Zero Day Reviews

Page 1 of 3
Top Critic
Jack Mathews
New York Daily News
September 5, 2003
Ben Coccio lets the mostly banal Zero Day videos go on much too long. And in having the characters speechify about the futility of postmortems on their motivation, he hits the audience over the head with the proverbial hammer.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Glenn Lovell
San Jose Mercury News
December 4, 2003
As a promised 'wake-up call,' it's disturbingly sleep-inducing.
| Original Score: 2/4
Top Critic
Robert Denerstein
Denver Rocky Mountain News
May 28, 2004
My reaction to Zero Day closely mirrored my reaction to Gus Van Sant's Elephant. Neither film tries to exploit tragedy, but I'm not sure either succeeds in telling us much we don't already know.
| Original Score: C+
Kevin John Bozelka
Milwaukee Journal Sentinel
March 5, 2004
Zero Day simply proves that feel-bad films are no more instructive than feel-good films.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
Walter Chaw
Film Freak Central
August 28, 2003
Exactly the kind of broad, simple-minded exploration of the root causes of violence that its protagonists purport to despise.
Full Review | Original Score: 0/4
Doris Toumarkine
Film Journal International
September 9, 2003
The acting is fine, as is tape-to-film transfer. But television news and reality TV are more compelling.
Top Critic
Frank Scheck
Hollywood Reporter
September 10, 2003
There's a thin line between purposefully banal and simply banal, and Ben Coccio's debut feature too often crosses it.
Top Critic
Andrew Sarris
New York Observer
October 8, 2003
I never found what the Coccio Brothers were saying through their surrogates, Andre and Cal, either convincing or compelling.
Sean Means
Salt Lake Tribune
January 9, 2004
The 'found' tapes produce a lurid, 'Blair Witch'-like intimacy, though the depiction of the shooting itself ... crosses over into exploitation.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Jeff Vice
Deseret News, Salt Lake City
January 9, 2004
The film seems to lose its way about midway through.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Eric Harrison
Houston Chronicle
January 22, 2004
A pointless and tiresome exercise.
Full Review | Original Score: D
Top Critic
John Monaghan
Detroit Free Press
May 21, 2004
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Emanuel Levy
November 9, 2005
| Original Score: 2/5
Eric D. Snider
January 14, 2004
Gripping, compelling work. It feels pulled from real life, and real life is the most frightening thing there is.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Christopher Null
May 1, 2005
probably the most realistic look at how far teen angst can really go, along with the reasons why it exists in the first place
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
MaryAnn Johanson
Flick Filosopher
September 6, 2003
Chilling... The power of Zero Day is its banality.
Jeremy Heilman
September 18, 2003
[The ending is] a powerhouse sequence that easily relies as much as our collective conscience of real-life tragedy as the talents of the filmmaker, but that doesn't keep it from being one of the most arresting scenes this year.
Full Review | Original Score: 67/100
Laura Clifford
Reeling Reviews
November 23, 2003
Interestingly enough, it is in letting us get to know the assailants, not the victims, that Coccio makes us grieve.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
Robin Clifford
Reeling Reviews
November 24, 2003
Plaudits to Ben Coccio and his young stars for a job well done
Full Review | Original Score: B
Top Critic
J. Hoberman
Village Voice
September 2, 2003
Zero Day may not explain the reason such crimes are committed but it successfully defines evil as willful cruelty compounded by enormous self-absorption.
Top Critic
Jonathan Rosenbaum
Chicago Reader
April 23, 2004
Top Critic
Ronnie Scheib
July 22, 2008
Jean Lowerison
San Diego Metropolitan
May 29, 2004
Urban Cinefile Critics
Urban Cinefile
October 18, 2008
Top Critic

AV Club
September 4, 2003

Boston Phoenix
December 6, 2003
Top Critic

Denver Post
June 12, 2004
Page 1 of 3