Save Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Save Me Reviews

Page 1 of 2
September 2, 2008
Until about two-thirds of the way in, Save Me plays its central hypothesis surprisingly, um, straight.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
December 6, 2008
A be-true-to-yourself message prevails, one that can be safely stretched to it's-OK-to-be-gay. But the film never definitely takes the stand that homosexuals can't be 'converted.'
September 5, 2008
Sounds like a great idea for a gay porno, but the soapy Save Me actually takes itself seriously.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 20, 2008
The film refuses to follow any one strand of political logic, and as such exists on an insufficient amount of thematic oxygen to support its loaded dramatic context.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
October 18, 2008
A melodrama better suited to the Logo network than to theaters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 5, 2008
Never quite shaking off its aura of second-rate made-for-TV movie, this gay conversion melodrama has a lot of heart but little nerve and no surprise.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
May 17, 2008
...a lamentably uneven effort that's admirable in its intentions, but ultimately stifled by its myriad of flaws.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
September 5, 2008
Too much of the film involves set pieces of two characters' awkward dialogue or a single one's halting monologue-confession about life problems.
November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
December 19, 2008
As a movie, it doesn't amount to much more than an after school-special with sex and profanity.
Full Review | Original Score: C
January 31, 2009
tough, tight, and thought-provoking, a small-scale indie success for everyone involved.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
October 13, 2008
Here after a long dry spell is an example of queer filmmaking at its best. Hallelujah my gay brethren!
September 1, 2008
As disagreements continue to heat up between red states and blue states, and liberals and evangelicals in this country, Save Me makes its debut as a story that may be in search of unlikely middle ground.
October 31, 2008
While Save Me does seem like a TV movie, it is refreshingly honest and heartfelt.
March 25, 2008
With a sensitive, intelligent screenplay and extremely honest performances, this drama goes far beyond its issue-of-the-week premise.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 13, 2008
An emotionally powerful drama with the potential to build bridges of understanding between gays and the Religious Right.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 9, 2008
This earnest, well-acted melodrama has compassion for all of its characters, who include gay men and the Christians dedicated to healing them of their 'brokenness'.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
November 7, 2008
The first release from the gay-oriented Mythgarden production company, Save Me still bodes well for its evenhanded approach.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
September 4, 2008
There are heroes, battles and triumphs -- but no villains -- in Save Me, a thoughtful, nuanced drama about guilt-stricken gay men trying to fix their 'sexual brokenness' at a Christian recovery house.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 2