X-Men Origins - Wolverine Reviews

Page 3 of 13
Bob Grimm
Reno News and Review
May 7, 2009
I had a good time with this. Jackman makes it worthwhile. Not as good as the first two X-Men films, but better than the third. Sorry haters.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Lori Hoffman
Atlantic City Weekly
May 7, 2009
...A story line that isn't emotionally involving and action sequences that for the most part aren't that exciting, presented within a story that's full of potholes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Todd R. Ramlow
PopMatters
May 7, 2009
Scary as Hugh Jackman's vascular body may be, it's also perfectly appropriate as a visual extension of the weaponization of Wolverine.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Tyler Hanley
Palo Alto Weekly
May 7, 2009
Hugh Jackman and Liev Schreiber are so well-cast and are so sharp in their roles that extraneous missteps almost feel excusable.
| Original Score: 3/4
Duane Dudek
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
May 7, 2009
Despite a 150-year-old backstory that dates to before the Civil War and runs through subsequent conflicts, the title is never fulfilled.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Marc Savlov
Austin Chronicle
May 7, 2009
So ... bland.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Cosmo Landesman
Sunday Times (UK)
May 7, 2009
X-Men Origins is really a series of action sequences, the usual mix of bangs, chases and fights, held together by a plot so predictable that you get no points for guessing right.
Philip French
Observer [UK]
May 7, 2009
It's dull, bone-crushing, special-effects stuff, of interest only to hardcore fans who've probably read it all in Marvel comics.
David Poland
Movie City News
May 6, 2009
It's a B movie with 1000 effects shots, pure and simple.
Armond White
New York Press
May 6, 2009
Each CGI set piece erases distance, space, weight, gravity and wit. It's empty, soulless action -- visual noise.
Ken Hanke
Mountain Xpress (Asheville, NC)
May 6, 2009
It's not a great movie (though it's better than the third entry), and I doubt I'll ever feel compelled to see it again, but I enjoyed it well enough while it was on-screen.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
May 6, 2009
What we get is an efficient but thinly plotted comic book violence packed story.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Top Critic
Sara Vilkomerson
New York Observer
May 6, 2009
Did the plot points stick in my head five minutes after leaving the theater? Not so much ... but I know I was having fun while watching.
Jackie K. Cooper
jackiekcooper.com
May 5, 2009
Lots of action and Jackman is in great shape but the movie is just more of the same
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Robert Roten
Laramie Movie Scope
May 4, 2009
The latest edition of the X-Men franchise is easily the least, with a convoluted storyline, poorly defined characters and a dark one-note tone that lacks the humor and light touches of the earlier three installments.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Linda Cook
Quad City Times (Davenport, IA)
May 4, 2009
'Wolverine' isn't as powerful as you might think.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Kit Bowen
The Movie Kit
May 4, 2009
Could the Wolverine story be getting a little tired at this point, even though Hugh Jackman still looks good with mutton chops? Possibly ...
David Cornelius
eFilmCritic.com
May 4, 2009
Everything that happens seems to play out as if following a checklist. It's Paint by Numbers: The Movie.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Ben Mankiewicz
At the Movies
May 4, 2009
Wolverine's backstory was good stuff -- but after the falling out with Schreiber, the story loses its center and it gets wobbly.
Top Critic
Ben Lyons
At the Movies
May 4, 2009
I was definitely disappointed.
Page 3 of 13