Backstage - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Backstage Reviews

Page 1 of 1
February 19, 2013
Had potential, but falls back on the old French staple of style over substance. Some suspense, but drifts and feels contrived.

Performance-wise, Isild Le Besco is irritating, but Emmanuelle Seigner provides the suitable gravitas, and hedonistic randomness, as the pop star.
June 24, 2010
Incoherent, illogical, unattractive, boring, and pretentious. It's not remotely erotic or convincing. So shallow it's not even self-indulgent. The depth of the emotions stop at the tears. It sheds no insight to the world of a musical idol or the mentality of a psychopath. All characters (main or supporting) have no more life than the stuffed deer. This is a film that tries too much and achieves nothing.
June 14, 2010
Obsessed fan gets a job running errands for her favorite singer. Great performance from Isild Le Besco as the awkward slightly crazy fan.
October 23, 2009
Sensual and intense, with a love triangle as complicated as only the French can make it. A fine study of obsession and co-dependency, where an unbalanced fan is drawn into the even more insane world of her idol.
July 14, 2009
depuis le temps q je le recherchais c'est perso mais j'aime, vraiment beaucoup
August 10, 2008
Whoa. What an awesome premise/story. The first 10 minutes will suck you in astonishingly fast. Unfortunately, the film gets too caught up in being all european and psychologically erotic (ie. it drags and becomes tedious). But man, this needs an American remake pronto.
August 9, 2008
Two hours of watching Isild Le Besco's character aimlessly feeding an obsession for a vaguely undeserving (and underserving) star would be worth it if either of them would sustain the occasional bit of growth and clarity they experience in the process, but it seems the most we can hope for is a bit of improvement in a life grounded somewhat less shallowly in reality. French or not, ennui is still more boring than noble.
August 9, 2008
i loved how weird this movie was. nothing ever really made sense which is why i loved it. that kid sure was crazy
½ August 2, 2008
Saw this at TIFF a few years ago. Sadly I don't remember details, but I know I liked it.
June 26, 2008
Intriguing enough story. Both Emmanuelle Seigner & Isild Le Besco act convincingly; Isild especially creepy.
Harlequin68
Super Reviewer
February 22, 2008
[font=Century Gothic]"Backstage" starts with Lucie(Isild Le Besco), a teenager who lives with her mother(Edith Le Merdy) and younger brother, being ambushed at home by a reality television program which has arranged to have her favorite singer, Lauren(Emmanuelle Seigner), serenade her. Lucie flips out, and not in a good way, barricading herself in her room, therefore sabotaging the program. While there, Lucie and Lauren have a brief exchange which causes Lucie to bolt to Paris to chase after her idol. Persistent, she tracks down Lauren to her hotel suite where her personal assistant, Juliette(Noemie Lvovsky), assists in opening a door or two...[/font]

[font=Century Gothic]"Backstage" is a deeply unsettling and riveting psychodrama that is anchored by two great performances from its leads, complementing each other perfectly. It starts out with the viciously ugly spectacle of reality television(At first, I thought the ambush was a police raid. Was this intentional?) before moving on to an incisive examination of fame and celebrity. Before the film starts, Lucie was probably just a normal teenager who like others of her age felt that Lauren was singing only to her.(Although most young music fans are probably polytheistic, not monotheistic.) Her meeting with Lauren reinforces this belief, thus unleashing a force that takes her out of her ordinary world and places her in Lauren's. And the singer who was once thrilled to perform for her fans, is now a shadow of her former self, trapped in a hotel suite, and relying on prescription medication to get her through the day which puts a great strain on her symbiotic relationship with her entourage. [/font]
½ October 21, 2007
It's a beautiful and intelligent movie about the psychological nature of love between two intensely sensitive and pain-filled women. One is a self-absorbed, narcissistic pop star who seems to be a cross between Madonna and Bjork. The other is her teenaged obsessed fan with whom she shares just a moment of true intimacy.
½ August 7, 2007
Entertaining--very beautiful. Just not my style.
July 22, 2007
Tres bon film, intelligemment construit sur la fan attitude. Emmanuelle Seigner excelle en chanteuse detestable. Ca vaut le coup d'oeil!
June 25, 2007
freaky storyline intensely acted and very strikingly acted
½ June 16, 2007
Me gusto, tiene una musica excelente, al igual que las actuaciones. Da miedo el acoso de la fanatica hacia la cantante. Una pelicula inteligente que entretiene y te pone a pensar.
April 9, 2007
i might want to see it so umm idk
April 5, 2007
Sounds like something I would do!
½ March 19, 2007
i think i seen it but not sure :P
March 14, 2007
Nuthin' like it, period!!
Page 1 of 1