Save Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Save Me Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 21, 2011
Interesting, provocative film about one of the most polarizing issues in our culture.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
January 31, 2009
tough, tight, and thought-provoking, a small-scale indie success for everyone involved.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
December 19, 2008
As a movie, it doesn't amount to much more than an after school-special with sex and profanity.
Full Review | Original Score: C
December 19, 2008
Allen brings such conviction to the part that it's almost possible to look past the gaps in Mark's development. In the end, you may not buy each step he takes, but you respect Allen's attempt to make the effort seem genuine.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
December 6, 2008
A be-true-to-yourself message prevails, one that can be safely stretched to it's-OK-to-be-gay. But the film never definitely takes the stand that homosexuals can't be 'converted.'
November 7, 2008
The first release from the gay-oriented Mythgarden production company, Save Me still bodes well for its evenhanded approach.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 31, 2008
While Save Me does seem like a TV movie, it is refreshingly honest and heartfelt.
October 18, 2008
A melodrama better suited to the Logo network than to theaters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 13, 2008
Here after a long dry spell is an example of queer filmmaking at its best. Hallelujah my gay brethren!
October 9, 2008
This earnest, well-acted melodrama has compassion for all of its characters, who include gay men and the Christians dedicated to healing them of their 'brokenness'.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 3, 2008
Save Me doesn't poke fun at anyone's beliefs. It takes a more nuanced humanistic approach.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 3, 2008
A film that stands the best chance of winning the hearts and minds of those who now embrace the gay 'recovery' movement.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 20, 2008
The film refuses to follow any one strand of political logic, and as such exists on an insufficient amount of thematic oxygen to support its loaded dramatic context.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
September 19, 2008
This is a modest, thoughtful, independent production of exceptional insight and quietly devastating power.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 18, 2008
Light, best known for her TV-sitcom work, turns a cliché -- the zealot with a secret pain of her own -- into an achingly sad woman; it's one of the year's best performances.
September 13, 2008
An emotionally powerful drama with the potential to build bridges of understanding between gays and the Religious Right.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 5, 2008
Where other films would have demonized Christians outright, Save Me presents a world where gays and Christians can go their separate ways while wishing each other well.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 5, 2008
Sounds like a great idea for a gay porno, but the soapy Save Me actually takes itself seriously.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 5, 2008
A solid performance by the often underrated Judith Light lends considerable weight to this melodrama's controversial subject.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 5, 2008
Even those of us who find anti-homosexual 'deprogramming' to be hideously intolerant and naive may find ourselves oddly relieved that Mark is there.
Full Review | Original Score: B
Page 1 of 2