• PG-13, 2 hr.
  • Drama, Romance
  • Directed By:
    Baz Luhrmann
    In Theaters:
    Nov 1, 1996 Wide
    On DVD:
    May 25, 1999
  • 20th Century Fox

Opening

27% Transcendence Apr 18
—— A Haunted House 2 Apr 18
54% Heaven Is for Real Apr 16
—— Bears Apr 18
62% Fading Gigolo Apr 18

Top Box Office

89% Captain America: The Winter Soldier $41.3M
49% Rio 2 $39.3M
72% Oculus $12.0M
63% Draft Day $9.8M
77% Noah $7.6M
40% Divergent $7.4M
15% God's Not Dead $5.5M
92% The Grand Budapest Hotel $4.1M
79% Muppets Most Wanted $2.3M
78% Mr. Peabody & Sherman $1.9M

Coming Soon

40% The Other Woman Apr 25
—— Brick Mansions Apr 25
83% The Amazing Spider-Man 2 May 02
100% Neighbors May 09
—— Godzilla May 16

New Episodes Tonight

72% The 100: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
100% Arrow: Season 2
—— Baby Daddy: Season 3
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
100% Legit: Season 2
—— Melissa & Joey: Season 3
36% Mixology: Season 1
—— The Soul Man: Season 3
—— Workaholics: Season 4

Discuss Last Night's Shows

77% About a Boy: Season 1
—— Chicago Fire: Season 2
40% Glee: Season 5
36% Growing Up Fisher: Season 1
86% Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.: Season 1
80% The Mindy Project: Season 2
—— NCIS: Season 11
—— NCIS: Los Angeles: Season 5
93% New Girl: Season 3
56% The Originals: Season 1
100% Person Of Interest: Season 3
100% Supernatural: Season 9

Certified Fresh TV

77% About a Boy: Season 1
97% The Americans: Season 2
82% The Blacklist: Season 1
88% Brooklyn Nine-Nine: Season 1
85% Enlisted: Season 1
100% Fargo: Season 1
98% Game of Thrones: Season 4
100% Hannibal: Season 2
96% Silicon Valley: Season 1

Romeo + Juliet Reviews

Page 1 of 1340
thmtsang
thmtsang

Super Reviewer

July 13, 2007
Excellent modern adaptation of Romeo & Juliet. I love the vibrant colours, costumes and soundtrack. I'm also very impressed with the use of ole English. Leo and Claire make a good on screen couple. As usual Leo's character dies. It seems to be a recurring event, but then R&J is a tragedy. Leo is the greatest tragic hero.
Liam G

Super Reviewer

September 22, 2011
A fresh, very enjoyable and engrosing adaptation of Shakespeare's classic play. DiCaprio and Danes are excellent.
blkbomb
blkbomb

Super Reviewer

August 15, 2011
Romeo: Did my heart love 'til now? Forswear its sight. For I never saw true beauty 'til this night. 

"The Classic Love Story Set In Our Time" 

I found little enjoyment in this modern Romeo and Juliet. Its style was really annoying and left my head aching. This movie boarders on unwatchable. Claire Danes and Leonardo DiCaprio are okay, but they don't give amazing performances. Nothing about it worked. The film was way too busy and could have possibly worked if Luhrmann had went for a more subtle approach. 

I probably went into this with too high of expectations, which were completely crushed by the first 10 minutes of the movie. In a different directors hands, this could have possibly worked. In Luhrmann's, it is a complete mess and a waste of time.
Jennifer X

Super Reviewer

May 26, 2007
I don't usually like Baz Luhrmann's aesthetic (too noisy), but it just works here, alongside this improbable classic story with the cuh-razy Shakespearean dialogue. This is my favorite, favorite adaptation of the story: fairy lights, fireworks glittering in the night sky, multicolored California bleached to its rawest and most potent, Mercutio the fabulous drag queen, and Leo's beautiful beautiful face peering into the translucent aquarium (no wonder Claire Danes practically orgasms in the pool).
AJ V

Super Reviewer

September 6, 2010
When I first saw this movie I thought it was very interesting how they updated the story in such a unique way. Now that I'm older and have studied the theatre more, though, I don't like this movie as much. It seems to only have been a vehicle for Leo fans to romanticize him. I guess it has a little of both.
murphmann93
murphmann93

Super Reviewer

June 24, 2011
Couldn't watch it all the way through! The fact that you don't understand what they're saying makes it difficult to watch!
Marc L.
Marc L.

Super Reviewer

June 14, 2011
I'll admit that I enjoyed reading Shakespeare's Romeo and Juliet. It was cliche, but everything else about it was pretty good. That's why it really disappoints me when a Romeo and Juliet movie absolutley fails in every possible way.

To this day, there has never been a good Romeo and Juliet movie. Gnomeo and Juliet was horrible and the 1968 Romeo and Juliet remains one of the worst movies I've ever seen. However, this movie's not as bad. Why? Two words. John Leguizamo. His performance as Tybalt was one of the best villain performances I've ever seen. He was menacing, with a dark sense of humor and that nasty villain style. Reminded me of Bullseye in Daredevil.

Harold Perrineau did a very good job to as Mercutio. My only regret was that he didnt get more screen time. But alas, even he couldn't save this god awful hell spawn.

The rest of the actors were horrible. Leonardo DiCaprio was clearly not in his rhythym as Romeo. His performance flat out sucked, especially in the scene where he murders Tybalt. Claire Danes was even worse. She seemed way too dull to play Juliet.

Also, Romeo + Juliet needs to shut up, literally. The film just throws scenes and explosions at us randomly. And the prologue? Down right laughable.

Worse still, the movie speaks in old english. That's right, old english. I'm not even joking. Every line from the movie was taken right out of the Romeo and Juliet transcript.

I'm not exactly sure why this movie got 70%. What I am sure of? It is bad. Very bad.
DreamExtractor
DreamExtractor

Super Reviewer

May 19, 2011
I liked this a lot. Horribly stupid moments and taking out many scenes was only problem. Acting was great, and was worthy of Shakespeares work
stevenecarrier
stevenecarrier

Super Reviewer

October 22, 2010
Baz Luhrmann's "Romeo + Juliet" is a vivd and memorable adaptation of William Shakespeare's play. While I can certainly understand the hatred of this film, I for one, really enjoy it. Visually, it's one of the most striking films to come out of the 90s; capturing the dizzying feeling of being in love. Add Shakespeare's iconic dialogue, two wide eyed and natural performances from Leonardo DiCaprio and Claire Danes and Luhrmann's intoxicating aesthetic and you have the recipe for a wholly original and thrilling picture that decidedly splits it's audience while updating and reinventing it's source.
YodaMasterJedi
YodaMasterJedi

Super Reviewer

September 8, 2010
2 stars
KJ P

Super Reviewer

May 23, 2010
It's really good, but I was never really interested in Romeo and Juliet, and I think thats why I enjoyed this film. It takes the story to new heights and delivers dearly.
Conner R

Super Reviewer

November 19, 2009
It is laughable at how incredibly horrible this film is. Had this been made as a farce, maybe I could see it as a decent attempt. It mocks Shakespeare without even trying to. Everything looks ridiculous and the performances match it as well. West Side Story already tried to modernize the story, so I don't see the point in trying to do it here. It could've been a decent movie if they made it a period piece, but that would make sense. Something that doesn't compute with Baz Luhrmann.
FiLmCrAzY
FiLmCrAzY

Super Reviewer

September 4, 2007
i ahted this adaptation of this movie i dont like it i found it boring long and drawn out and just didnt cut it for me!
Anthony L

Super Reviewer

September 21, 2009
This modern version of Shakespeare?s classic tale of love is so very nearly perfect. It just has one problem, and it?s quite a big one. Leonardo Dicappuccino. He's awful!
TomBowler
TomBowler

Super Reviewer

July 31, 2009
WOO! luhrmann is awesome
Julie B

Super Reviewer

July 6, 2009
I think Harold Perrineau is one of the best Mercutios I've ever seen.
movieguru12
movieguru12

Super Reviewer

February 24, 2008
Ok but not as good as I thought it was going to be.
MeetMeinMontauk
MeetMeinMontauk

Super Reviewer

May 24, 2009
Fantastic concept!!
MissMorganLeee
MissMorganLeee

Super Reviewer

May 16, 2006
SOOOOO BAZZ!!!
Page 1 of 1340
Find us on:                 
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile