• R, 1 hr. 49 min.
  • Drama
  • Directed By:
    Kenneth Lonergan
    In Theaters:
    Nov 10, 2000 Wide
    On DVD:
    Jun 26, 2001
  • TSG Pictures

Opening

97% Ghostbusters Aug 29
25% As Above/So Below Aug 29
35% The November Man Aug 27
98% Starred Up Aug 27
74% The Congress Aug 29

Top Box Office

92% Guardians of the Galaxy $17.2M
20% Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles $16.7M
38% If I Stay $15.7M
20% Let's Be Cops $10.8M
18% When The Game Stands Tall $8.4M
34% The Expendables 3 $6.5M
32% The Giver $6.4M
46% Sin City: A Dame to Kill For $6.3M
65% The Hundred-Foot Journey $5.3M
20% Into The Storm $3.8M

Coming Soon

—— Innocence Sep 05
—— The Identical Sep 05
—— The Longest Week Sep 05
67% The House of Magic Sep 05
74% God Help the Girl Sep 05

Premieres Tonight

88% The Cosmopolitans: Season One

New Episodes Tonight

100% Defiance: Season 2
100% Garfunkel and Oates: Season 1
89% The Honorable Woman: Season 1
56% Married: Season 1
39% Rush: Season 1
82% Satisfaction: Season 1
82% Welcome to Sweden: Season 1
77% You're the Worst: Season 1

Discuss Last Night's Shows

86% The Bridge (FX): Season 2
91% The Divide: Season 1
83% Extant: Season 1
—— Franklin & Bash: Season 4
—— Graceland: Season 2
—— Hot in Cleveland: Season 5
58% Legends: Season 1
—— Motive: Season 2
69% Mystery Girls: Season 1
38% Taxi Brooklyn: Season 1
43% Young & Hungry: Season 1

You Can Count On Me Reviews

Lisa Schwarzbaum
Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Full Review Source: Entertainment Weekly | Original Score: A

September 7, 2011
David Ansen
Newsweek
Top Critic IconTop Critic
March 31, 2008
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
Top Critic IconTop Critic
April 27, 2007
Geoff Andrew
Time Out
Top Critic IconTop Critic
February 9, 2006

Globe and Mail
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Full Review Source: Globe and Mail | Original Score: 3/4

April 25, 2003
Peter Travers
Rolling Stone
Top Critic IconTop Critic

| Original Score: 5/5

May 8, 2001
Susan Stark
Detroit News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The key to Lonergan's success? He has faith in the intelligence of his audience. It's that simple -- and encouraging.

Full Review Source: Detroit News | Original Score: 3/4

December 22, 2000
Jay Boyar
Orlando Sentinel
Top Critic IconTop Critic

I never thought I would say this, but I am starting to think that Laura Linney may, in fact, be a very good actress.

December 22, 2000
Eric Harrison
Houston Chronicle
Top Critic IconTop Critic

This funny and involving film presents its well-drawn characters to us pretty much the way we would encounter them in life.

Full Review Source: Houston Chronicle

December 22, 2000
Desson Thomson
Washington Post
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A fountain of narrative surprise. You never know where this thing is going. And it's such a pleasure to tag along with these characters.

Full Review Source: Washington Post | Original Score: 5/5

January 1, 2000
Andrew O'Hehir
Salon.com
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A subtle and often surprising study of the relationship between damaged adult siblings, full of mordant humor and dramatic invention.

Full Review Source: Salon.com

January 1, 2000
Peter Brunette
Film.com
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Thoroughly modest in its means and ambition, You Can Count on Me is one of the best pictures I've seen all year.

January 1, 2000
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Lonergan serves his superb screenplay well.

January 1, 2000
Paul Clinton (CNN.com)
CNN.com
Top Critic IconTop Critic

If you see You Can Count On Me, you can count on a good, emotionally satisfying experience.

Full Review Source: CNN.com

January 1, 2000
Emanuel Levy
Variety
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Superbly executed.

Full Review Source: Variety

January 1, 2000
Stephen Holden
New York Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Gem of a movie.

Full Review Source: New York Times | Original Score: 4.5/5

January 1, 2000
Robert Denerstein
Denver Rocky Mountain News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

| Original Score: B+

January 1, 2000
John Hartl
Seattle Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Offers as rich and satisfying an emotional experience as any film this year.

January 1, 2000
Carla Meyer
San Francisco Chronicle
Top Critic IconTop Critic

It's simply a quiet and heartbreaking look at the dynamics of one family. That's the beauty of it.

Full Review Source: San Francisco Chronicle | Original Score: 4/4

January 1, 2000
Michael Wilmington
Chicago Tribune
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Lonergan shows us what our movies rarely do: real people suffering real pains and joys -- in the small, cluttered ways that real life mostly brings.

January 1, 2000
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The characters in You Can Count on Me have been freed from the formulas of fiction and set loose to live lives where they screw up, learn from their mistakes and bumble hopefully into the future.

Full Review Source: Chicago Sun-Times | Original Score: 4/4

January 1, 2000
Elizabeth Weitzman
Film.com
Top Critic IconTop Critic

The only problem with this special film is its stark reminder of all the mediocrity other movies count on us to accept.

January 1, 2000
Amy Taubin
Village Voice
Top Critic IconTop Critic

So timid and clumsy in its deployment of picture, sound, and editing that you have to wonder if executive producer Martin Scorsese bothered to give notes.

Full Review Source: Village Voice

January 1, 2000

Entertainment Weekly
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Beautiful, compassionate, articulate.

Full Review Source: Entertainment Weekly | Original Score: A

January 1, 2000
Jonathan Foreman
New York Post
Top Critic IconTop Critic

It is visually flat and uninteresting and too often feels like a (leisurely paced) filmed play.

January 1, 2000
Jay Carr
Boston Globe
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Satisfying in every respect, it's a piece of blue-collar chamber music, never treating the characters cheaply, allowing them a complex entwinement of emotions.

January 1, 2000

Toronto Star
Top Critic IconTop Critic

You Can Count On Me is one of the best movies to see this year. But more than that, it's also one of the best to simply listen to.

Full Review Source: Toronto Star

January 1, 2000
Steven Rosen
Denver Post
Top Critic IconTop Critic

You Can Count on Me is the kind of good movie people say isn't made anymore.

Full Review Source: Denver Post

January 1, 2000
Steve Murray
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A little movie concealing surprisingly big emotions.

Full Review Source: Atlanta Journal-Constitution

January 1, 2000
Kenneth Turan
Los Angeles Times
Top Critic IconTop Critic

With warm humor and perceptive writing, director Kenneth Lonergan displays a gift for creating realistic characters and a compelling story.

Full Review Source: Los Angeles Times | Original Score: 4/5

January 1, 2000
Chris Vognar
Dallas Morning News
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Kenneth Lonergan ... has created a set of characters who slowly come to life before our eyes, imperfections, conflicts and all.

Full Review Source: Dallas Morning News

January 1, 2000
Kevin Maynard
Mr. Showbiz
Top Critic IconTop Critic

What's most important to Lonergan is that we care what happens to his characters -- and we do, very much.

| Original Score: 85/100

January 1, 2000
John Anderson
Newsday
Top Critic IconTop Critic

Gives us not so much a slice of reality as a big picture window, polished and gleaming, through which we can see things that matter.

Full Review Source: Newsday

January 1, 2000
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
Top Critic IconTop Critic

A pleasant motion picture, offering a solid evening's worth of entertainment.

Full Review Source: ReelViews | Original Score: 3/4

January 1, 2000

Ebert & Roeper
Top Critic IconTop Critic
January 1, 2000
Find us on:                     
Help | About | Jobs | Critics Submission | Press | API | Licensing | Mobile