When Do We Eat? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

When Do We Eat? Reviews

Page 1 of 2
February 6, 2007
There's something very sweet and real beneath all the bluster, braggadocio, disgust and denial, pushing through as improbably and miraculously as Moses through the Red Sea.
August 16, 2006
even with all the strange impractical goings on, as with all in this recent string of popular entertainment culled from authentic orthodoxy, there are moments of sheer breathtaking joy that elevate the spirit of a Jew by speaking to their core.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 5, 2006
Thanks to a great cast and sharp writing, When Do We Eat? is a clever comedy with plenty of black humour and irreverence, all of which leads to contemplative thought.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
May 4, 2006
A haunting and disturbing film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 28, 2006
... worth a look.
Full Review | Original Score: B
April 21, 2006
Its strong cast is loud and lively, and the bickering banter has snap and drive.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 21, 2006
A cute little Matzoh of a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
April 21, 2006
The movie's most distinctive feature is its cast, which has the fake lived-in comfort of a TV clan.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 7, 2006
Though the script never rises above sitcom-style one-liners and sight gags, strong performances invest both the jokes and the syrupy moments of forgiveness and reconciliation with no small measure of, yes, heart.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 7, 2006
When Do We Eat? is as imperfect as the Stuckmans' Seder, yet it has some decent punchlines, a strong cast and a good heart.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 7, 2006
When Do We Eat? is about as funny, emotionally satisfying and even spiritually significant as this type of thing gets.
Read More | Original Score: 3/4
April 7, 2006
When Do We Eat? isn't a great film or, necessarily, a particularly good one, but it's a worthy attempt at making an entertaining movie about faith.
| Original Score: 2.5/4
April 7, 2006
Full Review | Original Score: B+
April 6, 2006
When Do We Eat? takes place before, during and after a Passover Seder. But you don't have to be Jewish to savor this light and enjoyable comedy.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 6, 2006
...genuinely funny.
March 22, 2006
Eat soaks up the passions, disagreements, and love the Seder inspires, with the writers capturing the utter chaos of a full dinner table.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 25, 2006
We're basically left with a wild-eyed group of actors who probably had a lot more fun shooting When Do We Eat? than they did watching it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
May 5, 2006
Litvak's movie almost immediately barges across the line separating the comically absurd from the outright obnoxious.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 5, 2006
Manages to be broad, mawkish and mean-spirited all at once.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 4, 2006
This abrasive Passover comedy-drama is extremely difficult to sit through, and if its makers weren't all Jewish, it would be considered anti-Semitic.
Page 1 of 2