Patrick Troughton

Highest Rated: 100% Treasure Island (1950)
Lowest Rated: 20% Scars of Dracula (1970)
Birthday: Mar 25, 1920
Birthplace: Mill Hill, London, England, UK
British stage actor Patrick Troughton made the transition to films in 1948's Escape. His movie credits included the Laurence Olivier Shakespearean productions Hamlet (1948) and Richard III (1955), Disney's Treasure Island (1950), Hammer Films' Curse of Frankenstein (1957), and the Ray Harryhausen special effects banquets Jason and the Argonauts (1963) and Sinbad and the Eye of the Tiger. From 1966 through 1968, Troughton played the eccentric time traveler Doctor Who in the BBC TV series of the same name, succeeding the first Who William Hartnell. Patrick Troughton's association with this series assured him a standing ovation whenever he appeared at science fiction conventions in the 1970s and 1980s; it was while appearing at a Who convention in Georgia that the 67-year-old Troughton died of a heart attack.

Highest Rated Movies



40% Frankenstein and the Monster from Hell The Body Snatcher 2003
No Score Yet All the King's Men Actor 2000
No Score Yet Doctor Who - The Ice Warriors Actor 1999
No Score Yet 'Doctor Who': The Troughton Years Actor 1991
No Score Yet 'Doctor Who': Then and Now Actor 1987
No Score Yet Doctor Who - The Five Doctors Actor 1983
No Score Yet A Hitch in Time Actor 1978
63% Sinbad and the Eye of the Tiger Melanthius 1977
84% The Omen Father Brennan 1976
20% Scars of Dracula Klove 1970
No Score Yet Doctor Who - The Krotons Actor 1969
No Score Yet The Viking Queen Tristram 1967
No Score Yet Doctor Who - The Tomb of the Cybermen Actor 1967
No Score Yet Black Torment Stable Hand 1965
60% The Gorgon Kanof 1965
93% Jason and the Argonauts Phineas 1963
No Score Yet The Phantom of the Opera Rat Catcher 1962
No Score Yet The Moonraker Capt. Wilcox 1958
81% The Curse of Frankenstein Kurt 1957
82% Richard III James Tyrell 1956
No Score Yet The Black Knight King Mark 1954
No Score Yet White Corridors Actor 1951
100% Treasure Island Roach 1950
No Score Yet Chance of a Lifetime Kettle 1950
No Score Yet Franchise Affair Bill Brough 1950
No Score Yet Escape Shepherd 1948
91% Hamlet Player King 1948


No Score Yet Doctor Who: The Doctors Revisited
The Doctor
  • 2013
No Score Yet Mystery!
  • 1988
No Score Yet Inspector Morse
  • 1987
100% The Box of Delights
Cole Hawlings
  • 1984
68% Doctor Who
The Second Doctor The Doctor Dr. Who Doctor Who
  • 1983
  • 1982
  • 1981
  • 1975
  • 1974
  • 1973
  • 1972
  • 1969
  • 1968
  • 1964
100% Doctor Who: The Power of the Daleks
No Score Yet The Invisible Man