Tristan & Isolde - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Tristan & Isolde Reviews

Page 3 of 7
January 14, 2006
I can wholeheartedly recommend Tristan & Isolde, even to those who don't have a penchant for period piece romances. The movie has a lot to offer.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
January 14, 2006
Across the board, it's far from special.
| Original Score: 4/10
January 14, 2006
Yes! it's a story of love at first sight which will ring down the ages. But everyone seems bored with the whole nonsense.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
January 14, 2006
In short, it's just not fun with the specter of tragedy looming over every scene.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 14, 2006
Stolen moments from other films abound but director Kevin Reynolds has clearly given the story and characters a life and identity of their own.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
January 13, 2006
Even though the time period has been brilliantly captured, it's too long and lacks pace. Even so, against all odds, I liked it. Many in my audience seemed to have a different opinion, laughing at lines that did not invite laughter.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
January 13, 2006
This couple has endured for over 900 years; the least Tristan & Isolde can do is show us a reason why.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 13, 2006
The end result plays out like a George Lucas film without spaceships and lightsabers.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
January 13, 2006
A handsomely produced and sporadically rousing re-retelling of the ancient Celtic legend about star-crossed lovers.
January 13, 2006
Director Kevin Reynolds isn't so much inspired as determined to tell it with period accuracy, without bothering to be historically accurate.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 13, 2006
The movie plods around, appears to pick up speed, but then falters. Worse, we never feel true sympathy for the lovers who are forced to risk all to meet in secret when fate and politics keep them apart.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
January 13, 2006
While Tristan & Isolde, a competent but uninspired film version of the legendary medieval romance, will likely fade from theaters and memories quickly, Myles' lovely face and spirited performance should linger.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
January 13, 2006
We don't find a tale of transcendent passion but rather of two vain nitwits in a case of routine attraction.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
January 13, 2006
Reynolds' film has an evocative, old-fashioned storybook look (as if designed by N.C. Wyeth or Aubrey Beardsley), and features strong performances.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
January 13, 2006
Filmed in breathtaking locations in Western Ireland and the Czech Republic, Tristan & Isolde is a disappointingly passion-free romance.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
January 13, 2006
[Director Reynolds] has a feel for the rough beauty of western England and the Irish coast, and he moves quickly, if not always coherently, through battles and cabals.
Read More | Original Score: B-
January 13, 2006
The story itself -- Tristan falls in love with Isolde first, only to see her married off as part of a cold-hearted peace treaty -- is merely dreary, full of overwrought villainy and thuggish jousting.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
January 13, 2006
Trying to underplay things, the actors practically sleepwalk. When someone finally gets the chance to shout, 'Seize him!' he does so with as much gusto as the guy who says, 'WINS news time: 8:45.'
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
January 13, 2006
It's that rare movie that had me wishing I was at the opera.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
January 13, 2006
Tristan & Isolde is deadly serious, straightforward and surprisingly entertaining tragedy that reinforces much of what we think we know about the Dark Ages in Britain.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Page 3 of 7