When Do We Eat? - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

When Do We Eat? Reviews

May 5, 2006
Litvak's movie almost immediately barges across the line separating the comically absurd from the outright obnoxious.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
May 5, 2006
Manages to be broad, mawkish and mean-spirited all at once.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/4
May 4, 2006
A haunting and disturbing film.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
May 4, 2006
This abrasive Passover comedy-drama is extremely difficult to sit through, and if its makers weren't all Jewish, it would be considered anti-Semitic.
April 28, 2006
... worth a look.
Full Review | Original Score: B
April 24, 2006
Oh, what a distasteful film.
April 21, 2006
Its strong cast is loud and lively, and the bickering banter has snap and drive.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
April 21, 2006
A cute little Matzoh of a movie.
Full Review | Original Score: C+
April 21, 2006
Crass, chaotic comedy.
Read More | Original Score: 1/4
April 21, 2006
The movie's most distinctive feature is its cast, which has the fake lived-in comfort of a TV clan.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 20, 2006
It borders on painful to see this cast go through the motions of this uninspired script.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
April 20, 2006
Watching this movie is kind of like being sprayed with emotional vomit.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
April 20, 2006
But even the film's seeming singularity proves deceptive once it becomes apparent that When Do We Eat? is less a Passover movie than a Thanksgiving or Christmas movie dolled up in Jewish drag.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
April 20, 2006
Even Jewish audiences will be hard-pressed to find something to enjoy in this highly stagy, claustrophobic depiction of a Seder populated by one wacky family that seems to include every stereotype in the book.
April 17, 2006
Another entry in indiedom's contest to create the most dysfunctional family.
April 7, 2006
In this distasteful film from Salvador Litvak, a Jewish family tries to race through a Seder, but drug use, possible incest and some jokes at the expense of the autistic slow them down.
Read More | Original Score: 1.5/5
April 7, 2006
When Do We Eat? is as imperfect as the Stuckmans' Seder, yet it has some decent punchlines, a strong cast and a good heart.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
April 7, 2006
Cliches and loud stereotypes as fresh as year-old matzoh infest When Do We Eat?, a farce about a wildly dysfunctional Los Angeles family's disastrous Passover Seder.
Read More | Original Score: 2/4
April 7, 2006
A self-consciously zany dysfunctional family comedy, When Do We Eat? strains so hard to be outrageous that it sacrifices characters for caricatures. They might have had something if they'd let everybody relax, be themselves and enjoy dinner.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
April 6, 2006
When Do We Eat? may strike a chord with those struggling to reconcile traditional faith and modernity, though few are likely to buy Ira's post-high transformation into a loving husband and father.