World Traveler Reviews

Page 1 of 4
Vanessa Sibbald
Zap2it.com
February 24, 2004
The subtlety of how the story is told is beautifully done
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Nick Davis
Nick's Flick Picks
March 19, 2003
I, for one, hope Freundlich gets another shot at a feature. And if he gets it, I hope he proves he knows what to do with it.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews
February 12, 2003
The only reason for watching such a shallow and worn drama is because of Crudup's subtle performance.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Jeremy Heilman
MovieMartyr.com
January 23, 2003
Whatever complaints I might have, I'd take [its] earnest errors and hard-won rewards over the bombastic self-glorification of other feel-good fiascos like Antwone Fisher or The Emperor's Club any time.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ernest Hardy
L.A. Weekly
January 20, 2003
The story ... is moldy and obvious.
Ron Wells
Film Threat
December 8, 2002
With Freundlich and Crudup in the front seat, I found that once I could see the road, I was able to sit back and just enjoy the ride.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
James Rocchi
Netflix
November 7, 2002
Well-shot drama features great work from Billy Crudup and Julianne Moore -- and an infuriating script from director Bart Freundlich.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Brent Simon
Entertainment Today
August 27, 2002
A wonderful, quietly offbeat little drama... [with] a deep inward reflectiveness and... unyielding, non-judgmental nakedness.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
Kim Linekin
eye WEEKLY
July 11, 2002
It's not going to be everyone's bag of popcorn, but it definitely gives you something to chew on.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Top Critic
Jennie Punter
Globe and Mail
July 10, 2002
With no real redemption at the end of the road, it is nothing more than a beautiful, empty journey.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Geoff Pevere
Toronto Star
July 9, 2002
Were it not for a sentimental resolution that explains way more about Cal than does the movie or the character any good, Freundlich's World Traveler might have been one of the more daring and surprising American movies of the year.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Bruce Kirkland
Jam! Movies
July 9, 2002
A journey that is as difficult for the audience to take as it is for the protagonist -- yet it's potentially just as rewarding.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Sean Burns
Philadelphia Weekly
June 5, 2002
Shot like a postcard and overacted with all the boozy self-indulgence that brings out the worst in otherwise talented actors...
Phil Villarreal
Arizona Daily Star
May 31, 2002
Freundlich's film won't appeal to those who like well-defined heroes and clear conclusions. But there is plenty here for folks who like something to chew on.
Nathaniel Rogers
CineScene.com
May 30, 2002
Cal (Billy Crudup) remains both frustratingly opaque and highly unlikeable; a lethal combination when you're required to spend two hours with someone in a car.
Frank Swietek
One Guy's Opinion
May 29, 2002
A pretty but empty portrait of a vacuous character...the picture doesn't get very far or go very deep.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Top Critic
Jay Boyar
Orlando Sentinel
May 16, 2002
This episodic, quietly affecting movie is both gritty and poetic.
| Original Score: 4/5
Top Critic
Dan Via
Washington Post
May 10, 2002
Well-made, well-acted but ultimately enervating.
| Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Ann Hornaday
Washington Post
May 10, 2002
Anemic, pretentious.
| Original Score: 1/5
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
May 10, 2002
Yes, I suppose it's lovely that Cal works out his issues with his dad and comes to terms with his picture-perfect life -- but World Traveler gave me no reason to care, so I didn't.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Page 1 of 4