The Ten - Movie Reviews - Rotten Tomatoes

The Ten Reviews

Page 1 of 5
January 15, 2008
...brings to mind the fondly remembered Kentucky Fried Movie/Amazon Women on the Moon anthos from the '70s and '80s.
September 12, 2007
The Ten is, while not "bad," nor "unfunny," surely not as good as it had ought to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
August 23, 2007
Yeah we liked this movie (with our self-proclaimed warped senses of humor), but we KNOW it's not for everyone, so thou shalt not blame us if you don't enjoy it as much as we did.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 23, 2007
As ridiculous as it is uproariously funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 20, 2007
...The Ten wields its bad taste like a blunt instrument, bludgeoning you with buffoonery that's hard to resist.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 20, 2007
Not exactly the stone-etched last word on biblical moviemaking, The Ten at least has a rare flair for the non sequitur, and a sassy, spasmodic charm.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 17, 2007
The Ten has a meticulous rhythm and consistency, with aspects of early commandments informing the latter.
August 11, 2007
This is a take it or leave it proposition, but worth a place on your NetFlix queue.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 9, 2007
The humor in The Ten is hit-or-miss, with some of the comedy and performances feeling kind of forced. Still, if you're in the mood for an unconventional Sunday school lesson, go see The Ten, "as a goof"!
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
August 9, 2007
The actors are so good, and so funny.
August 9, 2007
The Ten is devious and inspired enough to juice you past any weak spots. Thou shalt be amused.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 7, 2007
The comedy itself is hit or miss -- mostly hit for me, but humor is incredibly subjective, and this style of humor is particularly prone to the 'either you like it or you don't' effect.
Full Review | Original Score: B
August 4, 2007
I wish that the batting average in The Ten was a little higher, but I'm happy that Wain and Marino got up to the plate and knocked a few out of the park.
August 4, 2007
The Ten may be the funniest movie of the year. It's so earnest, they follow the most ridiculous threads to the logical extreme. All of the characters are completely committed to the reality of the film.
August 3, 2007
Not so much blasphemous as it is very silly, and it lives up to the one unbendable commandment of comedy: It's funny.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4
August 3, 2007
Darkly satiric.
August 2, 2007
a foul-mouthed, dirty-as-diapers, Republican-baiting retelling of the Ten Commandments
| Original Score: 3.5/5
August 2, 2007
The film is far from a perfect 10, with hit-and-miss writing, an over-reliance on cheap shocks and solid laughs in maybe five of the sketches. Given their brief running time, the weaker efforts are off the screen in short order.
Read More | Original Score: 2.5/4
August 2, 2007
Like the comic masterpieces of [Woody] Allen's '70s heyday, the first five short films represent a brilliant, laugh-out-loud combination of grad-school braininess and vaudeville goofiness, highbrow absurdity and lowbrow shtick.
Full Review | Original Score: B
August 2, 2007
In spite of its shortcomings, "The Ten" is an inspired and imaginative bellwether for where modern American comic sensibilities lay at the moment. It pushes the envelope in all of the right ways.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
Page 1 of 5