words, recalling lost friends and loved ones, thus bringing such momentous events down to a deeply personal level. And the archival footage and photographs work well in tandem with this. Of particular interest is the valuable work of the lesbian community during the epidemic, previously a lesser partner in the larger gay community, rising to the occasion in more ways than one.(Correct me if I'm wrong but I think this was only glanced over in "And the Band Played On" by Randy Shilts.)
March 30, 2013
It was such a moving film on a subject that is rarely discussed (well for my generation at least) It's a part of history that more people should know about.
½ March 7, 2013
Holy crap this was so depressing. Phenomenal but not easy to watch sometimes.
February 18, 2013
A touching recount of the the rise of HIV and how everyone reacted. Relying mostly one talking heads and old news footage there is a small disconect from teh emotions for much of the film but come the end even l was moved. No really unique angle here or anything fresh brought forward but still touching film reflecting that era in san fran.
January 27, 2013
powerful statement on the early days of the AIDS epedimic and those who were on the front lines
November 6, 2011
A very moving story about the first generation of people that lived and died through the AIDS epidemic. Learn things you never knew about this tragedy but bring plenty of tissues, you'll need them... what an intense and brilliant tribute! xXx
Page 2 of 5