Win Win Reviews

Page 1 of 9
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
May 3, 2015
Tom McCarthy doesn't make great movies, but he makes movies about people I enjoy spending time with.
Chase Whale
Gordon and the Whale
August 28, 2013
WIN WIN makes Tom McCarthy three-for-three. Grabbing the affection from the audience is what he wants, and dear reader, he can't lose.
Scott Foundas
Film Comment Magazine
June 20, 2013
McCarthy understands the thrill of incontrovertible victory and our primal lust for it.
Amy Curtis
We Got This Covered
June 2, 2013
A thoughtful study of relationships and family dynamics, Win Win wrestles the competition to the ground.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
January 11, 2013
McCarthy has found his emotional sweet spot, a gentle and complex story to set it in and the perfect title for it."
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Jeff Beck
Examiner.com
September 20, 2012
"Win Win" continues McCarthy's streak of bringing realistic characters and realistic situations to life on the screen. He has clearly shown his talent for writing and directing, making him one of those directors to watch out for.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/4
Gabe Leibowitz
Film and Felt
January 13, 2012
There's a real earnestness to the proceedings: if someone had relayed the setup to me via email or over cocktails, I would have bet heavily that we'd be looking at a sappy mess of clichés.
Full Review | Original Score: 65/100
Fr. Chris Carpenter
Movie Dearest
December 30, 2011
One of the ten best films of 2011.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
James Plath
Movie Metropolis
December 29, 2011
Win Win is worth a look look. As indie dramedies go, it's a good one.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Tim Brayton
Antagony & Ecstasy
December 23, 2011
Excellent performances of good characters in a story that's not as rich as it apparently believes itself to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Matthew Sorrento
Film International
December 11, 2011
In Tom McCarthy's Win Win sports may seem to be the means for drama. But when considering the importance of wrestling to the characters, the sport shapes character and narrative.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
December 3, 2011
This combination comedy and drama works well, in part because of good performances by everyone.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Bruce Bennett
Spectrum (St. George, Utah)
November 8, 2011
Deftly illustrates how life is complicated and it is that rare family film that portrays life's real challenges without glossing over the complexities of relationships.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Leonard Maltin
indieWIRE
September 2, 2011
Win Win isn't a morality play; it's just a really good story. But it does deal with an issue that couldn't be more relevant: Where do we draw the line when it comes to survival if it means clouding our sense of right and wrong?
Matthew Toomey
ABC Radio Brisbane
August 18, 2011
Is there anyone who can play an "ordinary guy" better than Paul Giamatti?
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Simon Miraudo
Quickflix
August 17, 2011
Win Win is a warm, wonderful comedy, smartly written, full of great performances (particularly from supporting superstars Amy Ryan, Bobby Cannavale and Jeffrey Tambor) and bad haircuts (yeah, a lot of the characters have bad haircuts).
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
David Stratton
At the Movies (Australia)
August 17, 2011
Beautifully observed, this serio-comic film is the stuff of life and, despite the plot contrivances, very engaging in its quiet way.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Louise Keller
Urban Cinefile
August 13, 2011
This beautifully realised independent film about winning and second chances is one of those gems that easily finds its mark
Thomas Caldwell
Cinema Autopsy
August 13, 2011
A decent feel-good film, but I expected more from McCarthy.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Ann Hornaday
Washington Post
July 28, 2011
The rare, humanist beauty of Win Win is that none of its characters is a caricature, none of its plot twists a blatant play for tears or laughs, none of its appeal based on some mythical lowest common denominator.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Page 1 of 9