Opening

63% The Maze Runner Sep 19
62% A Walk Among the Tombstones Sep 19
45% This Is Where I Leave You Sep 19
83% Tracks Sep 19
93% The Guest Sep 17

Top Box Office

11% No Good Deed $24.3M
71% Dolphin Tale 2 $15.9M
92% Guardians of the Galaxy $8.1M
19% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $4.9M
20% Let's Be Cops $4.4M
88% The Drop $4.1M
37% If I Stay $3.9M
36% The November Man $2.8M
34% The Giver $2.6M
67% The Hundred-Foot Journey $2.4M

Coming Soon

68% The Equalizer Sep 26
71% The Boxtrolls Sep 26
86% The Two Faces of January Sep 26
—— Two Night Stand Sep 26
91% Jimi: All Is by My Side Sep 26

New Episodes Tonight

82% Girl Meets World: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
50% Z Nation: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
—— Haven: Season 5
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

Certified Fresh TV

87% Boardwalk Empire: Season 5
86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% Doctor Who: Season 8
83% Extant: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
87% The Knick: Season 1
89% Manhattan: Season 1
97% Masters of Sex: Season 2
90% Outlander: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
87% The Strain: Season 1
79% You're the Worst: Season 1

X-Men: First Class Reviews

Page 4 of 13
Jeff Meyers
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)

..it's director Vaughn who emerges as the true hero here (the less said of January Jones' leaden performance, the better), using a breathless pace and off-kilter compositions to mask the story's many gaps in logic.

Full Review Source: Metro Times (Detroit, MI) | Original Score: B

June 5, 2011
Mathew DeKinder
Suburban Journals of St. Louis

"X-Men: First Class" delivers everything you could possible want out of a summer blockbuster. If only all of our mindless entertainment could be this well done.

Full Review Source: Suburban Journals of St. Louis

June 5, 2011
Philip French
Guardian

It's as absurd a piece of alternative history as Tarantino's Inglourious Basterds, but much less fun.

Full Review Source: Guardian

June 5, 2011
Nathaniel Rogers
Film Experience

Michael Fassbender has screen presence and emotional acuity to die for but this prequel is all prologue, no payoff.

Full Review Source: Film Experience

June 5, 2011
Christopher Lloyd
Sarasota Herald-Tribune

I don't think the cinematic world really needed a new go-round of X-Men movies, but I liked this one so much that I can actually say I'm looking forward to another.

Full Review Source: Sarasota Herald-Tribune | Original Score: 3/4

June 5, 2011
Fred Topel
Screen Junkies

Oh my God, I can't believe how good X-Men: First Class is. It's so good, I held my pee for at least 90 minutes because I didn't want to miss anything.

Full Review Source: Screen Junkies

June 5, 2011
Steve Crum
Video-Reviewmaster.com

Sure, the revisionist history, plot device is troublesome, but the film's digital effects provide enough spectacular action and levitation eye candy to soothe any blue Beast.

Full Review Source: Video-Reviewmaster.com | Original Score: B

June 5, 2011
Scott Nash
Three Movie Buffs

The best summer blockbuster of 2011 so far.

Full Review Source: Three Movie Buffs | Original Score: 4/4

June 5, 2011
Gary Wolcott
Tri-City Herald

Some comic book flicks work. Others don't. This one does.

Full Review Source: Tri-City Herald | Original Score: 4/5

June 5, 2011
Dennis Schwartz
Ozus' World Movie Reviews

Has its eye-popping spectacle moments.

Full Review Source: Ozus' World Movie Reviews | Original Score: B-

June 5, 2011
Matt Brunson
Creative Loafing

It's the best X-Men film since the original, and while it's no match for either The Dark Knight or the 1978 Superman, it still ranks among the top 10 movies to date in this specialized genre. It's that good.

Full Review Source: Creative Loafing | Original Score: 3.5/4

June 4, 2011
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com

X-Men: First Class" is a meaty comic book spectacle movie you can sink your teeth in.

Full Review Source: ColeSmithey.com | Original Score: A-

June 4, 2011
Keith Cohen
Entertainment Spectrum

This blockbuster superhero movie is the best and brightest of the franchise. A definite must-see drama on a large screen that wipes out the disasters of "Last Stand" and "Wolverine" and seamlessly ties back in to the first two movies.

Full Review Source: Entertainment Spectrum | Original Score: 3.5/4

June 4, 2011
Rob Hunter
Film School Rejects

The film is just as filled with smaller moments that excite and entertain in equal measure.

Full Review Source: Film School Rejects | Original Score: B+

June 4, 2011
Michael Dunaway
Paste Magazine

In a genre that too often produces mindless retreads, it overdelivers. And yes, lots of things blow up, too. Welcome to summer.

Full Review Source: Paste Magazine | Original Score: 6.9/10

June 4, 2011
Diva Velez
TheDivaReview.com

Smart, witty and fun. Perfect summer viewing and a worthy entry to the higher echelons of the Marvel cinematic pantheon. A fine reboot for the franchise and I'd happily look forward to another blast from the X-Men past.

Full Review Source: TheDivaReview.com | Original Score: 4/5

June 4, 2011
Joe Lozito
Big Picture Big Sound

This ambitious origin story of the Marvel Comics mutants sets the action against the backdrop of the Cuban Missile Crisis and achieves an uneasy peace between the serious and the campy.

Full Review Source: Big Picture Big Sound | Original Score: 2.5/4

June 3, 2011
David Medsker
Bullz-Eye.com

X-Men: First Class is a movie more focused on the long-term financial health of the franchise than the short-term benefit of simply making a good movie.

Full Review Source: Bullz-Eye.com | Original Score: 3/5

June 3, 2011
Rob Vaux
Mania.com

Someone remind Captain America to bring its A-game, because the bar just rose a little higher.

Full Review Source: Mania.com | Original Score: A-

June 3, 2011
Kevin Carr
7M Pictures

I know there's no mention of mutants in the Wikipedia entry of the Cuban Missile Crisis, but after watching this movie, you could almost believe there should be.

Full Review Source: 7M Pictures | Original Score: 4/5

June 3, 2011
Page 4 of 13
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile