When Do We Eat? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

When Do We Eat? Reviews

Page 1 of 2
April 7, 2006
[Director] Litvak crams so many earth-shattering revelations and long-buried resentments into 93 minutes that the film feels as if it's struggling to provide something recognizable to every potential ticket buyer.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 25, 2006
We're basically left with a wild-eyed group of actors who probably had a lot more fun shooting When Do We Eat? than they did watching it.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
April 24, 2006
Oh, what a distasteful film.
March 9, 2006
Making The Family Stone's shenanigans and schmaltz seem downright sophisticated by comparison, Salvador Litvak's Passover-themed film gives Jews an insufferable holiday family comedy to call their own.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
May 4, 2006
This abrasive Passover comedy-drama is extremely difficult to sit through, and if its makers weren't all Jewish, it would be considered anti-Semitic.
April 7, 2006
Cliches and loud stereotypes as fresh as year-old matzoh infest When Do We Eat?, a farce about a wildly dysfunctional Los Angeles family's disastrous Passover Seder.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
April 21, 2006
Crass, chaotic comedy.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
May 5, 2006
Litvak's movie almost immediately barges across the line separating the comically absurd from the outright obnoxious.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 20, 2006
Watching this movie is kind of like being sprayed with emotional vomit.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 7, 2006
While it does have some sweet moments and a handful of zingy one-liners, the film all too often resembles a trite dinner theater play that's been minimally 'opened up' for the screen.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
April 17, 2006
Another entry in indiedom's contest to create the most dysfunctional family.
April 7, 2006
A self-consciously zany dysfunctional family comedy, When Do We Eat? strains so hard to be outrageous that it sacrifices characters for caricatures. They might have had something if they'd let everybody relax, be themselves and enjoy dinner.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
April 4, 2006
Unfunny Semitic caricatures. Even worse than 'My Big Fat Greek Wedding.'
Full Review | Original Score: C
April 20, 2006
But even the film's seeming singularity proves deceptive once it becomes apparent that When Do We Eat? is less a Passover movie than a Thanksgiving or Christmas movie dolled up in Jewish drag.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
April 6, 2006
When Do We Eat? may strike a chord with those struggling to reconcile traditional faith and modernity, though few are likely to buy Ira's post-high transformation into a loving husband and father.
April 7, 2006
In this distasteful film from Salvador Litvak, a Jewish family tries to race through a Seder, but drug use, possible incest and some jokes at the expense of the autistic slow them down.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
April 11, 2006
Not recomended for the Goyim.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
April 20, 2006
Even Jewish audiences will be hard-pressed to find something to enjoy in this highly stagy, claustrophobic depiction of a Seder populated by one wacky family that seems to include every stereotype in the book.
April 20, 2006
It borders on painful to see this cast go through the motions of this uninspired script.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
April 21, 2006
Despite the fact that the meal served is kosher, the recipe is so hammy that the movie proves pretty indigestible.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Page 1 of 2