Yes Man - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Yes Man Reviews

Page 1 of 8
Ben Kenigsberg
Time Out Chicago
October 6, 2011
As self-help comedy, the movie is no more overdetermined than its own highbrow counterpart, Happy-Go-Lucky.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Simon Reynolds
Digital Spy
July 14, 2011
It's a decent enough time-killer for Carrey fans and those after something light and non-taxing after a heavy Christmas Day feast.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Dave White
Movies.com
April 4, 2011
I have to admit that it was pretty funny a lot of the time.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
Eric D. Snider
EricDSnider.com
April 4, 2011
As much as I try to convince myself I'm tired of Jim Carrey, darn it, he almost always amuses me.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
William Goss
Cinematical
December 17, 2009
A ready-made Christmas-time crowd-pleaser that pretty much plays it safe, even in its cruder moments, and will be in circulation on cable soon enough.
Sonny Bunch
Washington Times
August 30, 2009
Mr. Carrey's performance is a return to the rubber-faced roles that dominated multiplexes in the mid- to late '90s, and that's not necessarily a good thing.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Anders Wotzke
Moviedex
August 2, 2009
Yes Man is proof that reverse psychology works; No, it's not worth seeing because, no, it's not that funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 31, 2009
The benefits of grounding comedy in reality are never-ending, and Yes Man takes advantage of most of them. Peyton Reed is officially one of my favorite comic directors.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Peter Canavese
Groucho Reviews
May 25, 2009
[The] writers...pay lip service to the dark side of 'yes,' but don't do enough to explore what could have made the film more than a bouncy entertainment. [Blu-ray]
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
May 21, 2009
...Jim Carrey's most entertaining comedy since 1997's Liar Liar...
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jeffrey Chen
Window to the Movies
April 24, 2009
I found myself having a few pleasant chuckles but still frustrated at the movie for not bothering with telling a story that hasn't already been told a million times before.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Ryan Cracknell
Movie Views
April 19, 2009
A film that has little plot until the last act, yet Carrey rises above it to bring it to an acceptable level.
John J. Puccio
Movie Metropolis
April 3, 2009
...a pleasant surprise: a romantic comedy that is cute, amiable, and winning without being excessively tedious, saccharine, or gross.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
Sean McBride
Sean the Movie Guy
March 1, 2009
we won't be awarding points for originality, but sometimes the familiar can be just fine
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Avi Offer
NYC Movie Guru
January 31, 2009
Sporadically funny, mostly amusing and harmless.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
Pablo Villaša
Cinema em Cena
January 30, 2009
Peyton Reed peca por jamais conseguir definir o tom que pretende empregar.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
January 9, 2009
Jim Carrey's career has succumbed to painfully mediocre comedies and genre missteps for so long that "Yes Man" barely registers even as you're watching it.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Eddie Cockrell
Sydney Morning Herald
January 8, 2009
The most even-keeled, pleasant and mainstream movie Jim Carrey has made in many a moon.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
David Stratton
The Australian
January 8, 2009
Numbingly predictable and not as filled with action as the misleading poster suggests.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Philip Wilding
Empire Magazine
January 5, 2009
It's charming enough with some nice comedy touches, but the initially intriguing premise is soon railroaded out of sight by its desire to conform to a tried-and-tested cinematic formula.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Page 1 of 8