Lying - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Lying Reviews

Page 1 of 2
½ March 21, 2015
Psycho, psycho, psycho Chloe Sevigny, Jena Malone, and Leelee Sobieski (and two unmemorable others) (kinda) make this manipulative lie fest art house watchable. Kinda.
October 5, 2014
[Interested: cannot find.]
June 7, 2014
Hypnotic screenshots and a fresh idea for the storyline.
January 2, 2012
This movie goes on a slow pace and doesn't throw the watcher in the action of the dilemma. No, the watcher has to almost guest what is really going on. By the end, everything becomes clear, without going through struggle.
½ December 7, 2010
Apart from the crisp sound design and bucolic landscapes of the film, it was a little dull and...neuter. I think M. Blash tries to capture the simple beauty of everyday dialogue, but there many pauses and a cloying melodrama behind the women's general demeanor which isn't real to me. In terms of plot, its like a schlong in need of Viagra. There is no up, just one floppy line that follows throughout. What makes this worse is the fact that there is no buildup of tension. The film is forbodingly called Lying. I interpreted this in the other sense of the word, because all the girls do is lie on their rumps like bums drinking all weekend long. In the end, we don't really care if Megan is a liar because we really don't care about her character.
November 8, 2010
Must watch if you like watching rich girls doing mundane things while looking pretty.
July 15, 2010
subtly abounds. Some have called this self-indulgent artsy trash, and I see how it can be viewed that way, but if you're a fan of films like Picnic at Hanging Rock, give this one a look.
March 21, 2010
IMDb voters give this a mere 5.8 out of 10? C`mon ?? This fine indie flick was hypnotic from start to finish. Nothing major unfolds. No heavy plot.
Interesting in a subtle way and fine low-key performances from a dream
cast of excellent young actresses. 90 minutes very well spent.
March 7, 2010
This movie is calming and very artistic. This movie should be viewed with an open mind and patience or else it would be rather difficult to understand.
March 1, 2010
An extremely boring movie with nonsensical dialog and a story that goes nowhere with lots of loose ends left hanging. I know this film had a minimal budget (under $300,000, according to the special features) but it still bewilders me that filmmakers can coerce people to invest in films with scripts this weak. Why people like me give them the time of day is another story... :)
½ February 22, 2010
I mainly didn't like this because of all the actresses, they are all really annoying. As for the story, it was pretty good and believable, I think we all can relate to it. I did enjoy the scenery and the silence of the film. That's about it.
February 6, 2010
Cute girls walking around outdoors being ambivalent. Me = moth. "Lying" = flame.
December 14, 2009
Enjoyed the awkwardness of many of the scenes. Many went on way longer then they should have. Just the overall simplicity of what was going on.
November 22, 2009
Boring as sin, and pretentious as hell. Jena Malone and Leelee Sobieski do admirable jobs, but Chole Sevigny was awkward, not that any of them had much to work with. I realize what this was trying to say, but it's point is muddled in distractions of the day-by-day, and night-by-night trials of the four women staying in this house.
½ September 24, 2009
I must have missed something because i couldn't stand it - drag and dragged until i shut it off was waiting for the climax....
½ September 22, 2009
molasses, but not the compelling, tasty type.
½ September 19, 2009
This is possibly the worst movie I have ever seen. The sound was bad. The acting was unnatural. The script was bad. I was totally bored. I couldn't figure out the point of the whole thing, except they were lying. But I didn't even care. It went on and on saying nothing. The sound track didn't fit what was happening. It was hard to figure out what was happening. I stayed with it until the end hoping it would reveal itself, but it left me just as mystified at the end as the whole movie. I love movies and usually find something good, but this left me with nothing. And I'm not lying.
Super Reviewer
September 16, 2009
Looks overly artsy to the point of getting on my nerves.
September 6, 2009
Though it kind of looks like an Urban Outfitters ad, I want to see what the positive (critic's) reviews are all about.
½ August 26, 2009
god awful excuse for a film. i'm not sure at all what the director was going for, but all he did was bore me. it felt like i was tagging along on a weekend with a bunch of boring girls who really didn't have shit to talk about. very disappointing work from chloe sevigny.
Page 1 of 2