Take Me Home Tonight Reviews

Page 1 of 6
Will Leitch
Deadspin
June 23, 2013
Just a standard, dull pseudo-teen comedy that just happens to take place in the '80s.
Full Review | Original Score: D
John Hanlon
Big Hollywood
June 30, 2013
This unfunny comedy isn't worth leaving home for.
Full Review | Original Score: 0.5/5
Francesca Steele
Sky Movies
May 12, 2011
Take Me Home Tonight is pretty similar to Hot Tub Time Machine, playing for the same silly Eighties laughs but never quite getting them.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Grae Drake
Movies.com
June 3, 2011
Eddie Money deserves better than this.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/5
Ignatiy Vishnevetsky
Ebert Presents At The Movies
March 7, 2011
I still can't think of a reason why this couldn't have been set in the present.
Top Critic
Stephanie Merry
Washington Post
March 4, 2011
After the gimmick begins to fade, what remains is less than likable characters inhabiting an all-too-familiar plot.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Mike Barnard
Future Movies UK
September 17, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 5/10
Annlee Ellingson
Moving Pictures Magazine
April 16, 2011
A formulaic romantic comedy that underutilizes its likable stars and fails to effectively capitalize on the character of the era.
Roger Moore
Tribune News Service
January 17, 2013
Ten years too late -- for the movie, the actors playing the roles in the movie. It's "Hot Tub Time Machine" without the time machine or the hot tub. Or the fun.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Corey Hall
Metro Times (Detroit, MI)
March 4, 2011
...it's an even more plastic, hollow and underwhelming experience than actually living through 1988.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Mark Keizer
Boxoffice Magazine
March 3, 2011
It's only sporadically amusing and it's certainly not original, unless the definition of original has been broadened to include copies of things that were original twenty-five years ago.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Graham Young
Birmingham Mail
May 13, 2011
So bad, it's almost good... if certainly not great.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Roz Laws
Birmingham Post
May 12, 2011
A film which has the occasional interesting scene but which fails to ever take off.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Top Critic
Roger Ebert
Chicago Sun-Times
March 4, 2011
They speak entirely in plot points and punchlines and seem to be motivated only by lust, greed and ego. Well, we all are, but few bring to this motivation so little intelligence and wit.
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
Top Critic
Michael Phillips
Chicago Tribune
March 3, 2011
The mystery of Topher Grace's film career, and why it isn't better, continues with "Take Me Home Tonight."
Full Review | Original Score: 1.5/4
William Goss
Cinematical
March 4, 2011
One imagines that only a snort-along screening could possibly lend to the film the energy that it so desperately needs. (With that said, no, we do not endorse the use of cocaine.)
Andrew Schenker
Slant Magazine
March 2, 2011
Another forgettable entry in the already overfilled ranks of middling boys-will-be-boys rib-ticklers.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Adam Lippe
Examiner.com
March 4, 2011
If there's anything funnier than dorky white guys singing along to gangsta rap, I don't know what it is.
Henry Fitzherbert
Daily Express
May 12, 2011
Who ever thought we'd care?
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Karen Krizanovich
Radio Times
May 12, 2011
There's a good, snappy screwball comedy buried somewhere in the movie, but director Michael Dowse can't unearth it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
Brent Simon
Shared Darkness
May 15, 2012
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
December 29, 2011
Page 1 of 6