Ian Bannen
Ian Bannen
Birthday: Jun 29, 1928
Place of Birth: Airdrie, Lanarkshire, Scotland, UK

A respected character actor and occasional leading man of the stage, screen, and television, Scottish-born Ian Bannen acted in over 80 productions during his long career. Shortly after enrolling at Ratcliffe College, Bannen, who was born in Airdrie, Scotland, on June 29, 1918, made his first stage appearance at Dublin's Gate Theatre. A year after making his 1955 London theatrical


View all photos (9)


Movies TV
Year Title Credit
2004 Small Miracles Actor
2002 Taliesin Jones Actor
2002 Strictly Sinatra Actor
2000 Best Matt Busby
2000 Testimony of Taliesin Jones Billy
1999 To Walk With Lions Terence Adamson
1998 Waking Ned Devine Jackie O'Shea
1995 Braveheart The Leper
1995 Politician's Wife Actor
1994 A Pin for the Butterfly Actor
1993 Sound and the Silence Actor
1993 Blue Ice Actor
1992 Damage Edward Lloyd
1991 Psychotic Actor
1991 George's Island Captain Waters
1990 Ghost Dad Sir Edith Moser
1990 Perry Mason: The Case of the Desperate Deception Otto Rosen
1990 Crossing the Line Matt
1989 The Lady and the Highwayman Christian Drysdale
1989 The Fifteen Streets Peter Bracken
1988 La Partita (The Gamble) Actor
1988 The Courier McGuigan
1987 Hope and Glory George
1987 Doomwatch Dr. Del Shaw
1986 Lamb Brother Benedict
1985 Defence of the Realm (Defense of the Realm) Dennis Markham
1983 Gorky Park Iamskoy
1983 The Prodigal Riley Wyndham
1982 Night Crossing Josef Keller
1982 Gandhi Sr. Police Officer
1981 Eye of the Needle Inspector Godliman
1981 The Watcher in the Woods John Keller
1978 Quel maledetto treno blindato (The Inglorious Bastards) Col. Buckner
1977 Satan's Wife Actor
1977 Sweeney! Charles Baker
1975 Bite the Bullet Norfolk
1975 The Driver's Seat Bill
1974 The Voyage Antonio Braggi
1974 Death in Deep Water Actor
1974 The Gathering Storm Actor
1973 The MacKintosh Man Slade
1973 From Beyond the Grave Christopher Lowe
1973 The Offence Baxter
1972 Fright Brian
1971 Jane Eyre Rev. St. John Rivers
1971 Fright (I'm Alone and I'm Scared) (Night Legs) Actor
1971 Deserter Crawford
1970 Too Late the Hero Pvt. Thornton
1966 Penelope James B. Elcott
1965 The Flight of the Phoenix Crow
1965 Mister Moses Robert
1965 Rotten to the Core Actor
1965 The Hill Sgt. Charlie Harris
1964 Station Six Sahara Fletcher
1964 Psyche 59 Paul
1960 Carlton-Browne of the F.O. (Man in a Cocked Hat) Young King
1958 A Tale of Two Cities Gabelle
1957 Yangtse Incident: The Story of H.M.S. Amethyst (Battle Hell) Bannister
1956 Third Key Workman
1956 Private's Progress Pvt. Horrocks
Treaty Actor