Save Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Save Me Reviews

Page 1 of 2
Andrew Schenker
Slant Magazine
September 2, 2008
Until about two-thirds of the way in, Save Me plays its central hypothesis surprisingly, um, straight.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Tricia Olszewski
Washington City Paper
December 6, 2008
A be-true-to-yourself message prevails, one that can be safely stretched to it's-OK-to-be-gay. But the film never definitely takes the stand that homosexuals can't be 'converted.'
Top Critic
Kyle Smith
New York Post
September 5, 2008
Sounds like a great idea for a gay porno, but the soapy Save Me actually takes itself seriously.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
Cole Smithey
ColeSmithey.com
September 20, 2008
The film refuses to follow any one strand of political logic, and as such exists on an insufficient amount of thematic oxygen to support its loaded dramatic context.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
Top Critic
Maureen M. Hart
Chicago Tribune
October 18, 2008
A melodrama better suited to the Logo network than to theaters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Nathan Lee
New York Times
September 5, 2008
Never quite shaking off its aura of second-rate made-for-TV movie, this gay conversion melodrama has a lot of heart but little nerve and no surprise.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
David Nusair
Reel Film Reviews
May 17, 2008
...a lamentably uneven effort that's admirable in its intentions, but ultimately stifled by its myriad of flaws.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
Donald J. Levit
ReelTalk Movie Reviews
September 5, 2008
Too much of the film involves set pieces of two characters' awkward dialogue or a single one's halting monologue-confession about life problems.
Top Critic
Melissa Anderson
Time Out
November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
Bill White
Seattle Post-Intelligencer
December 19, 2008
As a movie, it doesn't amount to much more than an after school-special with sex and profanity.
Full Review | Original Score: C
Don Willmott
Filmcritic.com
January 31, 2009
tough, tight, and thought-provoking, a small-scale indie success for everyone involved.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
Richard Knight
Windy City Times
October 13, 2008
Here after a long dry spell is an example of queer filmmaking at its best. Hallelujah my gay brethren!
Prairie Miller
NewsBlaze
September 1, 2008
As disagreements continue to heat up between red states and blue states, and liberals and evangelicals in this country, Save Me makes its debut as a story that may be in search of unlikely middle ground.
Stan Hall
Oregonian
October 31, 2008
While Save Me does seem like a TV movie, it is refreshingly honest and heartfelt.
Rich Cline
Shadows on the Wall
March 25, 2008
With a sensitive, intelligent screenplay and extremely honest performances, this drama goes far beyond its issue-of-the-week premise.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Frederic and Mary Ann Brussat
Spirituality and Practice
September 13, 2008
An emotionally powerful drama with the potential to build bridges of understanding between gays and the Religious Right.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Carrie Rickey
Philadelphia Inquirer
October 9, 2008
This earnest, well-acted melodrama has compassion for all of its characters, who include gay men and the Christians dedicated to healing them of their 'brokenness'.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Top Critic
Ty Burr
Boston Globe
November 7, 2008
The first release from the gay-oriented Mythgarden production company, Save Me still bodes well for its evenhanded approach.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
Top Critic
Hank Sartin
Time Out
November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
Top Critic
Rafer Guzman
Newsday
September 4, 2008
There are heroes, battles and triumphs -- but no villains -- in Save Me, a thoughtful, nuanced drama about guilt-stricken gay men trying to fix their 'sexual brokenness' at a Christian recovery house.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
Page 1 of 2