Save Me - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

Save Me Reviews

November 18, 2011
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 17, 2011
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
December 19, 2008
Allen brings such conviction to the part that it's almost possible to look past the gaps in Mark's development. In the end, you may not buy each step he takes, but you respect Allen's attempt to make the effort seem genuine.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
November 7, 2008
The first release from the gay-oriented Mythgarden production company, Save Me still bodes well for its evenhanded approach.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 18, 2008
A melodrama better suited to the Logo network than to theaters.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 9, 2008
This earnest, well-acted melodrama has compassion for all of its characters, who include gay men and the Christians dedicated to healing them of their 'brokenness'.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
October 3, 2008
Save Me doesn't poke fun at anyone's beliefs. It takes a more nuanced humanistic approach.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
September 19, 2008
This is a modest, thoughtful, independent production of exceptional insight and quietly devastating power.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 18, 2008
Light, best known for her TV-sitcom work, turns a cliché -- the zealot with a secret pain of her own -- into an achingly sad woman; it's one of the year's best performances.
September 5, 2008
Sounds like a great idea for a gay porno, but the soapy Save Me actually takes itself seriously.
Full Review | Original Score: 1/4
September 5, 2008
Even those of us who find anti-homosexual 'deprogramming' to be hideously intolerant and naive may find ourselves oddly relieved that Mark is there.
Full Review | Original Score: B
September 5, 2008
Never quite shaking off its aura of second-rate made-for-TV movie, this gay conversion melodrama has a lot of heart but little nerve and no surprise.
Read More | Original Score: 2/5
September 4, 2008
There are heroes, battles and triumphs -- but no villains -- in Save Me, a thoughtful, nuanced drama about guilt-stricken gay men trying to fix their 'sexual brokenness' at a Christian recovery house.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4