Willard Reviews

Page 2 of 8
Gerry Shamray
Your Movies (cleveland.com)
March 20, 2003
Crispin Glover is Willard. . .take delight biting into this tasty slice of horror cheese.
| Original Score: 4/5
Jonathan R. Perry
Tyler Morning Telegraph (Texas)
March 20, 2003
I never expected 'Willard'" to be a page-marker in modern cinema. All I had hoped was that it wouldn't lose its taste for good baloney be-fore I did. We already had the cheese.
| Original Score: 2/4
Jeffrey Westhoff
Northwest Herald (Crystal Lake, IL)
March 20, 2003
As surely as rats have whiskers, Willard will go down as the definitive Crispin Glover film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
March 18, 2003
Writer-director Glen Morgan is more in love with his own cleverness than he is with the movie he's making -- and that is never a good thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Mike McGranaghan
Aisle Seat
March 18, 2003
Crispin Glover as the king of the rats? I'm not sure I'd want to see Willard twice, but that's entertainment to me at least once.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Richard Roeper
Ebert & Roeper
March 18, 2003
[Y]ou got a real opportunity here to do something really funny -- because Crispin Glover is really fun -- and something scary, but the rats, I guess, aren't up to the task.
Top Critic
Michael Atkinson
Village Voice
March 18, 2003
In a culture clogged with appropriated effluvia and remake cop-outs, Willard is wittier and nastier than we deserve.
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
March 17, 2003
Campy, cult=y and infested with dark humor.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Rob Vaux
Flipside Movie Emporium
March 17, 2003
Any film with Crispin Glover's name above the title is marching to its own beat, and it has little interest in convincing us to dance along; we simply will or we won't.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Jeffrey M. Anderson
Combustible Celluloid
March 17, 2003
As Willard, Glover gives a fantastic, white-hot performance replete with furious shivers, burning eyes, sweat, tears, the works.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
March 17, 2003
The problem is that "Willard" never becomes anything more than a ham-fisted revenge-of-the-nerd horror fable.
Full Review | Original Score: C
John A. Nesbit
Old School Reviews
March 17, 2003
the technically 'improved' version just doesn't have the same heart of the original
Full Review | Original Score: C-
John Beifuss
Commercial Appeal (Memphis, TN)
March 17, 2003
...an utterly unnecessary remake of a movie that was always more fun to talk about than to watch.
| Original Score: 2/4
Marc Savlov
Austin Chronicle
March 16, 2003
The casting of cult actor Crispin Hellion Glover as Willard Stiles ... is by far the best casting choice in a major American film since Spike Jonze and Charlie Kaufman redesigned John Malkovich.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
March 16, 2003
This new incarnation of Willard emphasizes one thing: no matter how bad the original was, it didn't need to be remade.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
David Noh
Film Journal International
March 16, 2003
Morgan's heavy-handed writing and direction quickly rob all the special-effects horror of any novelty, and the film becomes monotonous and plodding.
Dustin Putman
TheFilmFile.com
March 15, 2003
Crispin Glover is pitch-perfect...but as a horror film, the movie is extremely dated.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Harvey S. Karten
Compuserve
March 15, 2003
You'll feel like saying 'cheese' at each illustration of its darkly comic wit.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Eugene Novikov
Film Blather
March 15, 2003
A rare gem, a character study of considerable subtlety aside from being a helluva fun time.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Alex Sandell
Juicy Cerebellum
March 15, 2003
Crispin Glover is the most perversely charismatic crazy to hit the silver screen since Anthony Perkins took on Norman Bates, in the original Psycho.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Page 2 of 8