Opening

67% The Maze Runner Sep 19
—— A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
56% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
82% Tracks Sep 19
91% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

13% No Good Deed $24.3M
73% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
33% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
69% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

Premieres Tonight

—— Brickleberry: Season 3
—— The Mindy Project: Season 3
—— New Girl: Season 4

New Episodes Tonight

88% Finding Carter: Season 1
67% Matador: Season 1
83% Sons of Anarchy: Season 7

Discuss Last Night's Shows

71% Dallas: Season 3
62% Under the Dome: Season 2

We Were Here Reviews

Page 2 of 5
August 17, 2014
nothing particularly stood out about this doc. it was well-made enough, the subjects interesting enough, but nothing we haven't seen before, and no fresh perspective on an issue that frankly has had a lot of coverage. i think if the film had employed a few different efforts (rather than just talking heads for the whole thing) or at least tried to bring some fresh perspectives, or sense of personal urgency to the story, it would have fared better. as it stands, it's just reminiscing.
July 2, 2014
A historical documentary that chronicles the lives and times of some wonderful people who helped the gay community by not turning their backs during the early 80's when the "Gay Plague" hit. A very emotional ride but you will gain a stronger respect for those who helped hold the community together. Great Film.
April 9, 2014
We Were Here reveals a beautiful, horrible holocaust that has receded all too easily from memory. It's a revelation to recall that a majority of Americans now support gay marriage, and it's a tragedy to imagine that acceptance might not have come without such public suffering.

One of the harshest quotes in this movie full of love came from the mouth of a father of an AIDS victims in San Francisco: "It's harder for me to find out that my son is a fag than to find out that he's going to be dying soon"
January 5, 2014
It has the power to break your heart, and it earns your tears.
Christian C

Super Reviewer

November 27, 2013
An important and engaging documentary about the unimaginable horrors of the early years of AIDS. Although I had head some of this before from older friends, it provided a much better, more complete account of a harrowing time. It is easy to forget the pain and fears of others, or just to know them in a detached academic way. We should never forget that an entire community dying was reality for some people.
June 30, 2013
WE WERE HERE is a wonderful testament to what everyday people can achieve when their government, social programs, and medical establishment fail them. CONTAGION makes us believe the govt will step up and save us but anyone who lived through the peak of the AIDS crisis knows just how poorly the govt and most citizens behaved. Instead of fighting for a cure, bigotry and hatred reigned. WE WERE HERE shows us how a city, San Francisco, and it's citizens stood up and supported the ill in the most quotidian and extraordinary way. It may not be a great doc but it is a must-see that shows the sad reality and the amazing human spirit without pandering or sentimentality. Watch Weissman's THE COCKETTES, then TIMES OF HARVEY MILK, then WE WERE HERE and you will get an in-depth history of San Fran during a tumultuous time, the 60s-90s, that made San Fran great!
June 23, 2013
Quiet, thoughtful, positive, reverent.
Harlequin68
Harlequin68

Super Reviewer

May 14, 2013
"We Were Here" is a simple, yet powerfully effective documentary history of the AIDS epidemic in San Francisco that creates a clear timeline of events, running from first rumors through effective treatment. This is told by a handful of survivors and eyewitnesses in their own words, recalling lost friends and loved ones, thus bringing such momentous events down to a deeply personal level. And the archival footage and photographs work well in tandem with this. Of particular interest is the valuable work of the lesbian community during the epidemic, previously a lesser partner in the larger gay community, rising to the occasion in more ways than one.(Correct me if I'm wrong but I think this was only glanced over in "And the Band Played On" by Randy Shilts.)
March 30, 2013
It was such a moving film on a subject that is rarely discussed (well for my generation at least) It's a part of history that more people should know about.
March 7, 2013
Holy crap this was so depressing. Phenomenal but not easy to watch sometimes.
February 18, 2013
A touching recount of the the rise of HIV and how everyone reacted. Relying mostly one talking heads and old news footage there is a small disconect from teh emotions for much of the film but come the end even l was moved. No really unique angle here or anything fresh brought forward but still touching film reflecting that era in san fran.
January 27, 2013
powerful statement on the early days of the AIDS epedimic and those who were on the front lines
November 6, 2011
A very moving story about the first generation of people that lived and died through the AIDS epidemic. Learn things you never knew about this tragedy but bring plenty of tissues, you'll need them... what an intense and brilliant tribute! xXx
September 3, 2012
Eye-opening, dejecting and sad, highly informative and respectful of both its subjects and the sensitive subject matter at hand, We Were Here is a well put-together documentary about the early days at the epicenter of the AIDS epidemic -- early 1980s San Francisco, California. Told from the vantage point of five individuals who lived through and survived the harrowing decimation -- Ed Wolf, Guy Clark, Daniel Goldstein, Paul Boneberg and Eileen Glutzer -- the film chronicles their personal stories or triumph, woe and desperation that resulted from various political and social stances of the time. No matter the depth(s) of one's knowledge regarding the early days of the so-called "Gay Plague", We Were Here is a riveting documentary for anybody wanting to know more about the struggles of the gay community at this time and even those of America as a whole. That so many people stood aside within the government or a medical or religious communities because they were never going to be affected (OR effected) by this highly selective disease is/was shocking. One of the five "we's", Eileen Glutzer was a kind-hearted nurse who realized that NOT enough was being done for these "pariahs" and so she doubled-down her efforts to make those in local government aware of the dire problem. We Were Here is a personal documentary about these five individuals and what they encountered and who they lost. It does not go into how the epidemic was overcome by an eventual cooperation of a vast number of citizens who brought awareness and respect to the AIDS community by culling the early startling numbers to a less-startling number.
Declinex
September 4, 2012
An absolutely sad and heart wrenching documentary, I haven't cried over a movie in so long. 5 stars, best documentary, although saddest I've ever seen.
August 13, 2012
A splendid, haunting documentary about the 'gay cancer' outbreak in San Francisco's gay community. Known today as HIV/AIDS this film only interviews a select few men and one women, but there stories of perseverance are emotionally epic.
anomaly
August 6, 2012
A moving and significant piece of work that I wish was longer so I could hear even more stories about the decade that changed so many people's lives who lived through it.
July 23, 2012
sex sex sex sex sex, grow the fuck up. There is more to life than sex, read a book
July 15, 2012
We Were Here tells the story from the beginning of the AIDS epidemic through the eyes of those who lived it. It was painful to remember how the AIDS hysteria caused many early sufferers to be denied the care they deserved. Luckily, there were angels who couldn't turn a blind eye to human suffering. They were instrumental in fighting the political and social battles. I highly recommend this movie to anyone who didn't live through that time to better understand how far we've come, but also how far we still need to go!
Page 2 of 5
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile