Winnebago Man Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Top Critic
A.O. Scott
At the Movies
July 12, 2010
I think this is a disingenuous and shallow movie about a fairly interesting guy.
Top Critic
Mark Feeney
Boston Globe
July 22, 2010
There's a pathos lurking around the edges of Winnebago Man, and it has nothing to do with issues of fame or the power of the Web and everything to do with aging and alienation, neither of which the documentary seems able to comprehend.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jennie Kermode
Eye for Film
July 9, 2010
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
David Noh
Film Journal International
July 8, 2010
You'd think Angry Winnebago Man, Jack Rebney, was Garbo herself, the way one callow filmmaker and legions of YouTube watchers carry on about this basically decent, very serious loner of a man, who inadvertently become a viral video star.
Norman Wilner
NOW Toronto
October 29, 2010
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Rick Groen
Globe and Mail
October 29, 2010
When the director laments, "I feel like I've stepped into the Winnebago Man outtakes," we can only concur.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
July 14, 2010
There is a genuine, human sympathy for his frustration and lashing out that goes along with the laughter.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
Top Critic
Rachel Saslow
Washington Post
July 30, 2010
Raises intriguing questions about our culture of online humiliation and the real-life destruction it can leave in its wake.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Annlee Ellingson
Moving Pictures Magazine
July 5, 2010
Steinbauer is as significant a character as his subject, and Winnebago Man emerges as a documentary as much about Rebney as the making of the film itself.
Philip Martin
Arkansas Democrat-Gazette
December 10, 2010
Filmmaker Ben Steinbauer went searching for the man behind the rants. Against all odds, Rebney manages to emerge with his dignity intact.
Mark Keizer
Boxoffice Magazine
July 9, 2010
A fun little addendum to a profanity-laden chapter in New Media history.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
October 14, 2010
Although we find out a lot about this virtual hermit and develop an admiration for his cantankerous principles, the movie leaves some questions unanswered.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
At the Movies
July 12, 2010
I know this film sort of deals on a fine line of humiliation and admiration, but I thought it pulled it off.
Kelly Vance
East Bay Express
August 3, 2010
The germ of Steinbauer's apparently harmless, seemingly brainless doc goes right to the heart of the community-building aspect of the internet.
Drew McWeeny
July 10, 2010
The age of YouTube is an unforgiving one.
Chris Faraone
Boston Phoenix
July 22, 2010
For a growing legion of YouTube boobs and mouse potatoes, Winnebago Man is all the medication we need to laugh away overdue bills and genital infections.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/4
Scott Weinberg
April 3, 2009
Don't laugh TOO hard at those YouTube 'fools.' That's you and me, don't forget.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
July 13, 2010
Good fortune smiled on this film, but the feeling persists: This triumph belongs to Rebney, not Steinbauer.
Chris Hewitt (St. Paul)
St. Paul Pioneer Press
September 24, 2010
Surprisingly, Steinbauer finds a way to make sense of the competing agendas and feelings expressed throughout Winnebago Man.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Greg Quill
Toronto Star
December 10, 2010
Perhaps the most disturbing issue raised in Ben Steinbauer's fascinating and often hilarious Winnebago Man has to do with the Internet's awesome ability to reduce complex and apparently dangerous behaviour to the level of banal spectacle.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 3