You, Me and Dupree Reviews

Top Critic
Trevor Johnston
Time Out
August 24, 2006
A bit dull, since Dillon's constrained playing the straight guy, Hudson has little to work with, and Douglas looks bored.
Top Critic
Hap Erstein
Atlanta Journal-Constitution
August 6, 2006
You, Me and Dupree overstays its welcome but a compilation reel of Wilson's scenes would make for fairly funny viewing.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Peter Howell
Toronto Star
July 14, 2006
Owen Wilson is perilously close to doing a Dupree on his own career, by wearing out his welcome.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Stephanie Zacharek
Salon.com
July 14, 2006
You, Me and Dupree seems to have been made by people who don't know the difference between a light comedy and an inconsequential one.
Top Critic
Steven Rea
Philadelphia Inquirer
July 14, 2006
Amiable if ragtag.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Roger Moore
Orlando Sentinel
July 14, 2006
This is the worst movie Wilson has made since he graduated from being Jackie Chan's punch line.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
John Hartl
Newsweek
July 14, 2006
Gifted though [the directors] may be in smaller doses, they're a long way from mastering the art of feature-length comedy.
Top Critic
Mick LaSalle
San Francisco Chronicle
July 14, 2006
Wilson deserves better, too. He's too smart to make me believe he'd actually think this movie is funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Top Critic
Moira MacDonald
Seattle Times
July 14, 2006
Yet another comedy about a man-child who won't grow up, You, Me and Dupree has the faintly stale smell of food left overnight on the counter.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Lisa Rose
Newark Star-Ledger
July 14, 2006
Watching [Wilson] mug wildly in another uneven film short on plot, the audience may start to wish he would go away for awhile and stop turning up in such repetitive comedies.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Lou Lumenick
New York Post
July 14, 2006
Think of the uncompromisingly mediocre comedy You, Me and Dupree as a referendum on whether audiences are tiring of Owen Wilson's beatific stoner dude character as rapidly as I am.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Jack Mathews
New York Daily News
July 14, 2006
Wilson, Dillon and Hudson are likable stars, and there are moments when their characters make a convincing circle of friends. But the Russo brothers don't have the maturity to blend the two prongs of the story they've written.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Colin Covert
Minneapolis Star Tribune
July 14, 2006
If Wilson's trademark grin is looking jaundiced by the finale, he has only himself to blame. With You, Me and Dupree, he has produced a movie as lazy and immature as its title character.
| Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Amy Biancolli
Houston Chronicle
July 14, 2006
You, Me & Dupree is best when Wilson is on-screen, mucking around with exquisite deadbeat timing, baring his all -- or his almost -- as the situation demands.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Liam Lacey
Globe and Mail
July 14, 2006
Director brothers Anthony and Joe Russo manage to keep the pace moving for the first two-thirds, steering clear of overt touchy-feeliness or extreme gross-outs. Then they suddenly lose their grip, and Wilson's good 20 minutes is up.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Tom Long
Detroit News
July 14, 2006
You, Me and Dupree is lazy, obvious, never emotionally real and, most unfortunately, sporadically funny at best. It's a movie you've seen before and you've seen done better. Owen, it's time to grow up.
Full Review | Original Score: D+
Top Critic
Terry Lawson
Detroit Free Press
July 14, 2006
If you've seen the trailer, you've seen only half the movie -- and all the jokes.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Robert Denerstein
Denver Rocky Mountain News
July 14, 2006
You, Me and Dupree mostly sputters.
| Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Lisa Kennedy
Denver Post
July 14, 2006
When he's firing on all cylinders, Wilson plays the trickster catalyst, the knowing knave with charming lassitude. Now if only his accidental sage can find a fable worth his goofball wisdom.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Philip Wuntch
Dallas Morning News
July 14, 2006
You, Me and Dupree features three first-rate actors in need of a first-rate movie.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Jim Emerson
Chicago Sun-Times
July 14, 2006
You, Me and Dupree has the feel of a film that could have gone in any number of directions, and perhaps at one time went in all of them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Wesley Morris
Boston Globe
July 14, 2006
Wilson is the most intolerable of all. Watching him slack his way through this movie made me feel like Lou Dobbs. I didn't like Dupree. I wanted him deported.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Claudia Puig
USA Today
July 13, 2006
This is cringe-inducing humor at its most wooden.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Joe Morgenstern
Wall Street Journal
July 13, 2006
You, Me And Dupree drains Owen Wilson's tank of charm down to the fumes.
Top Critic
Peter Rainer
Christian Science Monitor
July 13, 2006
I don't mean to imply that this film is any good or that it contains an ounce of genuine insight. But as a template for the big-baby genre, it's invaluable.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
July 13, 2006
Working with a shapeless script, directors Anthony and Joe Russo (Welcome to Collinwood) can't figure out what they're making.
Top Critic
Carina Chocano
Los Angeles Times
July 13, 2006
The tone of You, Me and Dupree is smarmy in that institutional way that doesn't seem to know what the tongue is doing in the cheek, exactly, but keeps it there just in case.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Jessica Reaves
Chicago Tribune
July 13, 2006
The end product feels less funny than formulaic. Not to mention profoundly disheartening.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Dana Stevens
Slate
July 13, 2006
You, Me and Dupree could just as easily be plotted on a flow-chart in the theater lobby, saving its audience a 10-spot and 108 minutes they'll never get back.
Top Critic
Ann Hornaday
Washington Post
July 13, 2006
Artistically, You, Me and Dupree is a mess. Technically, it's an abomination. Spiritually, it's a void. Commercially, it'll probably be a big hit.
Top Critic
Bill Muller
Arizona Republic
July 13, 2006
Although the movie offers a few chuckles here and there, it fails on almost every level.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Manohla Dargis
New York Times
July 13, 2006
There are several problems with the romantic comedy You, Me and Dupree, not least that there is no filmmaking to speak of.
| Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Scott Foundas
L.A. Weekly
July 13, 2006
Dupree feels like the most opportunistic of Hollywood 'packages' -- a trio of appealing stars with proven track records in this sort of fare paired with a script that's been cobbled together out of odds and ends of other, better movies.
Top Critic
Gene Seymour
Newsday
July 13, 2006
Something, anything needs to be done soon to keep Wilson's stoner-savant persona from becoming as generic a product as dairy-case cookie dough.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
James Berardinelli
ReelViews
July 13, 2006
Were it not for the A-list cast, You, Me and Dupree is an effort one might expect to move directly to video store shelves, bypassing multiplexes altogether.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Owen Gleiberman
Entertainment Weekly
July 12, 2006
The joke, of course, is that it's really Owen Wilson who's in control. He can't play the dazed rogue forever, but for now he's the happy master of that domain.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Top Critic
Scott Tobias
AV Club
July 12, 2006
What makes Owen Wilson a special exception is that his characters always work to make the world more child-like and whimsical, and the films brighten up as a result.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
Christy Lemire
Associated Press
July 12, 2006
After several false endings, this overlong comedy finally comes to a close. But for everyone involved, the honeymoon was over before it even began.
Top Critic
Scott Foundas
Village Voice
July 11, 2006
The movie goes from being another mildly depressing lump of unrealized comic potential to being an actively unpleasant experience.
Top Critic
Justin Chang
Variety
July 8, 2006
A middling third-wheel comedy elevated a couple of notches by the ineffably weird charms of Owen Wilson.
Top Critic
Kirk Honeycutt
Hollywood Reporter
July 7, 2006
The comedy is obvious and flat while the drama is stale.