Zero Dark Thirty Reviews

Page 2 of 373
½ April 9, 2014
An awful Tom Clancy-ish piece of torture porn that has almost no foundation in fact.
½ January 7, 2013
One of the most important moments in recent history. Even if you know the ending, you don't know the story. How much of this is actual truth? Where the government is concerned, who knows. Either way, these men who hunted that bearded fuck down are heroes. This may not show us everything we want or need to know but it sure as hell ain't a propaganda flick. But it is one hell of a thriller, despite every one watching knowing the ending.
½ February 18, 2013
I WISH WE WERE KEEPING WHAT ARE SEALS WERE DOING A LITTLE MORE SECRET INSTEAD OF SHOWING THEIR CAPABILITIES TO THE ENEMY. THE MVIE WAS GOOD AND I WATCHED IT BECAUSE I AM PROUD OF OUR MILITARY.
July 13, 2015
This film is a successful thriller.

Be warned. though, the depictions of the violent interrogation methods used by intelligence officers, are confronting.
April 10, 2014
Great film, real showing how hard people worked to find The most wanted man in the world! Great film and brilliant performance from the women actress! Worth seeing! ??
June 15, 2015
Zero Dark Thirty is an exhilaratingly brutal look at the desperation of the U.S. government to capture (more specifically kill) Osama Bin Laden during the post-9/11 era. It's exceedingly human but deceptively cruel and manages to brilliantly balance those tones throughout the film, leaning to impressive action set-pieces, brutal torture sequences and somber, intimate moments.

This is one of the film's greatest assets, as well as a clever script from director Kathryn Bigelow and star performances from all involved. Jessica Chastain is once again grippingly cold and Jason Clarke is surprisingly emotional. Other standouts include Jennifer Ehle, Kyle Chandler and Chris Pratt. These performances help elevate the film above the standard of the genre.

Two of the film's most riveting scenes involve those with Jennifer Ehle. The first is where her and Chastain are out for dinner and the cafe explodes, presumably referencing the Bali Bombings. The other includes Ehle's character trying to persuade an Al-Quida doctor to come into the military base. This, ultimately, does not end well.

Some of the film's most confronting moments come during the final moments, those when Chastain's character is questioned about whether she truly believes Bin Laden is hiding in a civilian home. This leads to a military attack on the him, when upon return Chastain's Maya opens a body bag to reveal the face of Bin Laden. These final scenes show how desperate, how obsessed the American government had become during the greatest manhunt in recent memory.

It shows that Bigelow is respectful of the subject, but that she does not shy away from the harsher aspects of the story. Rather, she embraces them to create a fully real, dangerous world. In spite of some mediocre, tedious political drama, something that ultimately the film had to address, Zero dark Thirty is beautifully made.
August 5, 2013
65%
Saw this on 05/08/2013
Initially I didn't want to see this film because of various reasons, but ever since I saw Katheryn Bigelow's The Hurt Locker(2009), I just wanted to check out her next movie. When compared to the Hurt Locker, this film was a big disappointment, but it has it's moments. While watched this film some scenes made me almost fall asleep. I was told by many that this film's climax is disappointing because they never show you how they killed Osama Bin Laden in a proper way. Well, that was not so worse because I felt that the 3rd act was far far better than the 1st act.

This film never outlives the first thirty minutes of it's duration. It was too cruel to watch the human torture, but those scenes were gripping, but sad for a cause that the film doesn't give you much of intense scenes from there on. I like Katheryn as a director, her visuals were good in here as well. Her best visuals were seen on the 1991 film Point Break, what a visuals they were? Might be due to an increase in production cost, Zero Dark Thirty has a few good shots then and there, precisely the aerial views, the explosions and most of all the helicopter scenes in the climax.

As far as the acting is concerned, there was not much in here. Joel Edgerton was good in the beginning, but in the middle act, I failed to recognize him among the various underdeveloped characters. The story is implausible for most of the time because it only aim's at a single woman's glory and shit like that in killing Osama.... I don't like stories which talk about real life incidents that revolve around just one character and showcasing their glory and dignity, like in Body of Lies(2008). Jessica Chastain's character lacks believability as you see her frowning while watching the human torture and then later on she tortures people for information. All the characters are simply driven by patriotism and not much of anything else. Of all the pale looking sluts in Hollywood, Jessica Chastain is the palest. She is no better in here as well, because everytime I saw her, I felt like I wanna vomit. I liked her acting in one scene where she shows her rage on superior officer Joseph Bradley.
½ May 19, 2015
It's pretty good, but kind of a disappointment if you compare it to Bigelow's previous film, "The Hurt Locker."
June 2, 2015
A little slow on the pacing, but pretty incredible perseverance. I liked the raw picture of the barbaric, but possibly necessary interrogation tactics needed in the ugly thing called war.
½ November 17, 2014
A high voltage realistic and gritty thriller that portrays the real world as scary and terrifying.
½ December 11, 2012
Wow. What a powerful piece of cinema. While there was certainly slow scenes, this three hour movie held my interest until the very last shot. The slow burn of buildup in the first 2 hours leads to a masterfully crafted final act that left be breathless at the end. This movie is truly an experience that should be seen by everyone at least once. 9.25/10
½ May 9, 2015
Much is to be complained about the accuracy of this and any other film based on true events, people, or places, but this is a movie made solely for entertainment purposes. There isn't a "based on a true story" film to date that won't dissatisfy you if you read the true story immediately following the film. That being said, this is a fine work of film from Bigelow delivered by an academy award worthy performance from Chastain, whom deserved it more than Lawrence. The films build and suspense make quite the journey to follow about a true American hero. 'Murica! (87%)
May 2, 2015
Not really my thingy.
½ April 24, 2015
The movie was so good.All the action has me really interested and I could not take my eyes off of it. Although I did not like how the movie wasn't really how it actually occured.
April 24, 2015
"Zero Dark Thirty" was surprisingly wonderful. This movie shows realism that people need. Showing the world its never safe. Always follow in what you believe in not in what people tell you.
½ April 24, 2015
Not what i had expected, was hoping for some more action scene. Acting was okay. I thought Redda Kateb did a job well done.
April 24, 2015
zero dark thirty is a good movie that highlights the conflict between characters and conflict but i would rate this rated R due to high use of profanity and nudity.
April 24, 2015
Zero Dark Thirty - The decade long hunt

Everyon remembers the most devastating event tha probably couldve occurred in the united states ? In mean who could forget the day that people lost their lives because of an insensitive act upon a terriosts. 9/11 was truly a tramatic event for the United States. 9/11 has so much meaning, the day things esculated so quickly with no first notice. Zero Dark Thirty turns the decade-lond hunt for Osama Bin Laden, the mastermind behind 9/11 terriost attacks on the world trade center.

The film stars Jessica Chastain as Maya, a fictional CIA intelligence analyst. Dan played by Jason Clarke. Joseph Bradley as Kyle Chandle and Reda Kateb as Amma. The lond search lasting from day to night, month to month from then on years to years. Their reassigned to the u.s embassy in Pakistan, to go on the manhunt for Osama Bin Laden.

Honestly I must say Zero Dark Thirty was a brillant movie, in so many differnet ways. Jason Clarke's roll is herrific his acting puts you on the edge of your seats. His confidence just puts the icing on the cake. Also, his demanding voice will have you wanting to tell the truth. Hand claps to Jessica Chaistain played as Maya. Her constant curiosty and demanding personality was terrific. Her strong desrie to want to be on the case had me in suspense the whole time.

Overall, every step of the way was fulfulling. There was never a time throughout the movie I was clueless, which I am often. The movie did not leave out much information, the took us a long the way. I honestly despies movies that leaves me in awe. I will not like it because I will not get it and I probably would never watch that movie again. Although, this movie just left me in suspense with a lot of curiousty.
Every heard of the phrases, " Everything catches upm to you." "What goes around comes around." "Do not ever think your past will not xcatch up to you, because it will." " You can run but you can't hide." All of those sayings in my personal opinion fits the moral

of this movie.
½ April 24, 2015
this movie was very interesting and suspenseful ,Zero Dark Thirty is people on the hunt for Osama Bin Laden. You should watch this movie if you are into historic fiction movies
April 8, 2015
It's close to 3 hours in length but races by. Kathyn Bigelow's thriller is absolutely ENTRALLING. I loved it I loved it I loved it.
Page 2 of 373